We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very posh hotel...”
Review of Ellenborough Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellenborough Park
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very posh hotel...”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Little bit difficult to find, but it worth it...
Staff is excellent, very friendly, efficient and open to help at any time.
The decoration is superb, wonderful views and very comfortable beds.
The breakfast is delightful... many interesting options and very well presented.

Looking forward to our second visit.

Room Tip: The suits are extremely well designed, and worth booking one... ideal for honeymoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    201
    92
    41
    15
See reviews for
216
721
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have just spent 2 nights is the excpetional hotel, we stayed in a classic room which was a very good size and lovely views of the gardens.
I have stayed in many great 5 star establishments over the last few years and this was right up there with the best.
The setting was wonderful and the service we recieved from the second we arrived at the main entrance was above expectations.
We ate in the fine dining restuarant on the fist night which was an amazing experience and finished of with the wine and cheese package which is a must..
We will return very soon and if you can stretch to a suite it would be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked the hotel through Mr & Mrs Smith including dinner, bed and breakfast and a cocktail on arrival. It is everything you expect from a five star hotel and more. On arrival the staff were very attentive from the offset, parking the car, taking our bags and giving us a tour of the hotel and facilities. We stayed in one of their gorgeous classic rooms with a four poster bed and free standing bath. The close attention to detail was amazing, the service was incredible - nothing was too much trouble. I had briefly mentioned it was our tenth wedding anniversary: The meal in the Beaufort Restaurant was superb and we were given a special dessert celebrating our anniversary. When we returned to our room- there were rose petals laid out on our bed and a card from the hotel wishing us a happy anniversary. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting some where special to celebrate a special anniversary or birthday. NB.There was a spa onsite, but we didn't have time to try it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed Monday - Thursday at Ellensbrough in the summer, perfect time to make use of the outdoor pool. It was however confusing that the rest of the gym facilities are on the other side of the complex and so this could be inconvenient in winter (presuming the outdoor pool remains open). The room was comfortable (almost like a mini bungalow with it's split level layout).

Breakfast was excellent and the service very good.

Only minor niggle was they are very keen for you to book the restaurant / bar for your evening meal - even when there is no one in! We turned up at the bar for dinner and were the only table there, we asked to sit by the window in a nice booth seat and were told it was reserved for a '4 person table' and yet no one sat there all night (no one else came into the bar all night!) which was disappointing.

Other than that though, it was very nice and posh although perhaps a little stuffy.

This hotel is best if you want to stay in the hotel as it is out of town so not really within short walking distance of Cheltenham.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights following our wedding in Tewkesbury and before heading off on honeymoon. Can't speak highly enough of how we were received, the suite we were given, the couples spa and the overall experience. Truly 5*. In the build up to the stay the staff also helped me pull off a big surprise for my wife and served up our honeymoon itinerary with our breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for something extra special.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I spent last weekend at EP with my husband and two young children. We were there for my sister's wedding. There is one word to describe EP and that is FAULTLESS! The hotel and grounds are stunning, our room in the mews was absolutely beautiful. We had 2 staircases, one leading to the bathroom and the other to a study area, where we were able to put the travel cot!! Our dining experiences and the wedding itself were wonderful, and went without any hitches. My sister, mother and i used the spa facilities, had treatments and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The most noticeable and memorable aspect of the stay was the staff. Every member of staff, without exception, was friendly, courteous and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. On our first morning there one of the young ladies greeted myself and my 17 month old son in the grounds. She asked my son's name and made some complimentary remarks. Twenty-four hours later we saw her again in reception, she greeted my son by name and chatted away to him! It is that sort of warmth and consideration that takes EP to the next level. My husband and I have promised ourselves a child-free visit in the near future, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend EP!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

An amazing place. Beautiful restoration.We stayed in a room in one of the new wings. It was large with an excellent bathroom. My only complaint was that I felt the designer had forgotton to wallpaper the room and finish the headboard as a result It felt a bit cold (More on that later) in addition the amount of storage was a real issue. When you looked in the huge walk there was a space for shelves but no shelves? They brought in a chest of drawers. All small points
We ate in the main restaurant for my 50th birthday. The food and service was faultless (we were one of only 2 tables dining) We also ate in the more casual braserie which was excellant.
The gym while small was well appointed. Here I go with my only real concern. As the hotel is quite large (60 rooms) it lacks a certain feel to it. I realize that it is a new renovation of an outstanding property but it felt just a tiny bit like a convention hotel given its size. To say that it felt a bit like a theme park would be going to far but if it was fully occupied? The area is of outstanding beauty and we visited a number of villages in the area. All in all an excellent stay. I was going to book Buckland Manor but chose Ellenborough Park on the basis of the many excellent reviews in trip advisor. I believe you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheltenham
24.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
781 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
9.5 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellenborough Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellenborough Park

Property: Ellenborough Park
Address: Southam Road, Cheltenham GL52 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellenborough Park 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ellenborough Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellenborough Park Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing