We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent Christmas here, and had an excellent stay. When we arrived on Christmas Eve and sat down to tea I found it immediately relaxing and so it was for the rest of our stay. The staff were friendly, thoughtful and not intrusive, and helped with planning trips out, walking routes and so on. The food was also good and of high quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your review concerning your Christmas stay at Ellenborough Park. We are very pleased that you found your break relaxing and enjoyable. We are also pleased that you were able to explore the countryside and managed to do some walking.
We look forward to seeing you here again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    197
    90
    40
    11
See reviews for
205
704
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Ellenborough Park is an ancient house steeped in history from the 1500's perched on a hill overlooking the Cheltenham racecourse. The main building offers two restaurants with tea and drinks served in The Great Hall, a beautiful room with antique furnishings. A harp, a variety of board games, a roaring fireplace...a very cozy atmosphere. Service overall was over the top with attention given to our every request.

Our room style was a 'traditional' room in a newer brick building behind the original...the building itself was bland but the accommodations were wonderful. Oversized bath with all of the amenities. The bed and linens were top-shelf and lighting was nice.

We had breakfast twice in the Beaufort Room, a beautiful dining room, with superb offerings. A buffet with choice of bread, fruit juices, cheese & meats, cereals and delicious poached fruits. The main course did not disappoint a traditional English breakfast complete with a fried toast 'soldier' for dipping into the egg yolks. Eggs royal were benedict style with salmon and you could also order scrambled eggs with salmon. The only negative comment is regarding the menu of The Brasserie...I would say it was not up to snuff to a place of this stature...a real disappointment.

Overall it got two thumbs up and it is a great location to use as a base for seeing the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chichicastenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your review concerning your stay here while touring the Cotswolds. We are delighted that you particularly enjoyed your meals while here and that your bedroom proved to be most comfortable, We look forward to seeing you here again when you next tour the area.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had intended just to have Sunday lunch here with our daughter bent as she was unwell and couldn't join us we decided to take their Sunday special package & stay overnight. The food & accommodation were excellent . A good choice on the menu both in the main dining room & Brasserie which we tried . Little things like fresh milk in the room for coffee, really thick towels, embroidered hair dryer bag, spotless bathroom , board games & selection of postcards in hall and umbrellas at each door were all really appreciated. As was the bottle of mineral water & tin of mints in the car when we drove away. I really like to have value for money & a great experience wether in a cafe or 5 * hotel. The Ellenborough park ticked all the boxes and more. We'll defiantly be going back as we didn't have time to try the spa!

Room Tip: We just had a basic room with sweet upstairs bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Ellenborough Park, were very pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay despite your daughter being unwell. thank you for all your comments regarding the quality of food and service during your break
We hope you can return again soon and that your daughter will enjoy her experience next time.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I booked this hotel after doing lots of research (admittedly on trip advisor - which therein probably lies my mistake) and was looking for a real weekend spoil yourself treat. Unfortunately through no real reason other than general blah the weekend did not live up to expectations.

I will start at the beginning... We are die hard cornwall fans and thought, for a change, we would give Cotswolds a whirl. It was a real toss up between our beloved watergate bay hotel and this one. I went for EP as it looked beautiful and really opulent / romantic etc. I also wanted a retreat type hotel where we could lounge, indulge in wine / afternoon tea, explore grounds and enjoy the onsite restaurants (we have a small baby who came along for the ride!).

Driving through Cheltenham town centre left a lot to be desired. I got a sinking feeling as we were approaching the hotel. It really was in full view of a local housing estate, very near to petrol stations etc. Not the picturesque setting I had expected.

Undeniably the hotel itself, with its sweeping driveway, looked beautiful. I had expected the grounds to be much bigger and more impressive looking (more along the lines of the slaughter manor). Anyway, we arrived and had a delightful welcome, valet parking etc. staff were undoubtedly very nice.

We had a tour of the hotel and, again, I was disappointed. There was only one communal lounge area and you could hear a pin drop - no privacy and very very stuffy. I expected a few more places to relax and unwind. It was not good.

The food was expensive and nothing to write home about. The breakfast was a bit tasteless. The best thing about the hotel was the service in the fine dining restaurant which was very good. However the dinner was more style over substance - certainly not five star dining.

The rooms were nice. Old English in style. The hotel organised a babysitter for us for one night and I have to say she was lovely.

Overall I would say the hotel is a four star and food three star. Its not a destination hotel. i suspect it gets by due to the suspiciously good reviews on trip advisor, its proximity to the races and business clientele. Interestingly, we met a rather charming local gent in the communal lounge area and got chatting to him. He explained that he really liked the hotel 'even though my friends think its not even up to a third star' rate. I would wholeheartedly agree.

I thought the staff and service was excellent though - with the small exception that some of the staff they had in the lounge were very young and untrained. We were met with blank faces when ordering certain wines and I noticed this a few times with other patrons.

All in all we paid 450 for food and a few bottles on wine plus the 300 for the Cheapest room for two nights. I can think of much better ways to spend the best part of 800! It's just not luxury.

I note that there are only a few reviews on here which give a below par rating and I'm genuinely a bit shocked.

Room Tip: Request a room the main house, not the garden chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Camilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Ellenborough Park. We are very disappointed that your stay was not as you had hoped for. We work very hard to ensure our guests have the best experience and so I'm sorry you have not enjoyed yourselves on this occasion.
Should you choose to try Ellenborough Park again we shall look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here on the lazy Sunday Cotswold package in January, relaxing, quiet weekend was needed with good food and good surroundings and am pleased to say all boxes were ticked! Beautiful building with lovely interiors near to Cleve hill which is popular for walking as well as nearby towns winchcombe and broadway definitely worth a visit. Service and food were great, room fab, spacious and wanted to take home both the large comfiest bed ever and the roll top bath :-)! Great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here, we are delighted that everything was as you would have hoped and that you were able to relax, enjoy your surroundings and enjoy your Lazy Cotswold stay. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

By far the best place to stay in Cheltenham- I loved every minute. It was expensive compared to other places but you certainly get what you pay for. Friendly staff, excellent food and extremely welcoming

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your review concerning your stay at Ellenborough Park. We are delighted that you considered your stay to be the best in Cheltenham and that your found our staff friendly, our food good and everyone very welcoming.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
247 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked the New Year's Eve package with a two nights' stay, and it was memorable.
Our room was beautiful and huge, and so was the bathroom. The personnel was really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There were very comfortable public salons, and the scones - a choice of four different flavours - were the best I had ever had in my extensive English afternoon tea experience. By far.
New Year's Eve Dinner started with a splendid Champagne reception. Dinner was served at common tables. We shared ours with three couples unbeknownst to each other. And we had a wonderful and merry time! Dancing was a highlight of its own. A singer with her band. At midnight we enjoyed fireworks an a hot toddy.
On New Year's day, we were taken to the nearby Cheltenham Racecourse. Though the weather was ghastly, we had a good time.
All in all, an extraordinary, splendid festivity break!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review regarding your stay here for New Year. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience on this special night and that despite the New Years Day weather you were able to have so much fun at the Races.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon and here's to a very Happy 2014.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing