We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressed”
Review of House-in-the-Tree

House-in-the-Tree
Ranked #15 of 446 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“impressed”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visiting with friends for the first time yesterday. Food was very good, Baguette somewhat large for me though and it also came with chips! Plenty of seats and some sweet animals for the kids to see. Flower baskets gave a nice touch. Shall definitely return

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 522depeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    150
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I came to this pub one sunny early evening after hearing and reading the brilliant reviews. Garden was lovely, great play-area for the children. Good atmosphere and friendly staff. However we waited over an hour for the food and then when it came it was really disappointing. Two of us had lasagne - there was barely any tomato or bechamel sauce and it was really dry. There was also far too much cheese-almost an inch think. Childrens dish was fish and chips-was ok but fish a little soggy. Our other guest had the steak-it was small, he asked for it medium-cooked and it was beyond well-done - dry and overcooked. It was served with overcooked vegetables and looked like a meal I would have expected in old-school dinners. We did not get pudding and I would not return for food.

However it is good for an afternoon drink in the garden and ice-cream for the kids from the tuck shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolo_373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely bit of pork”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very busy when we visited but the service was excellent. Food was superb and service was very good. Would recommend for a relaxed meal for couples or families.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good pub and good service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We thought we would give this pub a try for something to eat for my birthday and to be fair is a nice little pub with friendly staff. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who offered us a choice of tables to sit at as they were quiet. The table we chose only had one set of cutlery which the waiter said he would fetch some more..... we made our order and when our food turned up ... still no cutlery so the waitress fetched some and apologised. The food was nice and hot, GOOD SIZE PORTIONS (always a bonus!) and tasted delicious. the only thing that did make i feel a little strange was the decor, it did feel a little like a bed and breakfast but apart from that i would recommend this pub for a good meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badlyburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely bistro type pub with delicious food! We had the duck and the pork special and both were very well presented and tasted fresh. The atmosphere was a bit strange with an eclectic mix of music playing a little too loudly through the speakers but apart from that the restaurant seating (separate from the 'pub' area) was spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff were pretty attentive although nobody checked back on our desserts which was unfortunate as my crème brulee was a bit lumpy but they took it straight off the bill at the end with no fuss. I would definitely return again and having eaten recently in other pubs with higher priced food that wasn't to such a high standard, I think The House in the Tree is good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomandlozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House-in-the-Tree also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to House-in-the-Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing