We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base for exploring Cheltenham”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #16 of 71 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great base for exploring Cheltenham”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Abbey very much, Very clean, fresh and comfortable room overlooking the side street on which the Abbey is based. A parking permit was provided which enabled us to park right outside -on street upon arrival (approx midday). We were able to check in early as the room was ready.Small ensuite shower/WC/basin were immaculate with pleanty of big towels and the usual toileteries.
Biggish flat screen TV, very comfortable bed and linen all superb.
Breakfast- full english good quality and plenty of it. In addition to this were the usual choices of cereals/fruit/rolls/toast and juice.
The Abbey is a stone's throw from the main shopping area in the heart od Cheltenham and yet not in a noisy main street. At the rear of the property is the impressive Sandford Park and Cheltenham's heated lido.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    51
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
65
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Smashing hotel, did everything required for a base to enjoy the area. Rooms and en-suite were clean and comfortable,breakfasts were plentiful if a little hectic if all the guests arrive at the same time and the on street car parking permit was a great help.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would defo re book this hotel. i couldnt fault it. asked for an iron and ironing board on arrival and ex tea and milks nothing was too much trouble. The whole place was spotless. lovely shower too ! on the road side but didnt hear any trafffic ! very close to the town centre. and found ample parking outside the hotel when we arrived.

The hosts were lovely too and brekfast like my mums ! lots of juice, fruit. ceryal too. and for a change the beds was very comfy instead of the hard ones im used to !
great stay and £100 between the 3 of us we would defo go back again.
suzie sarah and pat from chepstow.

Room Tip: did book a family room so 2 friends had to share a double bed not sure if a triple room option is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Abbey for one night, we were in Cheltenham for a family wedding, hosts were very helpful in giving directions to the Church. They were very friendly, breakfast was very good, room was very spacious and bed very comfy, bathroom good size. Hotel was in a ideal location for the town centre, would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The owners are extremely nice and very welcoming. The Abbey is comfortable and in a great location. Anytime we had a question, they gladly helped. The breakfast was a wonderful addition since my husband was there for work. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area. I usually do not like B&B, but The Abbey had everything to offer as far as a hotel and a B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during the Science Festival every year for the last five years, and it has always been excellent. I can endorse everything other reviewers have written about it. With free parking and being literally only five minutes walk (I timed it) from the Town Hall, it is ideally placed for festival-goers. It has recently been refurbished and is better than ever!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights a couple of weeks ago on a city break to visit friends. Great central location, easy walking distance to shops, Montpellier etc. Friendly helpful hosts and really comfortable room with ensuite and decent shower.

Free parking which is very handy in Cheltenham. Sometimes you can't get right outside the hotel and have to park at the end of the road or on the next one but it can't be helped and the permit covers a big enough area to manage. Also the location is great for getting on the road out to the countryside (prestbury, winchcombe, etc), racecourse or back on the A40 to Oxford, but avoiding the city centre traffic.

Free fast wifi. It was occasionally patchy but very rare and I was in the basement. Most of the time it was fine.

They also do a lovely freshly cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: I was in the lower ground at the back which was very quiet. Wifi was fine but would probably be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 22 in Cheltenham
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing