We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night”
Review of Everyman Theatre

Everyman Theatre
Ranked #7 of 60 things to do in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Went to see To Sir with love Saturday night. Beautiful theatre, very friendly staff and great show . Look forward to another show soon

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    89
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An average theatre but with a wide range of shows.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

An average theatre. but it is still good to have on my doorstep. Wide spread of viewings, and often if yo ustay in the bar late enough, yo utend to bump into some of the performers. However, bar is badly laid out, as are the toilets!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frangellica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were on holiday in the area and noticed via a theatre brochure that Butterfly Lion was playing during our stay, so decided to push the boat out and book ourselves some seats.

We're so glad we did.

The theatre is a real gem; it feels like a piece of history. It looked as though it had had a recent facelift because the decor seemed quite fresh despite the obvious age of the building.

We very much enjoyed our visit and wished we lived closer so we could come more often.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“All the world's a stage....”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Everyman Theatre is Cheltenham's answer to the Victorian and Edwardian era. Designed by Matcham, famous throughout Britain for his unique decor, it is in the middle of town behind the Promenade. Right now it is in its dark period but in the autumn it will welcome a number of well known actors and actresses such as Felicity Kendall and Tom Conti for modern plays and old favourites. The price of seats has sadly increased in recent years so you can kiss goodbye to Fifty Pounds for two for an evening out in the best seats but you might find yourself sitting behind Princess Anne in the Circle !! For residents it is a good idea to join the Everyman Theatre Association for the chance to buy tickets at a discount in advance of public selling. Sadly also there is now no proper restaurant offering pre-show dinners but nevertheless the cafe is popular among visitors and shoppers alike all day. Despite these tough times it is hoped the Everyman will continue into the future. All it requires is an intelligent programme of productions of all kinds, especially those with well known stars, to combat nearby Malvern and Bath !

ASTRO TRAVEL
CHELTENHAM

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Theatre”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An excellent theatre often running plays prior to them going into the West End. A wide spread of all types of plays, musicals, drama, comedy etc. lovely atmosphere in a recently restored interior. Pantomime at Christmas. Behind the scenes tours are available.
Good bar facilities.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everyman Theatre also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Everyman Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing