We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“divine”
Review of Red Pepper - CLOSED

Red Pepper
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Excellent family run Bistro and Delicatessen shop. Nothing is too much trouble. We tried the mid-week steak and wine promotion - expecations were over eceeded. Chef / owner Richard cooked all to our taste. can only recommend it. Atmosphere not so romantic, but relaxed and functional- bistro style
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“divine”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

ive eaten at Red Pepper 3 times now 2 breakfeasts and lunch all very good food cooked very well and lovely flavours at a reasionable price,will be back

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mork1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    104
    36
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

went here for an evening meal and loved the food. great value... the chef even came out and checked our meals were ok himself... nice touch and we had a chat about the food and our time in cheltenham.

worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly place”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My son and daughter-in-law decided to take my wife and me Christmas shopping in Cheltenham. I can't imagine that, although necessary, it is anyone's favourite occupation. Nevertheless, their diplomatic skills made the experience quite painless. Congratulations to them for that! Part of the "palliative therapy" was lunch in the Red Pepper Restaurant. This appears to be a fairly unassuming place when viewed from the outside but the number of diners within soon stopped any ideas that it was not worth visiting. The friendly and polite lady at the front desk asked us to wait while a table was cleared for us. No problem. This was done quickly and menu cards were delivered. The range of offers on the menu was fairly varied but simple. There was nothing over-ambitious and my main problem was in choosing what to eat. I eventually had fishcakes with salad. Splendid! Others at the table had king prawns cooked in tomato and feta, burgers, and baked potato with tuna mayonnaise. All looked great and there were no complaints at all. Water, tea and coffee was served quickly and without fuss and the overall bill (I was treated to my lunch) could not have been too punitive. the only thing that lets the restaurant down is the slightly shabby atmosphere. It was still clean and the shared Ladies'/Gents' toilet had plenty of hot water, soap and towels/electric hand drier. I will definitely not have a problem in returning to this place and I recommend it as a good lunch spot when (shudder) shopping.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BioToxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The restaurant is only a few doors away from the Everyman theatre and they have pre-theatre dining down to a fine art. When you make your reservation you are asked to pre-order your starter and main course from the set menu. This means that on the night a minimal time is spent choosing your food & drinks and so the service is quick and efficient. There is a good choice on the set menu - at least 6 starters and 6 mains. For 2 courses it's £10.95 and for 3 courses it's only £13.95, which considering the quantity and quality, is excellent value for a Cheltenham town centre restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Interesting menu and a good location for pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We tripped over this place whilst searching for somewhere to eat before an evening at the Everyman theatre. It's not obvious that the venue is a restaurant, as through the window it looks like one of the many cafe/sandwich bars to be found in this street

The seating is available both upstairs and downstairs and we were shown to a table with comfortable chairs on the 1st floor. The menu is interesting and includes a variety of international themes.

A chorizo and pancetta salad was a disappointment and not well plated. Though this was compensated by a nice main course of duck breast and confit leg. My partner enjoyed her monkfish Thai green curry with rice.

Service was polite and prompt. The prices are quite reasonable for the centre of Cheltenham.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Pepper also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Prestbury, Cheltenham
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing