We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A scary start but great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Hotel Cheltenham
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Reception is not much. A man at a table with a wall of keys. But we got upgraded to 3 apartments! (12 people).
Not going to lie, the info was a bit lacking - "here's 7 keys. The rooms are in the same block, by the way there not here. Turn right then right then left then right.....!"

But when we arrived they were really lovely!! 5 beds in each with a double/twin per room so we weren't cramped, stunning lounge diner kitchen & all had balconys. There were massive TVs too but we weren't there long to test things.

The rooms came with towels and kitchen ware too.

Only downside was the 10am kickout!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank JLWCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

BEWARE DON'T STAY HERE! Booked there today and Hated it, Wouldn't let an animal sleep there let alone a human, Smelly damp rooms, T.V only channels 1-5, bed is as hard as sitting on wood, owner refused to give me and my girlfriend a refund as she said we already had a cuppa coffee (might i add it was in plastic cups) and room service wouldn't be able to get the room in order in time, she was just trying to make up excuses... Horrible views, flies in room, Dull decor, Horrible attitude from staff talking to us sarcastically, We paid and left within a couple of hours, Only good thing about this hotel was the location... Id rather walk home then stay there, CRAP! BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE!!

Room Tip: DONT GO HERE, pay that bit more for holiday inn, at least there the staff dont talk to you like crap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I've stayed here twice now. Once in their apartments and once in the central hotel.
The staff on reception were lovely and so helpful. The location is very central so expect noise at night but that's what you must learn to expect staying central anywhere.
The rooms both times were spacious and comfortable, included a clean bathroom, 32 inch flat screen tvs and onsite parking.
The only thing that needs to be improved are the windows not being able to stay open in the triple room on the 3rd floor, room 10 I think it was. We had to put something between the window and the window sill to keep it open.
Other than that, people writing bad reviews must be really hard to please. This is a great choice for a night or two when using it as a base to visit the Cotswolds and Bristol. I would defiantly recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelGroup, General Manager at Central Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

It's lovely to hear you've returned to use and have experienced great stays in various accommodation. We'd like to inform you that we have been looking into the windows and are seeking advise on what we are and are not allowed to do and this is a listed building. We are always looking to improve any aspect of our guests stays and your points have been noted and are being acted upon. It's lovely to have such a positive review. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everytime I visit Cheltenham, I always look forward to staying here! The staff are always friendly and extremely helpful. Even if I turn up on the day, they will try and find me the best room in any of their properties. It is what you pay for. Don't expect a fancy hotel room. Its a clean bedroom and bathroom, comfy bed and still has, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities etc

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericburnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Customer service here was a great let down. We were ‘welcomed’ by “Name? Here is you’re key” (and the silent, “I don’t care about you or your stay, figure it out yourself”).
The bottom floor has been freshly painted, then you open the door to the stairway and realise the smell of paint maybe an attempt to hide the overpowering odour of perhaps cat urine? To then drag our bags up the three flights of stairs, with hand rails that would struggle to stand straight under the weight of a fly. (Not kidding, they were actually broken).
The shared bathroom was poorly designed, a shower right beside the door and puddles aren’t ideal. The shower tap was backward and if you’re looking for a floor mat or hand towel, you might be lucky, depending on the mood of housekeeping.
The remote in the room, NONE of the buttons were coded correctly… apparently “3” is volume up. “0” volume down “4” mute, etc etc.
The room was okay, has microwave and kitchen facilities, a massive let down that no tea towels or cloths provided to clean dishes and benches while cooking. The beds were like sleeping on a park bench, the room was stinking hot which meant we had to have the window open all the time.
In spite of these downfalls, we were respectful of the room and items provided. Only to find four days after our departure a blunt email accusing us of damages and informing us of a £60 to cover their losses. We strongly denied their accusations as we did not damage ANYTHING, yet were met with minimal and delayed replies with no effort to rectify their mistake. We were charged the full amount to replace FIVE already stained towels. (Don’t let the cost of these towels lull you into some idea that they were spun of gold, or much larger than hand towel)
It may seem like a small amount to most. But as we are backpackers, unemployed and moving location this is a great loss to us. These people just don’t care, and will just charge to top up their bar tab, enjoy your overpriced bottle of wine, its on us!
We know this is a rant, but we are very VERY angry about how we were treated by a second rate hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_ExplorerA113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Although our room was very small the amenities were all there! The shower was great with lovely fluffy white towels changed every day. The room had a fridge and microwave which could be handy.
The location was great very close to the centre. We came for the Jazz festival, which was about a ten minute walk away! Also a great plus for us a great Indian Resturant right next door.
There is also a car park at the back of the hotel which was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here.

Room Tip: Our room was No 12 at the back of the hotel (very small).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I booked a twin room at the central hotel and arrived to check in and the very friendly and helpful receptionist informed us we had been upgraded to a two bed roomed apartment not far away. I was given a map and very clear directions to the apartment and if we couldn't find it then we were to ring the hotel and somebody would come and assist us , which was very nice. Found apartment easily,once inside we found it to be fully serviced with a proper kitchen with cooker washing machine etc. the facilities were very nice . The only problem I had was there was no mats in the shower or the bath, so I had to put a towel down on the shower tray so I didn't slip. But the apartment was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. I would not hesitate in booking with the central hotel again really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyw789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelGroup, General Manager at Central Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! It's always great to have such positive feedback! We'd like to thank you for choosing to book with us. We've taken note of the bath mats and are looking to have these implemented in the apartments which don't have these yet. If you contact us directly we can give give you a discount code for your next booking with us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.3 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheltenham
Travelodge Cheltenham
#17 of 23 in Cheltenham
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
681 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Cheltenham

Address: 7-9 Portland Street, Cheltenham GL52 2NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Price Range: $44 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheltenham's most centrally located hotel. If you are relocating for work or traveling on a budget, our rooms provide an inexpensive stay without sacrificing quality or comfort. Trading as a self catering hotel. Excellently placed for high street shops, restaurants and nightlife, as well as being within walking distance of the bus and train stations. So if you are looking for a hotel in Cheltenham and don't want to pay expensive prices, give us a try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheltenham Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing