We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Purslane

Purslane
Ranked #8 of 460 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Critically-acclaimed, small, independent restaurant specialising in sustainable British seafood and local Cotswold produce.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We ate here last Thursday..... Absolutely delicious. Portion sizes were perfect, left feeling full but not overly. The quality of the food was fabulous. We both had scallops in squid ink, which tasted amazing but I'm not sure I liked having black lips! The service was attentive and polite. The only recommendation would be some background music as it was missing a little ambience.

Thank EllenCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Good to hear you had such a lovely time. The lady that does our laundry curses us every time Gareth puts squid ink in his dishes too, but seeing as she's also my mother we just about get away with it. We do have background music on during every service but make a point of not having it on too loud so as not to drown out our customers in such a small restaurant. I'll check the volume button hasn't been tampered with!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Purslane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 406 of 552 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a small restaurant tucked away behind Cheltenham's main shopping drag. However it is intimate and comfortable.

Two "business" partners run the place - one, a French lady, doing front of house most charmingly and the other partner beavering away in the kitchen. Front of house is charming but not without its hiccups and the food is excellent. It looks wholly "fishy" at first glance but don't be alarmed - the sous vide cooked ox cheek was melt in the mouth delicious.

The scallops with lentils starter was very good and the haddock tortallini were a delight.

A sensibly priced wine list rounded it all off.

If you live in Cheltenham or are visiting for shopping give it a try -it's really very good indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks ever so much for your feedback. It can be quite surprising how close we are to the High Street and yet how quiet our road can be. We're certainly very lucky in that respect.
Ever so sorry to hear there was a hiccup at front of house, do please drop us a line if it's something we weren't made aware of at the time so we can address it fully.
The menu is seafood-led but not solely fish so hopefully we can cater for everyone's tastes. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your Ox Cheek so much. Hope to look after you again soon.
Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellent food, lovely wines, stylish decor, attentive staff. It was a bit noisy, but otherwise fabulous! We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed yourself when you came to dine.
We've worked on the acoustics in the restaurant since opening and added more soft furnishings where appropriate to absorb noise and bring the levels down. As the restaurant is quite small it can be a challenge to balance that against overdressing the decor and therefore the space but hopefully it's something we're staying on top of. Appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Our friends live in Somerset and over the past few years we have tried to outdo each other with the quality of restaurants in our area. We are new to Cheltenham and Purslane was our first attempt to impress. It certainly did us proud!

We arrived a little late but this didn't phase the staff at all. They remained breezy, cheerful and very helpfull. The interior is cozy and welcoming, and with the restaurant (justifiably) full there was a nice buzz about the place.

The main thrust of the restaurant is fresh seafood, but there are plenty of other options on offer. One of the specials had sold out, but was replaced by something else the chef had just whipped up, which was great service.

The food was delicious, well cooked and presented beautifully. We could find little to fault the experience from start to finish. We will definitely be returning soon.

Thank Roughwaters99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Glad we could assist in your friendly battle! Hopefully they will come up trumps and spoil you next time you visit Somerset. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have eaten here at lunchtime and were keen to sample the evening menu, we weren't disappointed. We received a warm welcome, the service was friendly and prompt. The menu is small but very well put together, with some intriguing combinations. The food was delicious, each course was an absolute delight and wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening, we look forward to returning in the near future,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena F, Owner at Purslane, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Lovely to hear your dinner was as good as your lunch. We keep the menu relatively small as we are a small team and the food we serve deserves all of our attention. We feel it's very important to focus on what we do and do it well. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purslane also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Purslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing