We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Dovecote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dovecote The Dovecote
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Dovecote
The Dovecote
View of house
Kitchen area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main kingsize bedroom
Main kingsize bedroom
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower
View over duck pond
Seating area overlooking duck pond
View of house
View from seating area
Outside the house
The Dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
randn94
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a really excellent week in this cottage which is very well appointed and in the most tranquil and beautiful of surroundings. We felt comfortable and at home, and have speedily booked a further week there. The owners are welcoming and provide useful information about restaurants and attractions close by. Television and DVD facilities are also provided
The property is approximately mid way between Tewkesbury and Gloucester and ideal for touring the Cotswolds. A bus service is available on the nearby main road but a car is almost essential. The immediate area around Tewkesbury is not well served by rail though there is a train service to nearby Ashchurch.
A supermarket is also about a mile away towards Tewkesbury.
We look forward to returning to the Dovecote Cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croumbie2...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Dovecote is an incredibly pretty place, sitting next to a lovely big pond, with waterbirds scurrying hither and thither. The house itself is very well set up. It has everything you could possibly need and is set out very attractively. Amazingly, Helen also provides a lovely cake to eat during your stay. We would love to come back in the future. I strongly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill p
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a great find! Helen was so accommodating, the cake delicious, the whole property was perfectly clean, with everything you need for a lovely stay. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SEH2290
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

As so many other reviews have already noted, Dovecote is an idyllic cottage in an idyllic setting. Everything you could want or need is at your fingertips. But, without a doubt, the very best part of Dovecote was Helen, the owner. From our very first inquiry she was responsive and ever so helpful - she provided precise directions, helped us make taxi reservations, booked dinner reservations, stocked our refrigerator with a few essentials, called in to make sure we had everything we needed, and welcomed us with a delicious cake! We stayed at Dovecote during Cheltenham race week so without Helen's help, our visit would have been much more stressful. Thank you Helen for a wonderful, beautifully restored cottage and your gracious hospitality, it was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and Helen, the owner
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your trip and I could help out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ld123
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cheltenham races weekend!”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect cottage for our weekend break. 4 of us stayed whilst going to Cheltenham races (about 15 mins drive).
Lovely, cosy cottage, keep toasty with the log burner! Good wifi and everything you could need in the kitchen, including a beautiful homemade cake (thank you, it was delicious!).
Parking for two cars, unusual original features in the comfy bedrooms and nice outdoor area beside a duck pond.
Would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Glad you had a good weekend- hope you had a few winnners too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
929keelyk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay with friends ”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We took our friends here for their wedding present last weekend & had such a fantastic time. It's a great location & the house is gorgeous. It's so cosy, quirky & has everything you need. We loved the log fire & the pigeon holes in the bedrooms are a real feature. The bathroom & kitchen are modern & everything was absolutely spotless when we arrived. We thoroughly enjoyed the cake that was left for us & we would highly recommend this wonderful holiday home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Hi so glad you enjoyed your wedding present! Thanks for the comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing