We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect end to our honeymoon”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Ellenborough in April for three nights. The hotel and service was superb as you would expect from a hotel of this standard. We arrived to a very friendly receptionist and then moved into the hall for afternoon tea, not cheap I know at £20 each but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was beautiful and the Penhaligans smellies a perfect touch. We went to the races thanks to the courtesy lift to the course. My husband went the next day while I went to the spa. Again not cheap but the facial I had was well worth it and I would have another. The food in the Brasserie was lovely with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I can't find a bad word to say about Ellenborough and we are visiting again in December. Look for the offers and treat yourself to a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your three nights here at Ellenborough Park. And we are pleased that you found our teams helpful and cheerful. Cheltenham is great fun during the Races so we are pleased that you were able to come at this time to visit the Racecourse. We look forward to seeing you here again in December. In the meantime have an enjoyable summer.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a three night stay at Ellenborough Park and really enjoyed it. This is a lovely hotel with great service, the rooms are very comfortable and the staff are incredibly attentive. We enjoyed using the spa and the breakfast is brilliant; the hotel has two very nice restaurants.

The hotel is fairly isolated, you have to drive if you want to dine outside of the hotel, but generally is well located for exploring the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: We had a traditional room in the newer part of the hotel - if you want to stay in the original build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your three night stay here. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. And interesting to note that you found the hotel slightly isolated.
It is ideal for car drivers who have the freedom to explore the Cotswolds at their leisure.
Next time you come try and make it for one of the world famous Cheltenham Festivals, these provide a completely different experience and as the hotel is located just ten minutes from the town centre the festivals are easy to get to.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a weekend away from our flat in London. We traveled to the Cotswolds and checked into the elegant Ellenborough Park. We were greatly warmly and shown to a beautiful room overlooking the countryside. I could instantly feel the tension in my body fade away. The room was immaculate, tastefully decorated and beyond comfortable. We loved the bed so much that we opted for breakfast in bed the first morning. It was a brilliant decision!

The level of service was impressive. We ate dinner both nights in the Brasserie and had pre dinner drinks in the lovely living room. The manager of the Brasserie, Antonio, was personable, knowledgable, and attentive. We truly enjoyed him and were grateful for how he made our dining experience to be first class both evenings.

On Sunday I indulged in a prenatal massage. The spa was beautiful and I loved that they have a relaxation room with tea and fruit for post massage bliss.

As a travel consultant, I will gladly recommend Ellenborough Park to my clients and I intend to return myself someday soon as well.

Room Tip: Room 58 is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purposeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you were able to come out of London to the Cotswolds and have some pre baby relaxation and pampering. Antonio will be deligted to have his name highighted for his knowledge and attentiveness. And he will be very pleased that he truly enhanced your overall experience here.
We look forward to hearing your good news in due course and to welcomoning you back for another escape.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL523NJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What can be said that others have not already..... visited for one night on a last minute booking, fab venue in a lovely area, opted for a basic room which again was great, the staff are lovely and happy to help, if you fancy a walk visit the "boot room" and take your pick. We ate in the Brasserie, very good food for a reasonanable price. The wife happily spent several hours in the spa, again last minute booking and they managed to find her space. all in all recommended, we spent about £400 for the room, food and spa, yes it is alot but for the quality of the hotel...... simply great - go and enjoy :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaufontboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that you enjoyed everything that the hotel offered including the food, the Boot room and the Spa.
Next time come and stay two nights and dine in the Beaufort Dining room.
We look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What can I say? This was a memorable stay and made even more special by my partner proposing to me!! The staff couldn't do more to be helpful, thoughtful,polite and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. We had bought some plants from a nearby nursery and needed an area to keep them cool and watered. This was no problem, and they even offered to carry them from our car to the area for our plants.
It is a pricey place, HOWEVER, the price tag means that nothing is too much trouble, the food is wonderful (canapes alongside our evening drinks) and all staff were trained to make sure all your needs are looked after. They even rustled up a vase for my dozen red roses and an ice bucket and flutes for our pink champagne in our room! Outstanding all round! Thank you Ellenborough Park for a wonderful and memorable stay! We loved it!

Room Tip: Even if you go for the cheapest classic room, everything is fantastic and the en suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate38_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Firstly, we would like to offer you and your partner our congratulations. We are delighted that Ellenborough Park was chosen for your proposal. We are also very pleased that you had such a memorable stay and the teams did everything they could to make you both feel special.
We hope you have a very happy future together and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just completed our 4-day visit to the charming Cotswolds and, in large part because of reviews on TripAdvisor, stayed at the Ellenborough Park Hotel. What a wise and great decision that was. The hotel, restaurant and spa all are truly of 5-Star quality and an indulgent delight.

The photos of the hotel, despite their drama and magnificence, actually do not do justice to how truly grand and imposing the structure and grounds are. It was fun simply to stand outside and gaze at the building. Inside was equally impressive -- not only the baronial public rooms but also our Luxury Double. It was furnished tastefully and opulently. The bathroom, with its powerful and huge shower and massive bathtub, was precisely what one now expects at the top luxury hotel -- in the same league as London's Dorchester or Hong Kong's Peninsula. Service did not disappoint. Everyone as smiles and eager to accommodate, without being sappy about it. And when we had minor problems, they were solved immediately.

The only demerit we can give the hotel, and this it shares (strangely) with some other luxury hotels, is that the room, as big as it was, offered very little drawer space. The closets were adequate, but there were few drawers in which travelers, especially a couple, could store things that are not usually hung in a closet - such as underwear, sweaters, sox and so forth. I at times feel that those who design these rooms never actually use them.

The hotel's restaurants match the quality and tone of the rest of the hotel. Whether we dined in the somewhat casual Brasserie and Bar or in the more formal dining room, food and service were terrific. The greatest surprise was the food. The hotel boasts of its creative chef -- and rightly so. We had expected, being in the Cotswolds, that food would be little changed from that of the late Middle Ages -- with lamb and mutton and such dominating the tables. We were very wrong. Every meal was a treat, including breakfasts with its good buffet and even better menu.

Bottom line: We decided that Ellenborough Hotel is not merely the best place to stay in the Cotswolds. We decided that it, in itself, is a destination and worthy the sort excursion from London for a day or two of relaxation. We plan o return ssoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review we really do appreciate it when guests take the time and trouble to make comments. Thank you particularly for your comments with regards to the drawer space. It is something we are looking at with great urgency. I am pleased, and also relieved that you believe the food has moved on from the middle ages and although we serve lamb and occasionally mutton there is a wide choice of modern British food in both restaurants.
We look forward very much to seeing you again on your next excursion from London to the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, the experience can only be described as first class.
We would put Ellenborough in our top ten worldwide hotel experiences.
A fantastic room in the main building lacked a bath. Within ten minutes we were relocated to Room 20 and as the previous reviewer comments, "perfectly appointed".
Good hotels are about great accommodation and great food. What helps set Ellenborough apart is its fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Want something with history, book the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review, we are honoured that you consider your stay to be in your Top10 worldwide experiences. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your room by the pool.
Thank you, too, for your kind comments about the team at Ellenborough Park we appreciate these.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
454 reviews
2.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
58 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $208 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing