We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Beaumont House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaumont House
Ranked #3 of 70 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our stay at Beaumont House ticked all the boxes: beautiful venue, warm, homely feel, comfortable guest rooms, great location and top notch service. Upon arrival in the afternoon we enjoyed a cup of coffee in the garden before heading out into the town. The next morning we jogged in town and came back to a delicious breakfast before departing for the scenic route through the Cotswolds that our host recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    81
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
64
354
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
235 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have only stayed in the lesser rooms here, the ground floor ones; using Beaumont House as a bed for the night whilst on business. The hotel is in easy reach of the Bath road end of Cheltenham and its restaurants and pubs as well as being in easy reach of the main roads in and out of the city, not too much of a fight on the roads in the morning.

The owners and staff are extremely helpful. The offer of a light meal or snack is welcome when a light arrival is unavoidable.

I have not stayed in the more boutique rooms so cannot comment on them. For an inexpensive B&B the standard rooms are very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely, characterful building.....a far cry from 'chain' hotels. Was running late so rang ahead to let hotel know I was still coming, and receptionist was very polite and asked if I wanted something to eat upon arrival as she would arrange this.....great service. Check in was easy and the young man was friendly but polite, helping me with my luggage up to my room. Single room was furnished very nicely, and was very pleasant. Lovely bathroom. Strange to have an area a bit like a mini kitchen in the corner of the room.....fridge, microwave and worktop - but not an issue.
Breakfast was fantastic, great variety and excellent quality....with very good service.
Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunyp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My first impression served me well; within a few minutes of being greeted by host Fan I was changing my plans and booking an extra night. I arrived here hours early expecting to be able to drop my bags, but since my room was ready I was able to check in fully. Then while Fan checked out train timetables, my friend and I (who was just dropping me there) were given a complementary coffee in the sunny conservatory. I had the single room, which, although small, is perfectly formed, with a good sized ensuite (almost as large as the room). The breakfasts are excellent and the service is outstanding: At one point I asked for some milk (since the single room is the only room without a bar fridge, the milk comes in a small thermos); it was in my room before I'd finished asking for it!

Plenty of parking if you're driving and a pleasant 20 minute walk to the centre of town, where you can catch a bus to nearby places, e.g. Stow-on-Wold (25 minutes to Cheltenham Spa Station) if you're on foot as I was.

As a B&B, I couldn't fault the place and I'm surprised to see there are any ratings below excellent or very good. I did notice one review comment on the noise. My single room was on the lower floor and some noise couldn't be avoided I suppose, but I've certainly had a lot worse in 5 start hotels, and despite a full house during my stay, the noise level was actually less than I'd expected.

I'm hoping to return some time and would heartily recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Celebrated our anniversary here, and from the moment we walked through the door we both felt completely at home and spoilt, we really felt like the owner & staff truly cared that we were there to celebrate! We were so glad we didnt choose the Mercure (which, right on the Promenade was arguably in a better location)!

What we were keen on:
- Amazing breakfast, both Continental Buffet in addition to ordering a hot cook-to-order main! I had the full English on the first day and the smoked whole haddock with poached egg on the second. AMAZING treat - really made an impression! Not usually what I'd order on the menu but I felt like I could trust that they would deliver well on everything they said they could offer! The restaurant is on the 2013 Michelin recommended guide. Try the raspberry jam and the plum jam. Even their butter had BH engraved in italics on it. Coffee was really, really good and served in a little jug for you to pour as you wish! Service was fast, friendly and efficient.
- Rooms well appointed with luxury lamps, quality cushions and furnishings (not the cheap satiny stuff you'd find in chain hotels)
- Extensive DVD library - our TV in room 8 had a DVD player, you have to go downstairs to request for the movies
- Cozy Conservatory with free tea & coffee and biscuits and library
- The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive, efficient and operated like a well oiled machine, really top notch service far exceeding anything I've ever experienced in other 5 star international hotels!
- Free water and chocolates which was a nice touch, and good quality shampoo/conditioner/body wash. Although at most 5 star hotels I would have expected moisturiser too - especially if the heating was on high overnight!
- Stairs were uneven but I felt this added to the charm and history of the hotel!
- Loved the bathroom tiling and mirror - that sort of luxury you only see in rare boutique hotels nowadays

Negatives
- Location is a 15-20 minute walk into Montpellier/shops. We just caught taxi's instead (about £6 each time)
- Bed slightly on the harder side but my partner loved it
- As Room 8, 9, 10 etc is on the 3rd floor it is literally a converted attic. Both my partner and I saw the "Mind your head" signs but we both still bumped our head many times over 2 days getting in/out of the shower. Ouch!
- The curtains didnt quite block all the light out unfortunately, so that we'd be woken up by the light coming in from the side of it
- Quite a small room for £109 per night on the top floor not anywhere close to anything else in Cheltenham!

I think if I were to come back and stay again I'd opt for one of the themed rooms - the out of Asia first, followed by out of Africa!

Room Tip: Ask for it to be on the 1st floor as 2nd floor rooms are converted attics
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on business in Cheltenham. Really impressed with the personal service and attention to detail. Fresh milk and drinks in the room fridge, very clean throughout, comfortable bed and a fabulous freshly cooked breakfast. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The room was on the second floor (no lift) but the staff carried luggage up for me - great! Plenty of parking outside and CCTV made it feel a safe place too. Will visit again no doubt!

Room Tip: Room 14 on top floor was slightly small (sloping ceilings) but still comfortable for 3 nights. If st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beaumont House was rated the #6 B&B in the Cotwsolds last year but we cannot imagine what the other 5 B&Bs did to beat them. For starters, the reception from Reddick on a cold and wet day was very warm and appreciated after a long trip. The property was entirely renovated several years ago but it looks as if it was just completed.

Great design features in our standard room and the entire BH. A wonderful sitting room with a view of the garden to start the day. Fan (sic) and the staff were super.

One cautionary note, if you order the Big Full English Breakfast, you had better have a huge appetite. The locally sourced foods were excellent and a the regular English Breakfast would satisfy any normal appetitie.

We heartily recommend this location.
Mona & Joe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alamojoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#8 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Battledown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 56 Shurdington Road, Cheltenham GL53 0JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumont House 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaumont House is 16 bedroom 5 star award winning guesthouse with off-street parking. It was the home of the Read family in the 1880's. On the 27th October 1884 Anketell Moutray Read was born in Beaumont House, the youngest son of Colonel John Moutray Read. Anketell Read was commissioned 2nd Lieutenant in The Gloucestershire Regiment on 21st November 1903. He served in India. He was 30 years old, and a Captain in the 1st Battalion, The Northamptonshire Regiment, British Army during the First World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the Victoria Cross. This is the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Beaumont House was later owned by the Tilley family, who ran a large muffin bakery in the town. The tiled floor in the reception area was restored in the 1980's, after the recovering discarded tiles from the same period when an adjacent house was being renovated. During the 1980's, Beaumont House was converted into a guest house and it has undergone extensive renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaumont House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Cheltenham
Beaumont Hotel House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing