We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - highly recommended !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - highly recommended !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

What can be said that others have not already..... visited for one night on a last minute booking, fab venue in a lovely area, opted for a basic room which again was great, the staff are lovely and happy to help, if you fancy a walk visit the "boot room" and take your pick. We ate in the Brasserie, very good food for a reasonanable price. The wife happily spent several hours in the spa, again last minute booking and they managed to find her space. all in all recommended, we spent about £400 for the room, food and spa, yes it is alot but for the quality of the hotel...... simply great - go and enjoy :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaufontboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that you enjoyed everything that the hotel offered including the food, the Boot room and the Spa.
Next time come and stay two nights and dine in the Beaufort Dining room.
We look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    192
    89
    39
    10
See reviews for
203
696
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

What can I say? This was a memorable stay and made even more special by my partner proposing to me!! The staff couldn't do more to be helpful, thoughtful,polite and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. We had bought some plants from a nearby nursery and needed an area to keep them cool and watered. This was no problem, and they even offered to carry them from our car to the area for our plants.
It is a pricey place, HOWEVER, the price tag means that nothing is too much trouble, the food is wonderful (canapes alongside our evening drinks) and all staff were trained to make sure all your needs are looked after. They even rustled up a vase for my dozen red roses and an ice bucket and flutes for our pink champagne in our room! Outstanding all round! Thank you Ellenborough Park for a wonderful and memorable stay! We loved it!

Room Tip: Even if you go for the cheapest classic room, everything is fantastic and the en suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate38_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Firstly, we would like to offer you and your partner our congratulations. We are delighted that Ellenborough Park was chosen for your proposal. We are also very pleased that you had such a memorable stay and the teams did everything they could to make you both feel special.
We hope you have a very happy future together and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just completed our 4-day visit to the charming Cotswolds and, in large part because of reviews on TripAdvisor, stayed at the Ellenborough Park Hotel. What a wise and great decision that was. The hotel, restaurant and spa all are truly of 5-Star quality and an indulgent delight.

The photos of the hotel, despite their drama and magnificence, actually do not do justice to how truly grand and imposing the structure and grounds are. It was fun simply to stand outside and gaze at the building. Inside was equally impressive -- not only the baronial public rooms but also our Luxury Double. It was furnished tastefully and opulently. The bathroom, with its powerful and huge shower and massive bathtub, was precisely what one now expects at the top luxury hotel -- in the same league as London's Dorchester or Hong Kong's Peninsula. Service did not disappoint. Everyone as smiles and eager to accommodate, without being sappy about it. And when we had minor problems, they were solved immediately.

The only demerit we can give the hotel, and this it shares (strangely) with some other luxury hotels, is that the room, as big as it was, offered very little drawer space. The closets were adequate, but there were few drawers in which travelers, especially a couple, could store things that are not usually hung in a closet - such as underwear, sweaters, sox and so forth. I at times feel that those who design these rooms never actually use them.

The hotel's restaurants match the quality and tone of the rest of the hotel. Whether we dined in the somewhat casual Brasserie and Bar or in the more formal dining room, food and service were terrific. The greatest surprise was the food. The hotel boasts of its creative chef -- and rightly so. We had expected, being in the Cotswolds, that food would be little changed from that of the late Middle Ages -- with lamb and mutton and such dominating the tables. We were very wrong. Every meal was a treat, including breakfasts with its good buffet and even better menu.

Bottom line: We decided that Ellenborough Hotel is not merely the best place to stay in the Cotswolds. We decided that it, in itself, is a destination and worthy the sort excursion from London for a day or two of relaxation. We plan o return ssoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review we really do appreciate it when guests take the time and trouble to make comments. Thank you particularly for your comments with regards to the drawer space. It is something we are looking at with great urgency. I am pleased, and also relieved that you believe the food has moved on from the middle ages and although we serve lamb and occasionally mutton there is a wide choice of modern British food in both restaurants.
We look forward very much to seeing you again on your next excursion from London to the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, the experience can only be described as first class.
We would put Ellenborough in our top ten worldwide hotel experiences.
A fantastic room in the main building lacked a bath. Within ten minutes we were relocated to Room 20 and as the previous reviewer comments, "perfectly appointed".
Good hotels are about great accommodation and great food. What helps set Ellenborough apart is its fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Want something with history, book the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review, we are honoured that you consider your stay to be in your Top10 worldwide experiences. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your room by the pool.
Thank you, too, for your kind comments about the team at Ellenborough Park we appreciate these.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ellenborough Park is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location. It has been renovated to a very high standard and clearly has benefitted from considerable investment. It is just off a very busy B road and I would imagine rooms at the rear would be disturbed by room noise.

We were allocated a lovely open plan suite, which was spacious and comfortable, and had a lovely large bathroom. The public areas of the hotel are very comfortable and there is a choice of two restaurants, a Brasserie and the fine dining restaurant , The Beaufort Dining Room. We did not visit the spa, but it looked to be of a ver high quality so all in all the five star facilities appeared to be very much in place.

However, what let the stay down was the often poor, inconsiderate and at times rude service. Seating a couple in a very quiet restaurant sandwiched between a very noisy table of foreigners who were more interested in mobile phones, and skyping than eating, and a table of 'business bores' was surely not a good idea. The seating itself was also not very comfortable and the tables were dressed with ghastly paper table cloths.

The second night we were sat at a table by the door to a function room, so that I was constantly disturbed by staff and guests from the party that were back and forth to the loo, or a cigarette break, which was not helped by the fact that the floor was 'sprung' and I felt every movement.

This really was not a good 'theatre' for David Kelman's very well prepared food. The service was also very laboured as staff was busy serving the private dining party.

Service at breakfast was ok but I do dislike the habit that certain staff have of saying 'no problem' when you ask them for something. Not it should not be a problem, but it is certainly annoying!

The clientele in the hotel was very mixed, and appeared to be either business men or couples, but none of them looked at home in the hotel's surroundings.

Therefore, overall it was a very mixed experience - the hotel is lovely, and the rooms and facilities are excellent but the overall ambiance is let down by inconsiderate guests and inconsistent service standards, and it is for that reason that I think we are unlikely to return.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw are lovely, and I would recommend one of the Luxury Rooms or Open Plan Suites, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piers G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you consider the Ellenborough Park team to be rude, it always our intention to ensure the guests have the best possible experience.
With regards to your comment about 'no problem' we have asked our teams to stop this with immediate effect. Thank you for your recommendation regarding the luxury rooms or open plan suites. Should you change your mind about retruning you will be made welcome.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently purchased a two day package to stay at this hotel near to Cheltenham and visit Jonjo Oneils racing stables what a treat.

The Hotel is rated at 5 star and everything thing about it is the service, helpful staff excellent food valus for money etc. I would have to give it the full 5 stars and we said we would definitely find time to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWF1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It sounds like the perfect two day escape visiting Jonjo O'Neil's racing stables while staying at Ellenborough Park. We are very pleased that you enjoyed this experience and were able to enjoy the hotel too. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were at this hotel for our son's wedding and everything was superb. The hotel is excellent as a wedding venue it being located in a fabulous position with grounds and views of the surrounding countryside. The food was absolutely delicious. We stayed in the Stormyfairweather Suite with our two grandsons and we were all so impressed with this accommodation. My wife said that the bed, duvet and pillows were like being wrapped in a soft cloud! Breakfast was excellent too. Clearly the prices are reflected in all this excellence but value for money wise it would take some beating. As we had been there for a look round and lunch a couple of weeks before we wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was split level and ideal for 2 adults and 2 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireWesties2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at Ellenborough Park, staying with your two grandchildren, for your son's wedding. We are very pleased that you particularly enjoyed your 'cloud filled bed' and food.
We hope you all come back to celebrate your son's first wedding annversary.
Kind regards
John Hanna
Ellenborough Park
Southam Rad
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing