We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey
Nearby Hotels
$128
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
$77
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
$273
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham(Charlton Kings)(Great Value!)
$82
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
138
57
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
57
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permithonesty bartown centrecricket festivalcentral locationquiet streetwarm welcomefull englishexcellent breakfastbiscuitshigh streetcomfortable bedslocation is greatthree nightslovely hoteldouble roomfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 214 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Abbey for one night, we were in Cheltenham for a family wedding, hosts were very helpful in giving directions to the Church. They were very friendly, breakfast was very good, room was very spacious and bed very comfy, bathroom good size. Hotel was in a ideal location for the town centre, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The owners are extremely nice and very welcoming. The Abbey is comfortable and in a great location. Anytime we had a question, they gladly helped. The breakfast was a wonderful addition since my husband was there for work. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area. I usually do not like B&B, but The Abbey had everything to offer as far as a hotel and a B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during the Science Festival every year for the last five years, and it has always been excellent. I can endorse everything other reviewers have written about it. With free parking and being literally only five minutes walk (I timed it) from the Town Hall, it is ideally placed for festival-goers. It has recently been refurbished and is better than ever!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights a couple of weeks ago on a city break to visit friends. Great central location, easy walking distance to shops, Montpellier etc. Friendly helpful hosts and really comfortable room with ensuite and decent shower.

Free parking which is very handy in Cheltenham. Sometimes you can't get right outside the hotel and have to park at the end of the road or on the next one but it can't be helped and the permit covers a big enough area to manage. Also the location is great for getting on the road out to the countryside (prestbury, winchcombe, etc), racecourse or back on the A40 to Oxford, but avoiding the city centre traffic.

Free fast wifi. It was occasionally patchy but very rare and I was in the basement. Most of the time it was fine.

They also do a lovely freshly cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: I was in the lower ground at the back which was very quiet. Wifi was fine but would probably be better on one of the upper floors.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet street but very close to shops, pubs/restaurantes etc and a lovely park. The Abbey is very clean and comfortable. A wide choice of delicious breakfast options. I also very much appreciated the local information and recommendations. The room was a lovely size and I slept really well in a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: There is a bit of noise from late night pub goers etc in front rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews