We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:15 PM
Review Highlights
Very good

This is a very good museum and art gallery. There is a fantastic display of furniture and other... read more

Reviewed August 14, 2019
Adventurers049
,
Brisbane, Australia
Nice to visit.

Very intersting museum, close to the High Street. Many things to see and to learn about... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2019
ekad33
,
Dourdan, France
Read all 414 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cheltenham
from $340.27
More Info
from $21.57
More Info
from $34.27
More Info
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
206
145
43
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
206
145
43
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting exhibits local history antarctic explorer craft shop on display amazing collection excellent cafe worth a visit couple of hours high street furniture guild movement craftsmen objects pottery pole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 414 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019

The Wilson isn't a large Museum/Gallery, but it is worth a visit especially if it is raining as you can pass a couple of very interesting hours. An impressive Arts & Crafts section and good local history. We caught the last day of an art in music media presentation from the V7A that was fascinating but now sadly finished.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 294stuart793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWilsonChelt, Front Office Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Wilson, thank you for your feedback. We have an on-going programme of events linked with our collections as well as temporary exhibitions so if you plan to visit again do keep an eye on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Was looking for something to kill an hour before the train journey home and came across this.
Not really an art person but was impressed with the display they had on.
Free admission was a bonus although they do suggest that you make a donation.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank DanielL3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWilsonChelt, Front Office Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed spending some time at The Wilson! We do have a varied museum collection and fine art collection and these appeal to quite a wide range of interests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

There's a lot in the Wilson but we headed straight for the Arts and Crafts Movement's gallery. A very friendly guide put up with all our questions and we spent a very pleasant morning among some lovely pieces of furniture and decorative art. Probably no good for children though! But it's a free museum with extra exhibitions if you want to pay for more.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank lynnejames58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWilsonChelt, Front Office Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed our Arts & Crafts Movement collection! If you are able to visit again in the future you may be interested in the Treasures From The Archives exhibition which is on until next March. This features items from our Arts & Crafts Movement Archive including preparatory material from some of the most prominent designers and makers. For children and families we do have a World of Wonder gallery on the second floor which is family friendly and encourages visitors to touch and play with items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

There is so much to see in this well curated museum. The Arts and Crafts display is fascinating as there is such an incredible range of exhibits from chairs to a fire guard, through a whole range of furniture, pottery, stained glass etc. I have always loved the Arts and Crafts Movement and for anyone with the slightest interest this is a place to visit. In addition to this there is fine art (including a wonderful picture by Stanley Spencer Village gossip painted less than 20 miles away) and a really excellent display covering the many aspects of the history of Cheltenham and the surrounding area. As I say so much to see in this great museum, not to be missed on a visit to Cheltenham.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank NB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWilsonChelt, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to visit our galleries at the Wilson. The positive feedback is very much appreciated. As a charity run organisation we depend on positivity and spreading the word about our collections on display. Next time you visit Cheltenham do pop by again as our gallery spaces regularly change displays. We also run arts & crafts tours with our specialist on Thursdays and Saturdays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I didn't allow enough time to see everything, and will certainly return on my next visit to Cheltenham.
Of particular interest was the Arts & Crafts exhibition, though I wasn't convinced that most of the chairs were fit for human bottoms. The connections with the Cotswolds were explored well, and I found the whole section fascinating.
The display of paintings was most enjoyable, and covered some Dutch landscape painters I didn't know, but whose work was comparable with Ruijsdael. Cotswold scenes were interesting and well displayed.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank cicsplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWilsonChelt, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we're delighted that you enjoyed our Arts & Crafts and Fine Art collections and plan to visit again in the future. Keep an eye on our website for details of our upcoming exhibition featuring architect and designer Ernest Gimson. Beyond our Arts & Crafts gallery there are a number of smaller galleries including local history, ceramics, archaeology, a family friendly gallery and a display relating to Edward Wilson and the Antarctic expeditions so there's lots for you to see next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews