We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore the Cotswolds”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in this 5 star hotel through a jet setter deal . I see secret escapes are also doing a deal - although they have just changed the 2 course meal to the brasserie from the main rosetted restaurant!
The hotel is fantastic. The service excellent and the room ( a classic ) large and very comfortable.
We had a 2 course meal in the brasserie , priced at £14.95 ( with a soft drink) for the Cheltenham music festival. This was good value! Paying full price, the pork and the lamb are excellent - haddock and chips not such good value.
Breakfast excellent - as you would expect from a 5 star establishment.
A good tip for you trip here is the Bourton house gardens in Bourton on the Hill. Only open 3 days a week but very worthwhile and off the tourist route!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TurleighTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments,we are very pleased that you found The Hotel a great location from which to explore the Cotswolds and a quiet retreat following a busy day of sightseeing. Thank you also for your comments regarding breakfast and dinner in the Brasserie.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

This review a bit late, but needed to be done.
Stayed for 5 nights in November.
Our room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed and a great view of the racecourse.
Courtesy transport to the racecourse was a real treat.
Dined in both Beaufort Dining room and Brasserie and can honestly say that the food and staff were exceptional in both.
Breakfast was faultless on all five mornings, which really is outstanding as a lot of hotels can let standards slip in the morning, not here.
One small criticism would be not enough space in bar area of brasserie for post race drinks!
We cannot wait to return again in November.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teazle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words on the hotel. We are very happy you were able to enjoy 5 nights here last year. We appreciate your comments on the bar and are looking at ways to expand so more guests are able to celebrate after a win at the races!
We hope to see you again soon for another fabulous stay.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Planned well in advance and paid in full a good month before date,retirement party of 30 of us for afternoon tea.
Had heard good things about here so we decided to try it.
Very disappointed,poor selection of sandwiches with no notice to say what was what,no option for some one who was allergic to cheese,laid out as a Buffett ,this not as we had seen in pictures,2 people arrived 2 hours late and were given 2 sandwiches and 1 cake each,despite there being loads of people coming in still for afternoon tea and getting the full proper service.
We were in a room that appeared to be a the short cut to another room,public and staff constantly walking though the middle of our room ,we asked for a separate room as it was a retirement do and we had speeches and presentations to do.
Plenty of very nice tea and coffee.
About an hour before we were due to leave our remaining food etc was moved to one side and it was clearly being laid up for another party.
Did write to the manager back in January ,got a standard reply and was told he would look into it to this day I have not heard anything.
Four of my colleagues decided to go again the following week to try again and they said it was excellent,so why was it not for us after all it was £30 per head and was not good value,especially for the 2 that came late.£30 pounds for what amounted to 4 slices of bread one filling and one cake each.
Lovely building and in amazing surroundings.
Please respond.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your response following your afternoon tea here in January. Having checked through all correspondance our team here dealt with a different person who was the organiser. We have repeatedly tried to get in touch with this person, who, to date has not responded to our calls. There was regular communication to establish the requrements on the day. Please do get in touch with us on 01242 545454 as we have not been able to speak to the organiser since the event in January and we have tried repeatedly. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your event here.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I highly recommend Ellenborough Park after a memorable two-night stay in April. What a special and extraordinary hotel this is. From the moment I arrived I felt a sense of calm and wonder, greeted by a stunning stone mansion graced with flowering plants, ancient Cedrus trees and views over lush rolling hills in all directions.

There are many features to recommend. All of the staff I talked to over two days were polished, welcoming and friendly and clearly shared a professional service ethos that you would expect in an upmarket London hotel. A porter gave thoughtful directions on visiting neighbouring towns, staff in the spa were charming, and the restaurant service both nights was polished. The room was plush and well appointed with a modern take on country-style. They have achieved a great balance between smart luxury (e.g., beautiful stone bathrooms and tasteful fabrics) that evoke country styling without being twee.

For those who want a quiet stay, I encourage you to request a room that is not in a designated dog-friendly area. I was initially accommodated in a wing of the hotel beyond the main house where two neighbouring guests had barking dogs. I requested to move later that day as I was hoping to have a restful stay. The front office staff handled this situation very thoughtfully.

Many thanks for providing such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manypixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Is it lovely to hear you found the hotel ‘special and extraordinary’. We always want our guests to have a relaxing stay whilst they are here and we are glad to hear you thought our staff were friendly, rooms well-appointed and the hotel stylish and charming overall.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed in June for a conference and really enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. it really is a home from home, nothing is too much trouble for the friendly hard-working staff.
The hotel is very impressive, the food was excellent, the setting is amazing. The boardroom is the best I have been in, seats about 16-18 people. Private dining in the library for the same amount, flexibility with anything that you require, just ask. I have stayed in most room types and they are all very nice, the upgrades are about £40-£80 per night for deluxe/luxury.

I must congratulate Erika Steward for her attention to detail and excellent work, having organised events for several years, Erika is the best event organiser I have worked with by a country mile!
This was my fifth trip to Ellenborough for various events and I have thoroughly enjoyed every visit.
if you are fortunate to stay for the horse racing, the staff will drive you into the course by range rover, past the helicopter landing area, a great way to enter Cheltenham races, worth the extra cost during race days. Reception will arrange tickets for you too.

a great Place to stay!! Tip: Breakfast in the room, well worth the extra £5 tray charge.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread about the four corners of the hotel so you should be able to get something to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stefanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words on our staff, especially Erika. We are always delighted to receive comments such as yours and are thrilled you have enjoyed our services over the last few years. We strive to have the best business and leisure facilities to suit all our guests and work hard to ensure every guest has a lovely stay.
We hope you are able to stay for another meeting in the future.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

First, don't stay here. Concierge will NOT do anything as implied in their website. You must make ALL your own plans. Laura is the only employee with follow through.
Get off Kemble train station. Cheltenham is a rundown, suburban town that quickly takes you from your expectations of rolling countryside. Stay at the lower slaughter inn. Ideal location to visit around.
ABSOLUTELY a disappointment. Very expensive with very little guest assistance.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annettemiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are naturally very disappointed that your stay wasn't as you would have wanted. All our front of house team work very hard to accommodate all our guests' requirements and on this occasion despite our best efforts and with such short notice we were unable to book you your tour of The Cotswolds, we contacted every tour guide and chauffeur and they were all busy. Thank you for your kind words about Laura.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is in the most fabulous setting over looking the famous Cheltenham racecourse in the distance. On arrival you will be delighted by a rustic old world charming hall with additional wings added to form the hotel. These buildings are clearly new but built to blend well with the main hall. My room was spacious, spotless, and very well appointed. A high quality bed and bedding made for an excellent nights sleep. Bathroom, same quality and attention to detail applies, very well done to the designers!
We dined as a group in the Brasserie which was excellent with lots of choice and variations. The head waiter could not do enough to ensure a smooth operation.
Breakfast was served in the main hall restaurant to a very high standard with the best ingredients served by attentive and polite staff. I wont hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grahame R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am delighted to hear you found our setting fabulous. The view towards Cheltenham Racecourse really is brilliant and we are so lucky to be positioned here. Your kind comments on the rooms, meals and service are lovely to hear. We strive to provide the very best service in the restaurants and use high quality local ingredients wherever possible.
We hope to see you again very soon for another great stay.

Kind regards,
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
492 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
413 reviews
14 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $164 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing