We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time with children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway

Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway is a 12 mile steam and diesel heritage railway in the beautiful English Cotswolds. Visit the GWR stations at Toddington (postcode GL54 5DT), Winchcombe (GL54 5LD), or Cheltenham Race Course (GL50 4SH). Free Parking, and there is so much to do in addition to riding on the heritage trains. There are authentic Great Western Railway stations and well-stocked shops. Catering options include the buffet car on the train, the Flag & Whistle Restaurant at Toddington Station and the 1950s themed Coffee Pot cafe at Winchcombe Station. There is a model railway coach and the Discovery Coach at Winchcombe Station, whilst at Toddington there is a self-guided heritage trail, a children’s play area, a have-a-go signalbox and a locomotive yard viewing area. Check out our website to see the operating days, the train times and the range of this year's special events, both for enthusiasts and for children.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely time with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited the railway with our children aged 5, 8 and 9 and had a lovely time even with cloudy, rainy weather. The railway is beautifully kept with a great nostalgic feel to it. There are some nice touches like the old suitcase used as a flower pot. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the driver of the diesel even let the children ride in the cab with him and toot the horn - how proud they were about that!
Highly recommended for a slow, gentle day out.

Helpful?
Thank W N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    161
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly heritage railway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What's not to like. Steaming through lovely English countryside with a friendly staff pointing out places of interest. Great for young and old alike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant Excursion Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely trip on a beautiful steam railway through lovely country side. The meal was very well cooked and presented, all the staff were most convivial. Parking was a bit restricted at Winchcombe but all in all a very nice afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great railway and fantastic bacon butties!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After arriving mid-morning at the Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway’s Toddington station I enjoyed, at the Flag & Whistle Tea Rooms, a lovely mug of tea and the best bacon butty I had had in years. From Toddington I got the train to Cheltenham racecourse (and back). In the afternoon I visited Winchcombe station which I found to be very picturesque. The excursion to Laverton and back I think I could have missed out on.

The £15 day rover ticket is reasonable value. But do allow time to visit the towns of Winchcombe and Cheltenham as part of your day out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant time in the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went on the Cheltenham to Toddington trip. Very pleasant scenery at a leisurely pace.

The volunteers were all very good and questions answered fully. Most informative.

Enjoyed the tearooms at Toddington although the range of food was a bit limited. There was a few people selling railway memorabilia at Toddington which was interesting.

Overall good value for money however still a bit behind the North Yorkshire Moors railway we endertook about three years ago.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Been to Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing