We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights through work.
The only reason for the dropped mark is that my room had an interconnecting door with another room, which may as well have been a curtain as I could hear every word of my neighbours!
I asked reception for ear plugs on my way out for dinner in case there was noise at bedtime and they didn't have any. Fortunately, the noise wasn't a problem at bedtime, but I cant be the only person to have complained about that so would be good if they had some earplugs available to guests!
That was the only negative though - I was in room 312 and other than the above, thought the room was lovely and spacious, the bathroom good size and great tv/tea/toiletries etc
Breakfast was one of the nicest I have seen - lots of choices and the staff were all nice and friendly.
Parking is free and readily available outside the hotel after 6pm - otherwise its £10 per night at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about earplugs which I will address.
Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
There are newer reviews for Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Needed a bed for one night in the centre of Cheltenham after the latest Horse Racing Meeting. Friday night as well. The hotel know how to charge due to the captive audience when racing is on in town, and its on reflection it would have been cheaper to use taxis from outside the centre but cost aside what a magnificent building, overflowing with character. Unfortunately the nature of our trip meant we spent very little time on site - just sleeping, breakfast and a quick pre-departure drink in the bar. Well trained friendly staff - first class service. Can't say anymore. If cost is not high on your agenda or you are looking for a special hotel from a single night - book it !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mardood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

3 nights to enjoy the Cheltenham Festival of Literature. Unbeatable location, well-trained and helpful staff, quiet rooms. Car parking is easy - park up and forget the car until time to leave. Will return.



  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank L_C_N229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A really lovely stay in the Mercure in Cheltenham. The hotel was clean and whilst our room was a little in need of an update it was very comfortable and clean and overlooked the front of the hotel.

The hotel's central atruim was amazing, incredible wall paper. All staff were very polite, friendly and responsive, but not unduly attentive or intrusive.

Breakfast was lovely, wide range of choice, staff did appear to be a little pushed and slightly slow in providing refills to cooked breakfast options, but were unflappable. Think the Manager could up staffing slightly to help them out.

Ideally situated for a mooch around Cheltenham's lovely shops and with a number of pubs and restaurants close at hand. A very relaxing weekend. We will return.

Room Tip: Although a bit noisier perhaps I would ask for a room at the front of the building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank East0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two nights recently at the Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, as part of a tour group. The hotel is centrally located in Cheltenham, right across the street from its garden. The hotel is beautiful. It is an old hotel, but they have updated the rooms where they could to provide modern traveler comforts. They have an excellent restaurant -- be sure to eat in their Conservatory. The only negative is that their sole elevator is tiny -- only four adults can fit in it at one time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryandBettyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I organised a evening function at the Queen' s Hotel Cheltenham this month (October 2013). Meeting was for about 60. With me giving a talk and then I think 38 having a meal. I was generally well looked after and all went well. I am not used to giving talks so I was a bit nervous. Hotel is well situated at the top of the Prom. The talk coincided with the first week of Cheltenham Literature Festival. So parking interesting, but ok. My elderly ( 90 plus ) parents stayed in the hotel. They were well looked after and enjoyed their stay. Staff helpful and discrete. Staff even founf a safety pin to sort out the rose in my button hole that kept falling side ways. Bar drinks a bit pricy. Generally a good do. My wife liked the event , but she felt the Hotel will need some decorating and a bit of an up date fairly soon.
It is a pleasant place and convenient for Cheltenham shopping etc.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Patlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.
I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and I expect the programme date to commence in 2014/15.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beds comphy . bath was a little dirty round edges but that was just a part a cleaner must have missed . Generators going on at 6am sunday morning did wake us up at 6am on a romantic break . we really wanted more sleep as first time we have been away from the kids in 4 years so a lay in bed would of been great . upset with hotels.com for giving me a price of £135 per room . it did not say it was plus vat anywhere ? I got charged £135.00 plus vat when leaving hotel . Also £10.00 for parking at the hotel i find that really poor that hotel is penny pinching from customers when your spending a lot of money there. breakfast was also not in with price it was extra £10 i do find this odd as i don't no any other hotels that do this . But saying that it was the best breakfast we have ever had , Local produce as well simply amazing .

Room Tip: asked for front of hotel as the rear is noisy with generators that wake you as 6am
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. I apologise that you were disturbed so early in the morning stay and I will address immediately why generators were going that early.
I am keenly aware that the car park charge is an additional expense for our guests, however, given the availability and alternatives I do feel that our charge is fair value.
I do hope that this will not deter you from visitng the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $140 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing