We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Star Bistro

Star Bistro
Ranked #91 of 448 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: No ordinary bistro, we offer delicious dishes made from the finest local and seasonal ingredients while enabling young people with disabilities the chance to gain real-life work experience.- Delicious bistro lunches and puddings- Morning coffee and traditional afternoon tea- Finest local and seasonal ingredients- Special dietary requirements catered for- Located at National Star College on The Cotswold Way - Free parking and wifi- Open 11am-4pm Monday-Friday, all year roundStar Bistro is a charitable initiative run by National Star Foundation.
gloucester uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just got bCk from a superb lunch here today! Can't fault a thing! A very welcoming place, attentive staff and excellent food! Absolutely faultless . The Star jelly is to die for!! Very reasonably priced for quality food. Will definitely be going back ..SOON

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieGloucesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best lunch for a very long time!¬”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have visited this little restaurant several times - and our visit yesterday was the best. We thoroughly enjoyed our two course lunch - the asparagus, mint and new potato soup was absolutely delicious and the ham hock beautifully prepared and presented. We ate with a glass of the local beer - very good.

The price you pay is very reasonable and the thought behind the total set up of this little restaurant is fantastic - we really applaud Star Bistro's involvement of the local residents. Well done and thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JRL8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Star 'licious!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have popped in on numerous occasions to Star Bistro and are always delighted with everything, from Georgina's wonderful smile to the superb food that arrives at our table! Worthwhile booking in advance due to the Star Jelly following....which tastes amazing by the way. Our children love it too and the menu for them is well thought out with some lovely refreshing bottle green cordials with fresh fruit in them, genius! A visit is a must.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
“Star Bistro - Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food at the Star Bistro, Ullenwood, is exceptionally cooked, presented, very reasonably priced and, of course, enjoyed.
The atmosphere is lovely and, although the staff are very busy, the food always arrives promptly. They are very friendly, especially with wheelchair occupants, and go out of their way to be accommodating.
The background music is so nice, loud enough to be enjoyed but not too loud to drown out conversation - just right.
All the toilets are disable friendly with room to accommodate both wheelchair and carer with ample room to spare. The toilets have automatic taps and automatic paper towel dispensers, with good supplies of soaps..
It's a joy to be there. It goes without saying, we'll be coming back again and again, recommending it to all our friends and anyone else who enjoys excellent food in an exceptionally elegant and stylish surroundings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete_mitchell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in clean spacious surroundings”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Been twice now, and both times excellent. Feel it will quickly become a favourite haunt after shopping in Cheltenham on way home to Stroud for when you just really don't want a meal in another chain. Great for kids and perfect for taking elderly relatives due to comfy seats and accessable loos. Food fresh and unfussy, always delicious. A great charity but thats not only what will draw us back, it's because the whole package is perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LotteMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Bistro also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Star Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing