We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Poor Admin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zizzi - Cheltenham

Zizzi - Cheltenham
Ranked #81 of 440 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Located just outside the town centre, Zizzi Cheltenham is located in an old church so benefits from a special atmosphere and beautiful interior. In fact, it’s such a customer favourite that we often host wedding receptions and engagement dinners. We invite our customers to bring along their family and friends to join us in this spectacular double-floored setting, whether it be dining on our ground floor or relaxing with a drink on our upstairs bar! If you’re celebrating something special, see if our private dining area is right for you.And tweet what you eat with WiFi available here (if you’re in to that).
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food - Poor Admin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Firstly the positives - Fabulous location in this former church; good food with a reasonable choice. Service was ok.

However the admin in respect of online booking and getting card receipt leaves a lot to be desired.

Would I go here again ? Yes definitely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 187047PeterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    242
    108
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent quality of food - but far too much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a great meal today but far too much food. I think in this day and age customers would appreciate less food at a lower price. The flavours were very fresh, and the wine was good, and the service great, but the quantity of food was overwhelming. We weren't rushed in any way and had an enjoyable experience but less food and a lower bill would be appreciated by the majority of customers. We will definitely visit again. The restaurant is set in a beautiful old church and Zizzi's have kept the setting very respectful towards to original purpose of the building. You couldn't ask for a better setting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshcake154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I Have eaten there once and had takeaway once, The restaurant inside looks pretty impressive, however the food is very low average and the service is not friendly, The takeaway pizza was missing half of its toppings and the main course salad was the size of a side salad. Due to that we will not return there!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

love this place... beautiful setting, great food, good prices and loads of room and tables... book at the weekend though.. can get full..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food in fantastic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

First visit and was very impressed with the food and setting. It was very busy, but the setting in an old church didnt make it feel over crowded. Given that it was so busy they had a small army of staff that coped very well. This outing was for a works Christmas meal, and they had place setting cards giving what each had ordered - certainly helped to avoid the, ' I can't remember what I ordered' chorus. Would recommend on service, food and price.

Helpful?
Thank BrynWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Cheltenham also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to Zizzi - Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing