We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are just returning from a weekend at Ellenborough Park. This is the second year we have visited and hopefully we'll return again next year.

The hotel is lovely and is perfectly located for exploring the Cotswolds. They even have coats and boots to borrow should you not have come prepared.

We ate and both restaurants during our stay and although they're not cheap, they rival some of the best restaurants you can find anywhere.

Finally, the service is excellent. As an example, before bringing our car to us this morning, they had de-iced all the window. It is touches like this that sets Ellenborough Park apart.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrtravels82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    203
    95
    42
    15
See reviews for
218
732
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner and I decided we would visit the Ellenborough Park as a treat before Christmas and had a wonderful time. The service was second to none from the moment that we arrived. Breakfast was delicious - I would certainly recommend the Cotswold "fry up" and they also served my favourite Assam tea so I just had to have this!

On the Saturday afternoon we booked an afternoon tea (again as a treat) and we weren't disappointed. We took this on the balcony in the Great Hall and were able to appreciate the lovely decor and lighting. Later on, as we didn't have dinner, the bar man kindly organised for us to have a portion of chips whilst sipping cocktails in the bar. Not very glamorous however needs must.

Anyway, we were sorry to check out on the Sunday and head home but we will definitely visit again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah5318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ellenborough Park hotel in Cheltenham as part of a conference. I have to say that I was completely astounded by the service and experience. Normally hotels make a lot of promises and ultimately fail on a couple but I could not fault anything. Nothing at all! The staff are proffessional and attentive but not intrusive or overly engaging. They smile and greet you when you walk down the passage - and I mean everyone right down to the maintenance man!

The room are exceptionally beautiful and the beds are the most comfortabel I have ever slept in. So much so that I have already ordered one from the same supplier.

We ate in both the Brasserie and the formal dining room and the food was some of the best I have ever tasted.

What I liked most about the whole experience was the incredible attention to detail. Underfloor heating. Music in the bathroom. Carefully laid out slippers next to the bed. No detail however small was ever overlooked.

In summary, seamless, pro-active customer service that makes you feel like royalty in exceptional accommodation and surroundings.

Room Tip: The Istbraq suite (room 4) is outstanding! Try to book in the main house as these rooms have more ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is my second visit, firstly I tried the fine dining which was fantastic so this time my friends and myself tried 'The Brasserie'-again fabulous surroundings which are not only comfortable but very elegant. The food was again of the finest quality and the service was first class-will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent four excellent nights at this magnificant hotel. Rooms 5-12 plus 2 suites are in the old building; we had Room 5 so cannot comment on the remaining 55 rooms which are in much newer buildings. The entire place was refurbished and rebuilt and reopened in 2011. We had room 5, on the first floor just above a corner of one of the common rooms, very convenient but totally quiet. The room is a "luxury double" which well describes it. It is huge, with a comfortable king bed, desk and chair, easy chair with footstool, lots of windows, and a (non-operating) fireplace marked 1598. There is a huge bathroom with a terrific walk-in shower and big tub, with large windows overlooking the green grounds and edge of the Cotswolds hills. A lovely room.
We ate two nights in the Brasserie, a relatively informal room next to the bar. This is a very nice spot and the food is truly excellent. We did not try the formal dining room. Breakfasts were excellent. Service throughout the hotel was from a top notch young staff eager to please. Only slight drawback was a spotty evening turndown service. Laundry service is excellent and even on Sunday.
It's a gorgeous place.

Room Tip: For a change of dining pace, try the excellent Indian food at the Saffron Lounge in nearby Woodmanco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked Ellenborough Park at the last minute and were really happy with our stay. The room was excellent, food fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who genuinely seemed to want to help.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

All excellent, just beautiful. The highlight, looking up at the night sky, whilst swimming in the outdoor heated pool. This was just like a warm bath, even on a cold November evening.

Breakfast no complaints, plenty of choice. Main resturant meals, very good.

If there is just one little niggle, it is that we felt the Brasserie Menu was overpriced for the limited choices available, and that side orders should be included in with the meal.

Staff, nothing is to much trouble and all very helpful and friendly.

In all, really enjoyed the stay and will go again.

Room Tip: Any room, all just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
795 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
227 reviews
1.9 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing