We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend”
Review of Detmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detmore House
Ranked #29 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We (husband and I) stayed at very short notice for one night during Cheltenham Races on November 17th. It was chosen for us by my cousin who was coming down from Scotland as there were no more rooms where he was staying. I'm sure we're the ones who struck lucky. Really impressive house, beautifully and very tastefully decorated. Whole house was spotless and the room was of an exceptionally high standard. Breakfast was a feast if you wanted to indulge. Couldn't fault the place and would like to stay longer so may well arrange something in 2013 when the weather is better and we can explore the area better. Would certainly recommend to friends or anyone. It was more expensive than normal but then we expected that in Gold Cup week. Any other time it would certainly be value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Detmore House for two nights in September,using it as a base for exploring the Cotswolds. We booked based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.Beautifully situated, it was lovely and quiet with great views. On driving up the long drive way when we arrived we were greeted by the sight of two buzzards! Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were spotless. It felt more like staying in a hotel than a B&B. We love our gadgets and appreciated the free Wifi and i-pod dock. The breakfasts were great too. We would thoroughly recommend it and would love to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This must be one of the most comfortable and tastefully decorated bed and breakfasts we have ever visited. The location is stunning - incredibly convenient being just off the A40, but so peaceful with beautiful grounds and gardens. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are all immaculate and spotless with everything you can possible need. We were treated to tea and cake served in the drawing room which was a very welcome touch. Breakfast was delicious with a great selections of fresh fruit and cooked dishes. We will definitely be back, and we cannot recommend this delightful bed and breakfast highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked for 4 nights in the Beech Room. Fantastic views, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds with excellent choice for breakfast each morning. Nothing was too much trouble! You cannot fail to love this wonderful property with its long driveway set in beautiful grounds. We are sure we will be visiting here again, if Gill and her family will have us!! Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable and helping us with directions.....it was well and truly appreciated!!! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Jill, Liz & Susan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Booked in for one night after searching for hotels in the area and reviews on Tripadvisor

This property is on the A40 but do not allow that to worry you. You drive up a long private entrance to the property which appeared to a quality property set in large grounds with a magnificent garden.

I had the Maple Room, overlooking the gardens, with twin beds. It had a 24" (?) flat screen TV with all the Freeview channels with first class reception. The room size was more than adequate, with two small easy chairs and a desk plus chair for the tea/coffee facilities and to place a laptop. There was a complementary bottle of water and Wi-Fi was free in the room.

The bathroom was well presented with a shower, no bath and included flannels.

There was no noise inside or outside the property and I had a very peaceful night.

When registering in, you have to select what you want for breakfast, there is a very wide choice and indicate the time you required it. The breakfast was excellent one of the best "silver service" breakfasts I have had.

All in all, this was a top class B&B and I could not see where they could make any improvement. I would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just had a couple of nights in this lovely place. The accomodation was pristine, inclusive of an excellent breakfast choice, and hosts who were very gracious, nothing wastoo much trouble for them. What more could you want....

Room Tip: Beech Room was lovely....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just wanted to share with you all the lovely time we had at the Detmore House in CHELTENHAM, this place is truly the Ritz standard B&B, the welcome was warm and friendly the room was lovely with everything you could ever need right down to a selection of fresh fruit. From the track up to the Manor House looking front to the 21st Centry Rooms and a true feast for a breakfast it made out weekend away in the Cotswold a total joy.

In short, if you want a place to go that offers quality and style set in a very quiet locaton with quick access to everything the cotswolds has to offer ! then this is the place for you.

*** don't forget to check to Bourton on water - such a lovely place ***

Room Tip: All rooms are up to the same standard so spoil yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
The London Inn
The London Inn
#3 of 6 in Charlton Kings
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilden Lodge
Hilden Lodge
#1 of 6 in Charlton Kings
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenfall Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Charlton Kings Hotel
Charlton Kings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Charlton Kings
209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 68 in Cheltenham
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detmore House

Address: Detmore House London Road | Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: $143 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Detmore House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Detmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing