We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only place to stay in Cheltenham”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Montpellier House

'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Fitzherbert Dining Room - As a 'formal club' venue for up to 12 dinner guests. Private che
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Fitzherbert Dining Room - As a 'formal club' venue for up to 12 dinner guests. Private che
William IV Drawing Room (front)
William IV Drawing Room (front). The collection of Regency concave mirrors lend a sense of drama.
William IV Fireplace with wood burning stove
William IV Drawing Room (rear)
William IV Drawing Room (rear) - the room features a William IV period oak wine cooler
Kitchen island, bar counter with two pull out drawer dishwashers for glasses.
Separate scullery kitchen provides additional space, features include filtered boiling water on tap
'Beau Nash' Four Poster Master Bedroom Suite
Four Poster Detail
The Beau Nash Four Poster Bedroom Suite Overlooks Montpellier Gardens - the perfect Bridal Suite
Beau Nash Suite - Regency period antiques (unrestored Chippendale stool with Irish silk pillow top)
Beau Nash Bedroom en-suite shower room with rainfall shower and Molton Brown toiletries
Stratford first floor bedroom suite overlooking the courtyard garden
All principal bedrooms have flat screen TVs with a wide choice of channels
Hand picked Regency and period antiques feature throughout (picture Stratford suite)
En-suite bathroom with limestone bath surround and rainfall shower (Stratford Suite)
Billington - second floor suite with blue colour hues
All bedrooms have generous storage space (Billington suite)
Entrance hallway detail with antique oval mirror and Regency console table
Staircase with fine art and oil paintings feature throughout
Exterior - the building was totally restored to its Regency splendour over 20 months, from 2011
South facing rear courtyard garden, planted with herbs and flowers
Welcome to the Montpellier Town House
The Town House seen from Montpellier Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pichaiv
Thaialnd
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Cheltenham”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is my first time to visit CHELTENHAM and I was very impress with the beautiful city. The hotel I stayed also excellent. Location in the city center, so many restaurants, bars and shopping within walking distant. The room is very beautiful, spacious and comfortable. There is kitchen with all cooking facilities and coffee machine provide to all guests. Living room with fireplace is very comfortable and relaxing for evening drink. I hope that I would like to visit again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
We enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you back in Cheltenham very soon. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riddler76
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully furnished Regency house with excellent entertaining space”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here, having booked at short notice, for four nights. The owner Andrew met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the property and many features. The hamper and wines left for us were generous as were the asides - multiple coffees / teas / washing up tabs / washing machine liquids etc etc.

As we used to live in Cheltenham, we knew our way around the locale and this was part of the attraction of Montpellier House - it is superbly situated.

We had family over with us for a couple of the nights and we quickly found that the house was is superb for entertaining with ample space and plentifully stocked for dinner parties (including multiple ovens and large hob space as well as three dishwashers) life was made stress-free.

The decor in the bedrooms is refined although the four-poster in the master bedroom is stand-out wow. The living areas are more elaborately decorated and add a theatrical element which helps with the 'having a great time' feeling.

We are quick to spot issues with properties however we didn't have any niggles with Montpellier House. Our only disappointment was to leave so soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Dear 'Riddler'. Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try to ensure all our guests do and that each one is special. We hope that you will come back in the none too distant future. Best Wishes. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya L
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing is too feeble a word”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I have never really written a review before but felt I had to for this amazing house and the service we received. I was met on the day by the owners who took the time out to show me round the house and how some of the essential fixtures worked, like the dishwashers for a messy hen do. The house is beautifully decorated with style and a bit of quirkiness and contains all of the things you could need for a luxurious stay. There is also the 200 year old perfect ice 'treasure chest' to store all your fizz for the perfect party. The house is set in a perfect location overlooking a leafy park and only a matter of minutes from the centre of town where you can find everything you need. The bedrooms in the house are of a very good size and the social areas are perfect for simple gatherings or group parties. If I ever have the chance to visit Cheltenham again, I would certainly stay here and recommend it to others.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you so much for this great review and also for leaving the House in such a tidy and clean state. You should write reviews more often! Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyliann...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here as a guest for a hen weekend. The house is in a fantastic location and is absolutely beautiful. It is very tastefully decorated and very welcoming. The bedrooms are all a very good size with en-suites and very comfortable. Despite there being 10 of us staying there, noise didn't travel around the house so there was always a quiet corner to sit in or relax. I was very impressed with the facilities such as the state of the art kitchen and huge dining table. The little touches also make the house even more comfortable such as towels, robes and Molton Brown. I highly recommend for a group of friends or family and would love to go back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patinya K
Fethiye, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Granddad Ken 80th Birthday party”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First stay i stay in english house not hotel, but surprise that it like hotel with Molton Brown soap shampoo etc but feel very home style.

Best is stay there in one of the room look over park. Lots of restaurant and cafe around. Park opposite has cafe good for coffee in morning. Gusto cafe very good nearby and easy to walk around to get to shopping area

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelval...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning boutique style house with beautiful decor”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Montpellier House for my 40th birthday with a group of 9 friends and couldn't have been happier. I'm very fussy when it comes to hotels/ guest houses and this house exceeded all expectations. The decor is stunning and my friends were literally squealing with joy when they saw the rooms! Every detail has been thought of and the house is warm and comfortable.

I was lucky enough to stay in the main bedroom and felt like the princess and the pea lying in the huge decadent bed.

The hamper of fresh cheeses, fresh flowers and bottles of wine left for us just added to the feeling of being well and truly spoilt.

I couldn't fault this house for a get together with friends or family and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katieblue...
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation on another level! Amazing!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Friday 16th August - Sunday 18th August 2013
11 guests (Hen Weekend) age range 29 -35yrs
Myself and jacqui had the pleasure of organizing a Hen Do for the 'bride to be' Helen, that Oozed class and sophistication. Montpellier House hit the spot on every level, fabulous accommodation (we also hired the apartment that goes with the house, 2 mins walk away, perfect!). Everything had been thought of from the beautiful hamper of local cheese's and wine awaiting us in the kitchen as we arrived to the beautiful dressing gowns with 'Montpellier House' sewn onto the front in the master suite (mine and Helen's room, wonderful). I have to say that being one of the lucky ladies to have stayed in the master bedroom i have never felt a more comfortable duvet and pillows i could have easily slept for a week. Infact i was so impressed that as soon as i returned home i told my husband "we must buy new bedding!" i have now purchased a beautiful goose feather and down duvet and matching pillows the same quality as Montpellier, lush.......................... The house was full of antiques and quality fixtures and fittings, dish washers everywhere! fab! We felt so comfortable and made to feel very welcome by the owners, fantastic communication from start to finish. The location was perfect Cheltenham was on our doorstep with the most beautiful views from the front windows of the park, tennis courts and the hills and countryside in the background. We had an array of good bars and restaurants to sample within walking distance, no taxi's were hired the entire weekend and with 11 ladies and high heeled shoes i think that's pretty good going.
We were all extremely sad to leave and would have loved to extend our stay at 'Montpellier House' but hopefully we look forward to a return visit in the near future.
Thank you Barry and Andrew, Helen's Hen Do is definitely one for the memory box and Montpellier House made the weekend.
Kind Regards
Kate Jones

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personally i loved the four poster bed in the master suite duvet and pillows were amazing!!!
Liked least: Leaving the property on the Sunday
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing