We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central hotel.”
Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #13 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Abbey is situated just minutes from the town centre shops and many good restaurants. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and treated very well during our two night stay. The rooms (we occupied four) are prettily decorated and spotlessly clean, with free wifi available. Plenty of hot water, efficient showers and a good quality hairdryer. A couple of minor negatives : the bed was a little soft for me (although others might not think so) and the rooms were very warm.

Breakfasts were excellent and freshly cooked. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, providing details of local restaurants, beauty spots etc. when asked. The hotel was quiet, despite its central location. Parking on the street, with a token provided. All in all we were all very pleased with the accommodation which was reasonably priced and very convenient. I would recommend to a friend and definitely stay there again.

(The nearby Coco restaurant was excellent, with an "Edith Piaf" cabaret on the Monday. The food was outstanding, as was the singing and the ambiance.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 204 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good. Location, parking and breakfast.

Location could not be better. Parking nearby with the aid of a permit provided by the owners was very helpful. Breakfast was very good with a great choice.

Bad. Constant banging of doors. Times breakfast is served. Cleanliness of room/en suite.
The banging of doors was so loud and constant that you could feel the building shake and awaken from your sleep. Soft close doors have been around for many years. The times for breakfast during the week were very early so if you were having a break and not on business they were very inconvenient. The cleanliness in the room was very poor. All the skirting boards were extremely dusty and it was the same in the en suite. Lots of stains on the walls and the furniture was very dated. Although we were there for only 2 nights it looked like the carpet had not been vacuumed for some time or the bed moved where lots of dust and dirt had gathered.

For a 4 star rated b&b I would not expect to experience any of the items list in the 'bad'

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NoelH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg B, Owner at The Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at The Abbey. We work very hard to make sure every guest have a good stay.

We have had our maintanance man in over the last two days to do some jobs for us. This included sorting the door closers. The doors should not bang anymore.

Breakfast is served 7.30-9 during the week and 8-10 over the weekend. We always say that guests do not have to finish breakfast by this time but to have come down by 9 o'clock. Likewise if guests require earlier breakfast we cater for that too. Ideally we should have breakfast on between 6.30-11. But as we are a guesthouse with 13 rooms and not a big hotel, this is not possible.

I am sorry that you found the cleanliness poor. Most guest find us very clean. I wished you had complained while staying with us and we could have moved you to another room, cleaned your room better or at least compensate you in one way or another.

We are VisitEnglan 4 star rated that means that we are not perfect but we try very hard to offer a good service in a very clean and friendly Guesthouse for a good price. I can only apologise if you feel that you were let down on this occasion.

Sophie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed for 1 night the staff were very friendly. I was upgraded to a larger room which had lovely views of the cherry blossom in the garden. Breakfast was very nicely cooked and presented.Well placed for town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlangollenAnjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely family run hotel withing 2 minutes walk of Cheltenham centre. Each room is different, spotlessly clean. Breakfast excellent. They have an honesty bar which is ideal. For the lone traveler, if you ask, they will provide you with a plate and a knife & fork in your room so you can eat a takeaway without having to struggle from a carton or paper. There is a Chinese just at the end of the street. Breakfast a little late on Saturday but if you ask they will open earlier. I hadn't asked but they opened early especially and served a breakfast as my colleagues and I had work. Very accommodating. Stayed twice in a two week period and recommended to colleagues who also stayed. Reasonable prices. Would not hesitate to return. Thanks.

Room Tip: I have stayed in rooms 11 & 14. Both equally good although 11 while a little smaller has a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, comfortable and clean. Great town centre location, would definitely recommend. Not at all expensive felt right at home as soon as I arrived. Breakfast is included and freshly cooked, I stayed in a very nice double bed room with en-suite and free wi-fi, everything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarry2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Abbey for two nights recently and found it to be very clean, very friendly and very convenient for the centre of town.

My room was small but clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Not sure there's much more you could ask for really!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewSS676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Another delightful short stay. Efficient direct booking. Very warm hospitality. Nice room with all the 4-star B&B touches. Guest lounge and honesty bar. Really nice breakfast (chose cereals, fruit, yoghurt, oj, tea, poached eggs, grilled tomatoes and toast). Faultless. My 4th stay; I hope to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
509 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing