We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away from Home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Dovecote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dovecote The Dovecote
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The Dovecote
The Dovecote
View of house
Kitchen area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main kingsize bedroom
Main kingsize bedroom
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower
View over duck pond
Seating area overlooking duck pond
View of house
View from seating area
Outside the house
The Dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SEH2290
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

As so many other reviews have already noted, Dovecote is an idyllic cottage in an idyllic setting. Everything you could want or need is at your fingertips. But, without a doubt, the very best part of Dovecote was Helen, the owner. From our very first inquiry she was responsive and ever so helpful - she provided precise directions, helped us make taxi reservations, booked dinner reservations, stocked our refrigerator with a few essentials, called in to make sure we had everything we needed, and welcomed us with a delicious cake! We stayed at Dovecote during Cheltenham race week so without Helen's help, our visit would have been much more stressful. Thank you Helen for a wonderful, beautifully restored cottage and your gracious hospitality, it was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and Helen, the owner
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your trip and I could help out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ld123
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cheltenham races weekend!”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect cottage for our weekend break. 4 of us stayed whilst going to Cheltenham races (about 15 mins drive).
Lovely, cosy cottage, keep toasty with the log burner! Good wifi and everything you could need in the kitchen, including a beautiful homemade cake (thank you, it was delicious!).
Parking for two cars, unusual original features in the comfy bedrooms and nice outdoor area beside a duck pond.
Would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Glad you had a good weekend- hope you had a few winnners too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keely K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay with friends ”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We took our friends here for their wedding present last weekend & had such a fantastic time. It's a great location & the house is gorgeous. It's so cosy, quirky & has everything you need. We loved the log fire & the pigeon holes in the bedrooms are a real feature. The bathroom & kitchen are modern & everything was absolutely spotless when we arrived. We thoroughly enjoyed the cake that was left for us & we would highly recommend this wonderful holiday home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Hi so glad you enjoyed your wedding present! Thanks for the comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Glad you had a lovely stay and birthday! Thanks for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KLE2013
Centreville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,633 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,451 helpful votes
“An ideal vacation rental, a historical property with the all modern conveniences”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Dovecote is a beautifully restored historic property adjacent to a family farm. The first floor is a bright open space with a sitting area, dining space and completely outfitted kitchen. The second floor has two spacious bedrooms with comfortable beds and attractive furnishing that incorporates the unique architectural cubbies that once served as nesting places for the doves. When a teenage boy offers his opinion " this is just the coolest, most unusual room I've ever seen" you know that the space is special. A modern bathroom with every amenity completes the top floor. Our hostess was gracious and welcoming, providing a wealth of information, maps and guides to the surrounding area and gifting us with a delicious homemade bread for our breakfast. The views from the cottage over the nearby pond provided amazing opportunities for bird watching and the ideal place for relaxation. We would return to the Dovecote without hesitation, but for those with mobility issues be advised that the steps to the second floor are numerous and steep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The unique character of the accommodation
Liked least: The steep stairs
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Thanks for your review - so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mj2849
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Favorite rental of our holiday.”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Dovecote. Helen was the perfect hostess providing all of the cottage information in a well organized binder. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything we needed.
Watching the wildlife in the pond each morning was a treat. The setting was very relaxing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting was very peaceful.
Liked least: The clothes dryer was not functioning
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Glad you had a lovely time!! Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sir John...
2 reviews
“Excellent - a quite unique place to stay and to relax.”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We missed out on the superb welcoming cake, which so many guests comment on, because the owners were on holiday themselves. We had had a long journey from France and would really have appreciated finding a bottle of milk in the fridge so that we could have made a cup of tea. As it was, the first thing we had to do was go out again to find a supermarket. This apart. it was a brilliant place to stay and we will certainly hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location overlooking a duck pond.
Liked least: Lack of a welcoming basket.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay. sorry about the milk - we do detail what is included at the house. Sorry you had to go out again on arrival!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing