We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a traditional India restaurant”
Review of MASALA BITES - CLOSED

MASALA BITES
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Only opened on 1st November 2010
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Not a traditional India restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Food very nice especially the lemon lamb. Price includes rice, dhall, veg and yoghurt so very good value, although cabbage and carrots seem a strange mixture of vegetables to have with a curry.
Restaurant a bit more like a cafe, no table cloths.
One cardinal sin NO ONION BHAJI omg an Indian with no O.B.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    49
    16
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for lunch.....so-so evening experience.......”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a great lunch here a few weeks ago so thought we would try it on a Friday night. Very quiet, though we did arrive pretty soon after 7 pm, but pleasant atmosphere nonetheless and service and hospitality were good throughout. Warmed up later so maybe try to arrive after 8 pm if planning on going yourselves.......

Food didn't live up to the expectations raised by the excellent lunch we had, however......
My partner's Roasted Chicken Curry with Ginger and Coriander was very sweet and the aforementioned flavourings were conspicuous by their unidentifiableness (it could have been anything): the lunchtime standard curry was so much crisper and cleaner in flavour.

I had a mixed Tandoori Grill....it was very tired. Felt like it had been cooked and reheated.... dry and dull. Also not enough yoghurt and had to ask for more (which was really nice and provided without any extra charge or fuss.

Both came with Dhal and salady things ...very dull and bland, alas...I much preferred what we got at lunchtime (see my previous review) which was so much more interesting and only half the price!

Still, the wine was nice (Romanian Pinot Noir at c. £12 a bottle), service was good and we escaped paying less than £40 for the two of us (including a Cobra and 3 very nice poppadoms) so reasonable value, I guess.
We might try it again and choose differently but this visit was a little disappointing in view of our first visit.......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slicvic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Non atmospheric restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited here for small lunch , unfortunately my poppodom was stale,portion so small and there with hardly any lamb in the dish . i It was rediculous to be honest . Wish I could give better review .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really Great Food Experience!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Last weekend, my wife and I stayed in Cheltenham to celebrate a(nother) birthday and had planned on visiting a Thai restaurant around Albion Street but couldn't find it. We did however stumble on this Indian restaurant and I'm very glad we did. The service was second to none and the food was just as good, served on a tray with curry, rice, vegetables, lentil dahl and a yoghurt in separate dishes and mixed on a plate by the customer. Our waiter asked when we wanted our main course as opposed to it being brought out as and when, a pleasant change. We were not rushed either during the meal or to pay the bill.

The bill when it arrived was very reasonable and we decided at that time that despite a 90 minute drive to Cheltenham, we'd be back!

I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone either living in or visiting Cheltenham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteduncan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An indian treat!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself and my partner went based on some great reviews and were not disappointed,starters were lovely and light,and main was fantastic with the added extras of all the tasty authentic side dishes,great value for money.highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snorledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MASALA BITES also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Prestbury, Cheltenham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing