We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would you like bone in your turkey fillet sir?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian - CLOSED

Jamie's Italian
Price range: $12 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: JAMIE’S ITALIAN Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning.
bristol
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would you like bone in your turkey fillet sir?”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

So I've been to a few of Mr Oliver's restaurants and I have to say they are normally a good standard, however, this one was decidedly flat. Nice building and toilets don't really make up for a pretty naff meal. I had turkey Milanese which had the added extra of half an inch of bone in the second mouthful. Fair play the waitress was suitable shocked and the chef came out to apologise and offered another serving but I carried on with the original. Lets face it, I'd found the hidden extra and another serving would just taste the same. The deep fried risotto balls were really tasty. The "famous" polati (spelling!) chips were totally and utter tasteless mush. The risotto was ok but a small portion. The whole thing was just, well, uninspiring and ordinary. Certainly not romantic, more expensive diner. Quick turn round, no atmosphere. Shame..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    332
    313
    226
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday meal at Jamies”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had booked online but on arrival the staff had no record and the young man at the desk was unhelpful and abrupt. The building is cold especially sitting on metal chairs. The waitress was our saviour and very knowledgable - the food was ok but really not worth the prices and portions way too small. Half the cost of the meals was in the wine, so over priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a casual environment”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have visited Jamie’s twice in the last few weeks, and I have enjoyed it both times. The restaurant it very relaxed and casual, almost like a canteen, and can get quite noisy when busy. It’s more where you would go for lunch whilst out shopping rather than for an intimate or romantic dining experience. The décor is quite rustic and a bit quirky. The staff are friendly and upbeat, and very efficient; the food comes out of the kitchen fast. The food is fresh and very tasty, and is served in moderate portions. The portions were perfect for us but other diners may find them a little on the small side. I would recommend this place for what it is, a busy and lively Italian themed eatery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So very overrated!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Portions very small - went home and cooked a meal.

Very expensive

Nice staff
Pasta rock hard and not fresh
Tasteless dishes
Never again
Though the posh chips were good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariaGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lunchtime visit, a real treat. The staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived, we hadn't booked but they found us a table for two very quickly. The service just got better and better, efficient, friendly, well presented and fast. The food was really good, I had one of the specials, chicken livers with Tagliatelle....gorgeous! The whole place was buzzing, people of all ages enjoying the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing