We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gloucestershire Warwickshire Steam Railway
Review Highlights
Return visit

We had a trip on the Gloucestershire Warwickshire Steam Railway in April this year and enjoyed it... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Steveanne-2
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Excellent day out

Well worth a visit whether you are an enthusiast or just visiting the area. Lots to do and see... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Hatt
,
Wales
Read all 1,404 reviews
  
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveler rating
1,086
272
27
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,086
272
27
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheltenham race course toddington station rover ticket buffet car rolling stock broadway station diesel train diesel gala garden centre signal box mince pies trains running station master thomas the tank engine lovely scenery station staff return journey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2019

We were in the area for a few days & decided to take the train from Winchcombe (Greet), to Broadway.

The seats were so comfortable like arm chairs.

Broadway is a place we have visited many times, walked around there, had lunch then back on the train.

A lovely experience!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank robdorWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Being in Cheltenham with a few spare hours it would have been rude not to let the train take the strain. Last time I visited the line stopped at Toddington and Cheltenham was a stop and go halt. I travelled the full length; Cheltenham to Broadway. Car parking at Cheltenham is via the racecourse. Broadway is a work in progress. It has a cafe, adequate parking and links into Broadway itself you could easily start your journey from here. Plan you day though to take advantage of what the stations have to offer and the places to visit away from the stations, the rover ticket is well worth the cost to enable you to do that.
It is what you would expect from a heritage line, friendly staff, clean stations and stock.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank johnrZ6013EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

My boyfriend and I took the train from Toddington to Cheltenham Racecourse, stayed on and steamed back to Broadway, a longish walk into Broadway but a vintage double decker bus was available for those less able, had lunch there and then back to Toddington. An excellent trip with wonderful scenery and good value.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank myra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

I had two great trips on the GWSR. One day I cycled from Cheltenham to Broadway and caught the train back. The next day I did the reverse.

This really is a top class heritage railway and having visited more than twenty in the England I feel qualified to speak.

The only improvement I would suggest is better signage at the Cheltenham Race Course terminus and for those not on a bike extending the bus service to the station from the racecourse would be a significant step forward.

The volunteers' attitude is exemplary whether it be on board or in the cafes.

The cost of a single end to end journey is £13 reduced to £12 fr those aged 60+

The Cotswold countryside is beautiful and i really would recommend the cycling option too.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank andrewsS4920MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2019

We are not really steam railway enthusiasts but we really enjoyed our return trip last week from Cheltenham racecourse to Broadway. The train was pulled by the big blue steam engine......they don't make them like this anymore !! It was a very nostalgic trip for us as during the journey we fondly remembered the steam trains of our youth. There was plenty to see during the hour long trip...lots of beautiful countryside and some beautifully restored old stations en route. The staff were very kind and dedicated to the railway. We bought 2 rover tickets and could have hopped on and off all day but we didn't . We just went straight to Broadway and spent some time there and got the train back to the racecourse.. The walk from the station into Broadway village was a very pleasant gentle amble and took about 15 minutes or so. It is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews