We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Lypiatt House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lypiatt House
Ranked #28 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed 3 nights in June 09 good location easy to walk to good restaurants, shops, etc. The Daffodil Restaurant nearby had a Jazz dinner on a Monday night great food and excellent value. Lypiatt House is a well run establishment with fresh towels daily, bottled water daily, good breakfast and a nice lounge to sit in. Good decor, rooms with walk in showers smaller than those with the shower in the bath.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerAust2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 182 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed for a couple of days in mid July 09. The ground floor room was quite big with nice high ceilings. The room was excellent as was the bathroom reached by some steps which were definitely not easily used by the disabled. A handrail would solve most of the problem (possible at the expense of spoiling some of the room ambiance). Not mentioned when booking was the fact that the breakfast room is in the basement down some quite steep stairs - again not disabled person friendly. Breakfast itself could not be faulted as it was excellent. A guest sitting room and conservatory (with "honesty" bar) are decided assets to the establishment. We found that the distance from the centre of town seems somewhat further than we thought it would be. There are some restaurants located quite close to the B&B - we particularly enjoyed the local Zizzi located in a converted church. Overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

While it was a lovely house and reasonably well kept, we had a number of troubles during our three day stay. On arrival, the lady managing the place seemed put out that a number of our party were foreign and couldn't speak English. There was also some concern when we announced that we were staying for our wedding. She huffed and puffed when six of us arrived at the same time for breakfast and again when one of our arriving wedding party rang the doorbell and she had to answer it. What was more annoying was that some other guests appeared to be friends of theirs. There was quite a contrast in the quality of service between them and us. However the biggest issue came with the bill. We had done a group booking a few months in advance and had agreed a price. The management got some serious amnesia when we came to pay. It led to some considerable argument and stress. I wouldn't recommend this place at all

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_Dickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We have just returned from an excellent stay at the Lypiatt House. We were attending a wedding close by and had arrived too early but we made to feel very welcome and could relax with coffee in the lovely conservatory. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. The owners, Robert and Sue were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the full breakfast in the morning was excellent, in fact my husband commented that it was the best he had in a hotel. We plan to return with friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshRed_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Very friendly welcome by the lovely owner, rooms very pretty, clean and warm and delicious breakfast - lots of fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast and then full english - yum. Best of all was the price - great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Lypiatt House for the November Cheltenham meeting. The house is beautiful, and the owners are great hosts. Our room was lovely and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very tasty. It is only a short from the centre of Cheltenham (less than 10 mins). It's a 2 min walk to the Montpellier area. We would definately stay at Lypiatt House again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed here mainly because it looked nice on the website, price and WIFI access. I was not disappointed, it was a lovely place. The bed really comfortable, the rooms very clean and tidy. The building is an old Victorian style building so the ceilings are really high, walls are thick and rooms spacious (although many are like this in the area). We found the service good. The owner (manager?) and housekeepers were very friendly. The honesy bar is great, you can help yourself to drinks and relax in the lounge/conservatory (just be honest and write down what you drank).

If we ever go back to cheltenham we will stay here again, as I know I am going to get a nice place with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.3 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#4 of 68 in Cheltenham
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 68 in Cheltenham
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Butlers
Butlers
#11 of 68 in Cheltenham
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
6 Suffolk Parade Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Eagle Lodge Rooms
Eagle Lodge Rooms
#60 of 68 in Cheltenham
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lypiatt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lypiatt House

Address: Lypiatt Rd., Cheltenham GL50 2QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: $143 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lypiatt House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian villa, inspired by the Regency era and set in it's own lovely gardens, Lypiatt House Hotel is a beautiful, comfortable, stylish experience for any guest who stays with us. The Lypiatt still retains it's elegant features with a modern twist. Situated in Montpellier, Cheltenham's very fashionable district and only 3 minutes walk into town where you will find fabulous restaurants, bars, wine bars and of course some of the best shopping outside London. Lypiatt House stands quietly away from the hustle and bustle so if you are looking for a relaxing few days or a break from business, you will find it at Lypiatt House. Cheltenham is a wonderful Regency Spa town with a great buzz. Lots of festivals, including the famous horse racing happen here, so always something interesting and stimulating to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lypiatt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lypiatt House Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing