We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding.”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was a pleasure to visit with this hotel. The Spa facility is of 5 star quality. The staff are exceptional. The Brasserie offered a great selection of menu options. The champagne was delightful. Thank you for a wonderful stay and most of all your professional manner.

Room Tip: Take a early morning swim in the out door heated pool.....just perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honei06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your 'Outstanding' review, we are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We hope to see you here again soon to enjoy everything that the Hotel has to offer.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at Ellenborough Park for my wife's 30th birthday and absolutely loved it. On arrival they upgraded us to a bigger room which was lovely and spacious and over looked the pool. The main house has lots of character and a really cosy feeling. The Great Hall is beautiful and great for afternoon tea in front of the fire with the newspapers. The staff are really attentive and really looked after us. Breakfast is great in the main dining room which is beautiful with original wood panelling around the walls. The Bistro does superb food and is really cosy and diner in the main dinning room was lovely. It is well worth a trip as your in a great location but it is also a great hotel to just stay at and chill out. I would love to get back but looks like I'm gonna have to wait till she's 40!!!

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and not sure what other rooms are like. The tower rooms might be worth booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your wife's 30th Birthday stay. We are delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your time so fully and that you were able to enjoy your dining experiences in The Beaufort and The Brasserie, as well as Afternoon Tea in the Great Hall while reading the newspapers. Please do not wait until your wife is 40 we would love to see you here before that!
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We originally planned to go around Cotswold area, visiting a total of four towns within two days, and making Ellenborough Park our headquarters. However, upon arriving at the estate coming from Oxford, we fell in love with the place and decided to stay at the hotel for the remaining day and a half, skipping the rest of our planned itinerary.
We rate this experience 5 stars for the ambience and relaxing atmosphere. And we haven't even tried their spa services! The facilities were excellent, staff friendly and helpful, and the views were simply stunning. I love the quality of the bath, really high class.
Absolutely perfect for a romantic getaway. Pricey, yes, but not overly so for a 5 star luxury hotel. A small, basic hotel room in central London will be as expensive.
We can't really rate the food as we only had breakfast that comes with the room, a traditional Cotswold English breakfast. Eggs benedict were cooked to a perfection. It was really good and filling. The black pudding was a novelty for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJChiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your 'enchanting stay', we are delighted that we have made your break as good as possible. I am pleased that you enjoyed the ambience the relaxing atmosphere and that you enjoyed the views and staff. Next time you visit the Cotswolds please visit the Spa and try both The Beaufort and The Brasserie.
We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of days at this hotel and could easily have stayed for longer if time allowed.

The hotel itself is magnificent and expertly run. We stayed in the main house which has great history and is packed full of character but with all mod cons. We ate in both restaurants and can honestly say the food in both was superb. All the staff were helpful and totally professional but I would like to pay a particularly huge thanks to Eduardo, the house manager who did his utmost to make our dining experience the best we have had for a long while. We had not pre-booked on one evening and found the restaurant full to capacity but this did not deter Eduardo. We really didn't want to go out for dinner and he tried every which way to find us a table. Failing this he personally set up a special table for us on the minstrel's gallery over the main hall and served us himself. It ended up as a great place to eat and we felt really special (maybe they could consider this option in future if the restaurants are full?). Thanks Eduardo.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend the Ellenborough without hesitation to anyone wanting a 5 star characterful hotel with 5 star service in a delightful setting in beautiful grounds with 2 really excellent restaurants. It's not a cheap option but then quality rarely is, so spoil yourself!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ITSMEAGAINSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your high praise of Ellenborough Park and all the teams working here.
And thank you for your particular mention of Eduardo I am delighted that he was able to help you fully enjoy your dining experience here. We will certainly consider the Minstrels Gallery option again.
We look forward to see you here again when we hope to replicate your experience.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a short but superb 2 night stay at this iconic hotel.

The defining feature of this hotel is that at every level or test, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

The generously apportioned luxury room with heated floors, dream bedding , quality bathroom amenities could not disappoint the most fastidious guest.

The breakfast experience was simply a fine dining experience - unhurried although prompt with exceptional service and food.

A pleasant surprise was the lack of "extras' with parking, wifi, coffee/tea, fresh milk, cookies all included.

To add balance, I would like to have included a negative observation but that would be dishonest as the hotel simply scored perfectly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for defining our hotel as iconic, we feel very flattered. We are also pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here. As an experienced traveller we are very honoured to see that you were unable to find a negative. Next time you are in the Cotswolds we look forward to seeing you here.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing staff, amazing place, amazing food. I can't wait to come again! It was so beautiful and relaxing. Perfect as a romantic getaway. We dinned in the brasserie in the evening which was just perfect. The wines and food were delightful. We enjoyed chatting to the manager and nothing was too much trouble. There was a wedding going on but you barely noticed as they treated you like royalty and kept the wedding party contained. The attention to detail was what made it so special. I love the boot room!!!

We ate in the formal dining room for Sunday lunch and breakfast. Again, wonderful.

I spent the whole weekend eating their delicious fresh homemade treats. Afternoon tea is a must.

I have told everyone how impressed I was. I travel a lot but this is one of the best places I have been to. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank qualitycomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments we are delighted you enjoyed your romantic time here. We are also pleased that you enjoyed all your meals, and enjoyed various treats throughout your stay. Thank you for telling your friends we look forward to seeing them here too!
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Make no mistake - this is a beautiful hotel, comfortable, well-equipped and serving delightful food & drink. But sadly we saw that some of the clientele behave badly, as if they are somehow superior to everyone else, arrogant & intolerant. The way they spoke to the hotel staff was despicable, behaving as if the staff were their servants. Sadly, it appears as if the staff are trained to accept and indeed expect this. It means that staff behave in a very subservient way to all guests and, whilst very polite, do not engage with the guests in more relaxed & balanced conversations. As a result, the atmosphere in the hotel is neither relaxed nor informal. I suspect that such behaviours may have been typical in a large country house several centuries ago (or in the caricature of last century that Downton Abbey appears to be). But not today, surely? Perhaps the hotel management should revisit the style and service that it is seeking to achieve and the guests that it is seeking to attract - relaxed customer service rather than rigid customer servility, perhaps?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your interesting comments regarding the service at Ellenborough Park. We are dispappointed that you consider the style of service unacceptable in this day and age.
We work very hard to ensure our guests have the very best experiences and it is always our intention to ensure they enjoy relaxed customer service. We will certainly review this.
Should you consider coming to Ellenborough Park again we will make you most welcome.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
456 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
60 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $206 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing