We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central characterful and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Central characterful and wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed over last Saturday night whilst visiting in the poetry festival. Brilliant location. Lots of character and the public areas and our room (second floor) appeared recently refreshed. Did not eat dinner but we were very well looked after for breakfast (and late night bar) by friendly helpful staff.. Close to a good choice of restaurants / wine bars. Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    437
    191
    91
    64
See reviews for
158
629
42
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a hoot this hotel is! The reception staff are very friendly and the hotel itself is quite extraordinary. It certainly is a grand looking building from the outside. The old rotating entrance door is fun in itself, especially if two people cram in it together armed with bags! It is a very old-fashioned themed hotel and there is a slight whiff of old fashionedness as you enter, but this definitely adds to the charm of the hotel. There is a piano in the reception area and if you are lucky there may be someone playing a jolly tune on it! The room we stayed in was on the third floor with lovely views out over the park at the front of the hotel. The room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. There was a strange deep whirring noise that would go on for a time. We couldn't work out what it was or where it was coming from so we have decided that it must be the old building itself groaning with age! The pictures in the room were slightly turdy but again it adds to the old fashioned air of the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful with hot and cold options and plenty of food. My husband particularly enjoyed the sausages! There was even a jolly chap dressed in a top hat and outfit who offered to carry our bags out for us. The floorboards creaked with agedness. To summarise, this hotel is what it is. It is a very old building therefore you must accept that there are going to be strange noises, creaks, turdy pictures and old whiffs, but the service is friendly, the food is good and you can be sure of having a jolly hoot while staying there! If you want a modern and quiet hotel, this is not really the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel needs updating and is quite shabby looking on the third floor. There was also an awful smell as we entered the hotel reception area, that seem to linger all weekend. We were also given a double bed after booking a Queensize. Wouldn't stay here again and spoilt a romantic weekend away.
There were no pillow or mattress protectors either.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham .The restaurant next door that is attached to our drainage system had a breakdown of their dissolving machine and this caused a blockage resulting in the smell. Unfortunately a contractor was not able to attend until after the weekend.

I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence early next year.

I do hope you will visit us again when I am confident your faith in the hotel will be restored.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Despite appearances, the hotel is very shabby and could do with some investment.
However the dreadful smell that hits you as you enter the hotel is horrendous, and is definitely the reason that we spent as little time as possible downstairs. A real shame as it would've been nice to enjoy a drink in the bar or just relax in the sitting room. None of this is possible when the stench of drains is as strong as it is. I can honestly say we would never return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wookeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. The restaurant next door that is attached to our drainage system had a breakdown of their dissolving machine and this caused a blockage resulting in the smell. Unfortunately a contractor was not able to attend until after the weekend and I apologise that this spoilt your weekend.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Beautiful place, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. We won the trip and were certainly a bit of a different breed than what they must be used to but they treated us like royalty and it was lush!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorrelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham again. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This stunning Georgian Hotel is situated in the city of Cheltenham.
It has kept a lot of its original features (with modern adaptation).
The hotel is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
The Executive Rooms are spacious and well equipped.
The breakfast room is light and airy and the food that is served is fresh and tasty.
The staff are professional, helpful, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My family and I dined here in the main restaurant as a post Cheltenham feast. The staff serving us were very friendly, in particular the manager on duty.
The food we had was amazing and very filling especially well deserved after a long day at the races!
There was a very good atmosphere in the hotel as it attracted a lot of punters from the races!
The only thing I'd have to say is that although the waiters in the restaurant are very attentive, they are a bit too attentive, coming up quite too often to see how we were getting on, which did border on a little bit annoying but other than that it was an excellent meal in a lovely building. See you next year!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TommyDeLaHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kind regards, Peter Watt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
987 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Property: Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing