We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistrot Coco - CLOSED

Bistrot Coco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Valentines dinner here - good value for money, Interesting entrance and "beach bar" then great general bar where we had a cocktail prior to the meal. Restaurant is slightly quirky (but I like that) in that there is one off the main bar and then one downstairs - which is only accessed by walking back out the entrance, along the pavement (about 10m) and then down some external stairs. Very French bistro feel to the decor. From memory I think the basement restaurant, to be fair, can also be accessed from the rear patio area which is lovely (but was too cold to sit out on).
Food was excellent and service prompt and friendly (although the bill and then the card machine took a while in arriving - this always winds me up as when I have decided that I have finished I like to be free to leave whenever and not kept waiting).
I had the coquilles st jacques and husband the hock terrine, both were tasty. We then shared a chateaubriand which was cooked to perfection. There was a shared quartet of desserts which worked well - we do 't usually eat desserts but these were varied and not too big. This was all part of the valentines set dinner for £35 (plus £5 supplement for the chateaubriand). Definitely worth a visit, we will be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    87
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A real foodie place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Despite living in the area for over 20 years I'd never been to Coco. It's quite unusual when you walk in - there a funky glass floor and beach bar. But when you go downstairs into the restaurant it has a totally different vibe. it has a lovely intimate feel. A buzzy place and everyone seems to be loving the food. You just feel the contentment in the building. This is good food, good device and everything is as it should be. No complaints here. Wine served in large or small carafes and it's delicious. Loved the whole experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank primada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“faboulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

this was one of the best meals out for a while. great food well cooked. great choice. great service even if i did know the waitresses but yet still treated me as a new customer. i could not say enough of this great little find. if you havent tried it please do and defenitely book in advance. the great little cocktail bar above is also another great find. i will be back for more great food and drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lush!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Came here 09.02.13 with work, what a great night we had! Well looked after by very friendly and accommodating staff, lovely venue and the food was delicious. Great for an intimate meal or bigger group, cosy, really nice. Will defo visit again 10/10!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
421 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Been for lunch today with a group of friends, the service, food and atmosphere were amazing, we will return and would recommend a visit if you like French bistro food...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank No1Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Coco also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing