We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique and charming base from which to explore...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Dovecote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dovecote The Dovecote
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The Dovecote
The Dovecote
View of house
Kitchen area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main kingsize bedroom
Main kingsize bedroom
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower
View over duck pond
Seating area overlooking duck pond
View of house
View from seating area
Outside the house
The Dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BnBMardan
Mardan,Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique and charming base from which to explore the Cotswolds”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

An old dovecote superbly repurposed as a two storey, two bedroom home. Delightful surroundings and contained everything you could need for a comfortable stay. We loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope the rest of your trip goes well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you didn't find the bed comfortable. I haven't had any other complaints about the mattress but will check it out once the current guests have left and change it if required. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
swill6173...
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
“Idyllic”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Peaceful nature, ducks, herons, and relaxation. Great character with comfortable and modern faculties. We love it here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Thanks! Look forward to seeing you later in the year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dontaskme...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great stay in the Dovecote.
Throughly enjoyed by all- none more so then our puppy who adored the countryside.
She is depressed now snd wants to go back... Like us all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Glad you had fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh...
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed in the Dovecote for a couple of days over Valentine's. The house was immaculate, clean and homely. Had everything we needed. Helen was a superb host, respected our privacy but left little chocolates on the pillows and a delicious Victoria sponge cake. Lovely little pond outside the house too. Would recommend to anyone.

Thanks very much for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrannyH50...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect, home from home.”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This property intrigued me because of the dovecotes in the bedroom, it was just lovely.
I went to unwind and relax with my daughter 14 yrs old and that's just what we did. Peaceful and out of the hustle and bustle :-) Warm and cosy we put our feet up, read and watched a movie or two from the collection in the cupboard.
We did venture out to find shops not to far down the road in Tewkesbury and Cheltenham not far the other way. Although we did grab a four hour mooch around the Out Let in Gloucestershire, which was very easy to get to.
We had everything we needed in the draws and cupboards to cook with, clean with and even a gorgeous Victoria sandwich on our arrival for my daughter to devour ;-) I'm egg intolerant :-(
Beds made up with lovely fresh white bedding, for our arrival was great, we could just crash after the long dark journey and plush towels in the bathroom, so no need to bring them along in suit case.
Perfect weekend, back home unwound and ready for the busy working week. Will definitely be back again in the future :-)
Many thanks to Helen and Johnathan for sharing your beautiful house ;-)

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R
Westgate on Sea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Cheltenham and surrounding area”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Helen made us feel so welcome. The Dovecote was very clean and a great welcome cake made it more special. Just loved the atmosphere. The premises have been maintained to a high standard and a good nights rest is assured on the comfortable beds.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing