We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a nice pint”
Review of Royal Union Inn

Royal Union Inn
Ranked #160 of 448 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Please note. The Royal Union is firstly a Pub. We just happen to turn out great food from our tiny kitchen. If you're looking for Michelin Starred, there's one up the road. If you want traditional food, well prepared, cooked and served in a relaxed informal atmosphere, look no further. Tucked away in the Tivoli area of Cheltenham which is half way between the Town's Railway Station and it's centre. Specialising in real ales (8 generally available)and sharing meals for two to thirty people (Legs of Lamb, Ribs of Beef, Shoulders of Pork, whole chickens and 20oz Steaks). The sharing Sunday roasts are fab. Friendly staff and locals create an almost unique atmosphere. No blaring piped music but live Jazz on Sunday nights. A great place if you like character and class.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice pint”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Always brilliant beer on tap, great atmosphere.
Ate here for the first time this week had an excellent belly pork burger, highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank D_Stephens100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice pre dinner drink”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Met my girlfriend and her parents here for a nice drink before dinner and it was a delightful find. Friendly staff, wide variety of beers on offer and all at a reasonable price. I wish i lived closer so I could make it my local!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food; great value”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Homecooked food which was good value. Warm open fire. Quick service. Very quiet as it was lunch time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place to meet the family and the dog came to...”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Met the family for the Sunday Brunch to celebrate my birthday. Last time I had been to the Royal Union was forty years ago to play skittles but the Alley is now the Kitchen and part of the eatery. We arrived shortly after 11am and were greeted warmly, choose our table and in no time hot toast arrived, white and brown, with our fresh brewed tea and coffee. The starters were buffet style cereal, yogurt or melon. No rush but when you are ready you choose just what you want from a full English breakfast menu. This is then freshly cooked to your requirements to the quantity to suit your requirements. The coffee, tea and toast are topped up by the friendly staff. In the background live music is played, even Happy Birthday to You. And all for £10 a head. A very recommended way for a family get together and nice to see a full pub on a Sunday morning. Will return to try their evening 'Sharing Menus'.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheltonian-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique chilled out Christmas Dinner Sharer”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked to have a Leg of Lamb sharer Christmas dinner with friends, the dinner was booked for 6 to 8 people to share, and there was more than enough to go round. The accompanying acoustic guitarist plus the trimmings made it a great night.
We love the Royal Union as a warm welcoming place for a drink and for the sharing options (various options available year round) and their Sunday brunch. Beer is well kept, they have a selection of Belgian beers, ciders and whiskies to suit all tastes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddling_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Union Inn also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Royal Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing