We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without question the best hotel I have stayed at in the UK.”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Without question the best hotel I have stayed at in the UK.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Exceptional from start to finish, from the drive into the hotel and the porter service to the room and facilities. We were aiming for a romantic and relaxing weekend out of London after a rather hectic few months and ellenborough park delivered in every way. Our first night was a great and relaxed meal in the brasserie followed with drinks in the snug above the great hall with the waitress more than attentively popping up the stairs to ensure our wine glasses were never wanting. The next day we ventured into Cheltenham and with a recommendation from the hotel for dinner at the daffodil we had an exceptional meal, with yet again drinks to finish in the great hall. As others have said the hotel is at the more expensive end and can only comment on our room (luxury room) but having stayed in a number of more expensive hotels in the UK and around the world, I think this outstrips them all. Congratulations to all staff at the ellenborough, this is a new hotel and has already delivered an outstanding and well rehearsed performance. I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel, the spa the restaurants as all faultless.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hamuelljackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    201
    92
    41
    15
See reviews for
216
723
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a truly picturesque location, as soon as I pulled my car into the car pack the porters were there to pick up my bags, we were taken straight to reception to check in. It was a really shame the check in girl didn't have the same enthusiasm as the porter, everything was very sterile, no smile or conversation, which was a shame.

We had dinner in the Beaufort Room, the selection of food and wine was excellent, the only trouble was the sommelier was dreadful, firstly I had to ask to order wine, then when it came it was placed on a shelf just out of reach, twice we had to help ourselves. It was a really shame as this took the shine off an excellent meal, the next day we were talking about the poor service when we should have been talking about the excellent food.

The bar/brasserie were great, good selection of snacks, beer, wine and champagne, the staff were more than happy to keep the bar open until well after midnight.

Lovely breakfast the following morning, apart from I had to ask for tea twice before it arrived.

In summary an excellent hotel with great staff, I would suggest additional customer focused training for a couple of members.

And a special thank you to Rodney Gallagher the head porter for arranging shooting lessons at Ian Coley's shooting school.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank munsy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenboroughPk, General Manager at Ellenborough Park, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing comments about Rodney we are pleased that he was able to help you. We are sorry that we disappointed in a couple of areas. Next time you come we hope that you will find all areas to be of a consistently high quality.

Ellenborough Park
Southam Road
Cheltenham
GL52 3NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our stay at Ellenborough Spa Hotel in Cheltenham was amazing. Room was a suite overlooking heated outside pool. It was spacious and luxurious. The bed and pillows were amazing. Best nights sleep in ages. We dined in the beaufort dining room our first evening and the service and food were outstanding. We also dined in the brasserie which was good value and great service and atmosphere. I had a treatment in the spa and it was top notch. The ambiance and setting of the spa is very relaxing and staff very attentive. We used the gym and it was first class amenities. One could not fault the whole experience at the Hotel. The grounds are well kept and you can walk for miles if you need wellies they even have a boot room for complimentary use, amazing. We wanted for nothing and the staff were on hand if we need anything. I would recommend this hotel. Wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are of superb quality, we loved our room in the woodland it was top floor and spacious, ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here last month for a short weekend and had an incredible experience. Everyone, from the porters to the receptionists to those serving food, was friendly, polite and more than willing to do anything to enhance our stay. In particular we arrived back at our room in the main house whilst it was still being serviced and the housekeeper could not have been more polite and gracious- and smiley!- which was lovely and deserves a small mention. It seemed as though all the staff we come into contact with were happy and proud to be there which did really make us feel welcome- we weren't afraid to ask for anything!

The room itself was immaculate. The bed was one of the comfiest we have ever stayed in and the petals on the bed when we arrived were a lovely touch! All in all the room was brilliant; as someone else wrote it did feel like we were the first to stay there and it doesn't surprise me that the hotel has won so many awards with such high standards. The attention to detail in the room was lovely and just surpassed all our expectations.

We enjoyed room service and food in the brasserie; both were exceptional, and the dining room itself was gorgeous. The spa and pool looked lovely although we didn't have a chance to experience it first hand!

Ultimately there are so many details which make you feel special when staying here. The turn down service, the notes in the car from the porter- all of it makes for a lovely and unforgettable experience. Whilst it is at the higher end of the spectrum cost wise, if you can afford it, it is definitely worth it! We had a brilliant time and would love to return in the future for another special occasion! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The main house seemed to have the most character, as it is part of the original building- we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisH7106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had lunch here last week, which was very good. First class service and food presentation and my guests enjoyed every mouthful. Prices are what you would expect for quality and nothing seemed to come from Brake Bros, which is rare.

The quality of the meat was excellent and I will certainly return. Would make an ideal choice for the Cheltenham races as the course just across the lawns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a magnificent setting. My wife and I had Sunday lunch here and it was a memorable experience. The roasts, sirloin of beef and pork, were cooked to perfection and both were high quality meats accompanied by the finest of vegetables. The Beaufort dining room is magnificent and a reminder of bygone days with its fine wood panelling. The standard of service was excellent with very polite and attentive staff. I thoroughly recommend this very fine hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay,it is a delightful hotel in a wonderful setting.The staff are all very pleasant without being
Too intrusive,the Sunday lunch was excellent and our room although only being a standard room was one of the best I have stayed in,it is just as every 5 star hotel should be ! But unfortunately are not.even the 5 star London hotels do not compare
With this one,when you walk into a hotel room and it appears you are the 1st people to stay in it,although we were told the hotel is three years old ! That is Five star !!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank twp one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
782 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing