We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful luxurious weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful luxurious weekend”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful celebratory weekend for our 40th Wedding anniversary with our grown children and their partners. The Hotel is beautiful, the service perfect without being snooty, and the facilities excellent. We even managed to swim in the outdoor pool. The facilities are excellent. The spa was very relaxing, the gym facilities excellent and the food was terrific at every meal but the 3 rosette restaurant on the Saturday was especially excellent!
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We all had Classic rooms and they all were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary. We are delighted that your celebratory weekend was so enjoyable for you and your family.
We look forward to seeing you all here again to sample all the facilities as you seemed to enjoy these so much. Chef and the kitchen team that you enjoyed your Saturday night celebration meal in the Beaufort Dining room.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    191
    88
    39
    10
See reviews for
201
693
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I took my wife to Ellenborough Park for one night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we were spoiled. As we parked outside the main entrance, the porters unloaded our luggage from the car and parked the car for us.

Whilst eating our three-course Sunday lunch in the Beaufort Dining Room which was excellent in quality and appearance, our luggage was taken to our room. The service during lunch was courteous and efficient.

Our room was a 'Classic Room'. It was spacious with a huge comfortable bed with great views over the gardens. Our room was 'turned down' whilst we were at dinner which was very pleasant to come back to. Dinner in the Brasserie was excellent quality and again, very well presented.

The outdoor swimming pool was inviting but due to the weather, we decided against it, however, a toe in the water revealed a warming temperature. The spa is located on the other side of the hotel and consists of a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Unfortunately the steam room was out of order during our visit but the spa in appearance was very clean and modern. It was a very relaxing environment. My wife had a 55 minute facial treatment during our stay which was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Breakfast was served in the Beaufort Dining room. There was a selection of pastries, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts and from the menu guests can choose a cooked breakfast, kippers, boiled eggs and lots more. The quality was excellent and most enjoyable. Again, the staff were very courteous and efficient.

We also stayed for Afternoon Tea which was served in the Great Hall. This room is simply stunning, a joy to relax in. Afternoon tea was very enjoyable, both the sandwiches and cakes were delicious. If I had one complaint, it would be this - we asked for an additional sandwich which we were billed over £8.00 for. The waitress did not inform us it would be an additional cost and we were quite surprised at the addition to the bill! However, we did not let this ruin our experience.

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and a pleasure to stay at. The staff were all well presented, polite and courteous, the food was excellent in both taste and appearance and the hotel and surroundings are eye-catching. We would definitely recommend Ellenborough Park.

Room Tip: Request a room over the front garden for great views of the gardens and race-course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Congratulations on your first anniversary, we hope you enjoy many more. We are delighted that you enjoyed Sunday lunch in the Beaufort Dining room and that you tried the outdoor pool. The pool temperature is between 28 and 30 degrees centigrade and is very warm year round so despite our challenging English weather the pool can be a very enjoyable experience. We are sorry that you were not informed of the price of the sandwich prior to ordering and are pleased that this did not ruin your experience.
Have a happy year ahead and look forward to seeing you for your second anniversary if not before.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I fell in love with Ellenborough Park when we were searching for our ideal wedding venue. With its own Chapel onsite and every possible requirement catered for with absolute professionalism, it made our dream day come true. All staff were impeccable including the porters, reception staff and the specialist "Boot Room" talk we received when collecting our walking gear. A special mention has to go to Louise Birchfield the venues wedding co-ordinator who set up are day with ease, a credit to the Hotel. Howard the wedding toastmaster was also fantastic who also needs a special mention. The rooms are wonderful and grounds very well presented and looked after, even the herb garden had its own section. We will come back again and again, and hope to see familiar faces. Thank you Ellenborough.

Room Tip: Room 19 looks out over the font and the racecourse, very nice room. 33 Looks out over the pool at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are delighted that your special day was perfect here and that you particularly liked Ellenborough Gallery and found everyone including porters, reception, Louise and Howard a credit to the hotel.
Following this very special event in your lives we look forward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a short break and found the hotel to be really excellent in terms of its location, the beautiful grounds, the buildings, facilities and public areas and also the room that we booked. All excellent.

The staff were also very friendly and professional and everything around check-in all worked flawlessly.

The only area where the hotel falls down a little is in the restaurant.

There are two restaurants - one night we ate in the brasserie which is more like a high-end pub and we found it to be really good. The food was great, the service very good, nothing at all to fault.

The second restaurant is 'fine dining' which slightly missed the mark for us in terms of its service seeming to vary a bit too much.

On our first night, we sat at our table and we were served within around 5 minutes of sitting. Everything went well from there and we had a nice dinner.

On our second night, we sat at our table and nothing other than bread showed up for around 45 minutes when, without explanation, a lot of food seemed to come from the kitchen. This meant that diners who arrived after us ending up eating before us and our meal ended up finishing pretty late.

Breakfast was similar - one day ran flawlessly but the other day (when it was busier) the staff seemed to be struggling more and we had to ask quite a few times before we managed to get a pot of tea.

Overall, this is a nice place to stay and the small problems with the restaurant service wouldn't stop me staying again or recommending it but it'd be nice to see the restaurant service sharpened up a little to match the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and the brasserie. And are disappointed that your experience in The Beaufort Dining was not up to our usual standards. We will investigate these and hopefully the next time you stay you will enjoy a flawless stay.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and the place was so beautiful. What can best be described as a very old hotel in gorgeous surroundings but with a modern interior. The staff were extremely helpful and will do anything for you. Would definitely love to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay here for a wedding. We are pleased that you found the hotel gorgeous with its mix of old and new and the that the teams were very helpful.
We look forward to seeing you here in the future.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We wanted a quiet traditional English afternoon tea to meet up with some friends and we were so glad that we chose Ellenborough Park. It was perfect.

The venue is very scenic affording great views towards the racecourse. We enjoyed walking around the manicured grounds before taking tea in the Grand Hall which is beautifully decorated. Everywhere, inside and out, is so stunningly clean.

The choices of teas were plentiful; sandwiches, scones and pastries were all perfectly fresh and delicious of course! The whole ambience including the sumptuous soft furnishings add to the feeling of a relaxed lazy Sunday afternoon enjoying tea.

Service from all the immaculately dressed staff was attentive without being over-bearing and pitched wholly appropriately for the glamorous surroundings. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Certainly highly recommended for that special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review on your 'Perfect English Afternoon Tea'.
We are delighted that everything was to your complete satisfaction and that everyone enjoyed their experience. We look forward to welcoming you all back for your next special occasion.

Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was perfect from beginning to end. We were a little daunted when we pulled up at the front in our VW Golf and the two cars in front of us were Aston Martin Vantages, however the valet parking staff never batted an eyelid and took our keys and carried our bags with a big cheery smile. The hotel itself is beautiful, but what sets this hotel apart is the staff, from the front desk staff to the gardeners, everyone one was lovely, they always had a smile on their face and took the time to say hello, and ask about your day or your plans. We had a luxury room by the pool with a little private terrace, there is a side entrance from the hotel to the pool and if you use this entrance it is only a few steps to your room, (but down a few steps and I can't remember seeing any disable access that way, so check it out.) Our room (20) was large with free standing roll top bath and a fantastic shower in the bathroom. However, As the weather was fantastic I did get to use the pool and the very comfy loungers. The pool isn't massive but big enough to cool off. The spa is small but we used it on two separate occasions and there was only one other couple in there each time so there was plenty of room. We both had treatments, and although there weren't cheap they were both great. We ate in both the fine dining and the Bistro, and both were lovely, the bistro is more casual, but the fine dining wasn't stuffy in any way, we still had a laugh with the staff and the cheese trolley was a sight to behold! The bar was comfortable and again staff were fantastic, very friendly and made you feel welcome. Our 3 days were fantastic, there was only one slight gripe and that was the Wi-Fi connection, which was poor or non existent as was the telephone signal, which can be irritating. The only other point was the in the hotel details it says that if you want to leave a tip for the staff, you can get an envelope from reception on check out and the tips are shared. We thought this was a great idea, so didn't tip during our stay, I asked for the envelope one check out, but they didn't seem to understand what I wanted and they gave me an ordinary window envelope and I didn't feel confident that it would get back to the staff as intended, it maybe better to tip as you go. The final lovely touch was went the valet parkers brought our car back they left a tin of mints and a note saying "we hope you enjoyed your stay". Overall we loved this hotel and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are close to side entrance of the hotel. I'm not sure you need to upgrade to the luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise195556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and especially your comments regarding the teams here.
Its is disappointing to read about your concerns with theWi-fi and phone and we are currently reviewing these. Regarding tips please rest assured that the envelope contents would be shared with all the right people.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
738 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
999 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
29 reviews
20.6 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing