We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding!”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My daughter's wedding reception was held at Ellenborough Park in early June and we all had the most wonderful day! The weather was perfect and so was the service and the general atmosphere amidst the really beautiful surroundings of the hotel. In all the dealings with the hotel beforehand we had been struck by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff and this continued in all aspects of the day from the attentive serving of the arrival drinks through the excellent wedding meal, the evening hog roast and right up to the late night bar service.
Our guests were impressed with everything and those that stayed at the hotel, including ourselves, thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious rooms with so-soft pillows and comfy beds and every facility you could wish for. Breakfast was a real feast of good things to choose from.
A real piece of specialness on a very special occasion that will be in our minds for a very long time and a superb start to my daughter and son -in law's married life.
Thank you, Ellenborough!

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard lawn are excellent, especially the ones that have their own little ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Firstly, we would to offer our Congratulations to your daughter and son-in-law and hope they have a long and happy married life.
We are delighted that everything went to plan on their special day and that you were all blessed with such beautiful weather.
We look forward to seeing you all here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    203
    94
    42
    15
See reviews for
218
731
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My parents, husband, daughter and I had a fabulous Sunday lunch in the Beaufort Restaurant - absolutely superb food, beautifully presented and served by first class staff. This is a luxurious first class hotel in a fantastic location and all the public rooms are gorgeous. We have stayed at and eaten in many amazing hotels all over the world but this truly has a wow factor - and we are not easily impressed. The staff are very attentive and provide excellent service - the very best kind of service which attends to your every need without being obtrusive or showy. There is a wonderful atmosphere and ambience here which appeals to all ages. All the staff are very pleasant, polite and really well trained. I love it here! It has everything a hotel and restaurant should have. We have also previously eaten in the Brasserie and always had an excellent meal there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for voting our hotel as 'your new favourite place' we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience here including the teams, the meals and the rooms.
We are also pleased that you like the atmosphere of the hotel.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel, which easily justifies the high prices. Highlights, in no particular order:
Attention to detail - everything has been well thought out and executed.
The staff - all of whom are helpful and friendly.
The boot room - what a good idea! Makes it feel like Gosford Park but without the muder and adultery.
The tea - to emphasise the point, it's attention to detail. The tea's great.

We were here for a couple of days and had thought we would do day trips out, but in the end didn't bother - just enjoyed ourselves here instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhySoGlumChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments we do appreciate these, and that you feel we offer excellent attention to detail we do try to in all areas of the hotel. I am also pleased that you were able to use the Boot room and escape with your lives with no Murder or adultry in sight.
We are also glad you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves here.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Perfectly judged, warm and cheerful service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Reception is well managed and the check in process is very professional. Rooms are very hgh quality, with supremely comfortable beds and a great bathroom - we stayed in the old part of the building, there is a much newer wing too. The weather wasn't quite suited to a splash about in the outdoor pool but the environment is beautiful and can well imagine what it must be like with some help from the British sunshine. The spa is as pictured on the website, not very big but it was very quiet and extremely relaxing. Bar and restaurant staff were perfectly attentive and breakfast was delicious. Worth also mentioning that this is about 10 minutes in a taxi to Cheltenham town centre and Cleeve Hill also offers magnificent views across the racecourse towards the Malvern Hills. I want to go back this weekend, it was that good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0rl0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive comments regarding the service, your room, The Spa, your meals, the view. We are disappointed that you did not have the weather that might have persuaded you to go swimming. We are sorry that you are not here this weekend! However, we look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards

John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My brother and I wanted to take or mother out for a special birthday treat and Ellenborough Park was an obvious choice for afternoon tea. With views overlooking Cheltenham Racecourse and surrounded by countryside it is a beautiful venue. We had a full afternoon tea which came with freshly cut sandwiches, various flavoured scones and delicious cakes. We were also offered a large selection of teas to sample and champagne was also available (at an extra cost). The staff were very attentive and pleasant without being overbearing and made sure we had a memorable visit. Thank you all, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are very pleased that you, your brother and most importantly, your mother had such an enjoyable Afternoon Tea here. everything is freshly made for our guests so it is always pleasing to know that you enjoyed your experience. We are delighted that you plan to return and we shall look forward to making you welcome once more.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had one saturday night here with our 2 teenage daughters and my mother in law to mark her 85 birthday.It was a huge success.We had 3 rooms in the wing by the outdoor pool.The rooms are spacious,beds and pillows so comfortable.They are not hermetically sealed so you can open the window for fresh air.There is a proper kettle and they thoughtfully supply you with a small bottle of fresh milk in the fridge.There is a huge bath and walk in shower,plenty of hot water and a good flow of water even for the bath plus penhaligan products.The gym is very well equipped.I went to the spa with my 19 year old daughter after 6pm as before then it was too busy.We had the sauna to ourselves as well as the steam room and jacuzzi.
The food was superb in the Beaufort dining room- a beautiful old room with evening sunlight coming through and they sensibly have round tables.What sets this place apart is the marvellous friendly service- there is no stiffness,its all smiles.You feel so welcome and they want you to enjoy yourself.The lady sommelier was brilliant and suggested some delectable Californian wine.
Breakfast was a feast too.
There is even a boot room where you can borrow dubarry boots and coats for walking.
It is expensive but you will not be disappointed.My ma in law loved it as did we- memorable

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are delighted that you all had such a memorable stay to celebrate your mother-in-law's 85th Birthday and especially pleased that she enjoyed herself so fully.
We are also very pleased to hear from you that you enjoyed the food in the Beaufort Dining room and that you found our teams 'all smiles'.
We look forward very much to seeing you all again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Ellenborough in April for three nights. The hotel and service was superb as you would expect from a hotel of this standard. We arrived to a very friendly receptionist and then moved into the hall for afternoon tea, not cheap I know at £20 each but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was beautiful and the Penhaligans smellies a perfect touch. We went to the races thanks to the courtesy lift to the course. My husband went the next day while I went to the spa. Again not cheap but the facial I had was well worth it and I would have another. The food in the Brasserie was lovely with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I can't find a bad word to say about Ellenborough and we are visiting again in December. Look for the offers and treat yourself to a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your three nights here at Ellenborough Park. And we are pleased that you found our teams helpful and cheerful. Cheltenham is great fun during the Races so we are pleased that you were able to come at this time to visit the Racecourse. We look forward to seeing you here again in December. In the meantime have an enjoyable summer.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
795 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing