We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in February. The staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were ok, sadly we had a room overlooking the back of the hotel.

The restaurant was excellent, both service and food. Even on the fixed price menu there were vegetarian and fish choices.

The hotel was very convenient for the town.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask not to have a rear facing room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingergirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and that the service and food you received was excellent.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
There are newer reviews for Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Three nights here on business. Service standards exceptionally high, great functional room with queen bedstead and other mock-Regency furniture blending perfectly with the general feel of this spa-town hotel. Good sized bathroom with modern fittings and multi-function power-shower.

But let me talk about the kitchen! Not only are items on the menu superb and the service of a professional but friendly standard, but when one item I wanted wasn't available chef offered to cook off the menu for me. Voila a brilliant pumpkin ravioli with sun-dried tomato and fried crisp bacon - a great winter pasta.

Would happily book in here next week if I was still needing to do business in the area. Alas, back to London and St Ermin's in St James'...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterOuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham

I have highlighted your comments to the Head Chef and the team and they are delighted their efforts were appreciated.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a family party gathering last weekend at this delightful hotel. Our room was really comfortable and well appointed. Special thanks to Alex in the bar who mixes a mean cocktail plus Peter and his banqueting team. Everyone in our party was made to feel extremely welcome! Their English breakfast is to die for. A shiny new hotel no, but one with much character and charm. We will be back soon!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts were appreciated and that you enjoyed yourselves at the Mercure Queens Hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very impressive building in the heart of Cheltenham. Very friendly and efficient check in staff. Lovely room with classic bathroom. Great king size bed.the central staircase is a very impressive feature. Only disappointment was the unpredictable heating which was over hot on the irst night but not working at all on the second night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham.

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the heating, which we are addressing.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welocming you back again soon.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Syayed overnight on a Travelzoo offer, good way to try out hotels.Room and bathroom very big compared to other hotels in Cheltenham but parking is not free, ait is with most hotels in Cheltenham for guests.. It is £10 a day. Had evening meal in the restaurant, it was OK but service was fabulous throughout our stay. Breakfast was a treat, so much choice, hot food cooked to order. It's worth staying just for the breakfast.
Good location

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My cousins and I traveled down from Yorkshire to celebrate the 90th birthday of Uncle Bill. The hotel was booked for an overnight stay on Friday 1st Feb. We were late arriving after spending the day with the rest of the family. The hotel staff were very professional but friendly and dinner was booked for 8pm. The rooms were spacious and spotless clean, We had a wonderful, well cooked and well presented meal, and a place by the comfortable open fire in the lounge for coffee rounded the night off. Breakfast the next morning was taken in the sun room (with the sun shining as a bonus). There was everything on the menu with self service. Perfectly cooked poached eggs could be ordered at the table and as much fresh tea and coffee as you required. A helpful porter took our bags to the car park situated at the rear of the hotel. All in all a delightful overnight stay and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there just for a night on a business trip, the hotel is a classic British one with a charm hospitality and a deep sense of service among its staff. The check-in process was very efficient and the young woman in the reception was able to manage all my needs with a friendly smile and very polite attitude. The room was big and nice, the bathroom was accessible for handicap people, I pushed an emergency service call button by mistake and sure enough there was a very polite gentleman at my door in less than 2 minutes asking me if I need any help. The bar was really nice but the bartender was fantastic, he helped my friend over the phone to find the hotel and he guide me to the reception for further assistance where I received an exceptional help and kindness from another young woman there too. Didn't try the restaurant for dinner but breakfast buffet was quite good with fair quality and availabe choices, the check-out process was efficient too and my taxi was waiting for me as I had requested without any hassle!
Really nice experience, would like to return whenever opportunity raises.
Another word: the hotel is very well located for shopping and dinning out!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0r0nt0B0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham in the bnear future.

Kind regards, Peter Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strozzi Palace Suites by Mansley
0.9 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection

Address: Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $139 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hotel in the city centre with 84 ensuite rooms. One of the first purpose hotels in Europe in 1838 fully refurbished. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station, Cheltenham race course all festivals within a short stroll. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people, perfect for weddings, celebrations, meetings or events. Award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar gin bar and Lounge, Free WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to offsite local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Large car park with pay parking (12 GBP/24 hours). Part of Accor Hotels - Mgallery Collection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing