We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would we stay again? ABSOLUTELY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #34 of 69 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Called last minute and was fortunate enough to get a room at the Willoughby. Not just any room, The Willoughby Suite which was ideal for my wifes birthday on the 27th. No pressure to pre-pay which was great considering that we would be staying on a Saturday night. The location is superb, within walking distance of the shops, bars and fine dining of Montpellier. The welcome was friendly, informative and helpful whilst not being too long or intrusive. Room was tastefully decorated and spacious with views across the lawn towards the bowling green. Breakfast was a delight with something to please everyone's tastebuds. All the staff were friendly and made time to answer questions about the area and places to visit. The building itself is handsome and impressive and the interior decor doesn't let it down. Would we stay again?
ABSOLUTELY

Room Tip: Dine at the Daffodil restaurant. Cocktail at John Gordon's to taste whisky & wine Phone in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed with other two friends in the ground-floor suite here, and we had a wonderful time at Willoughby House. Everything is perfect, and the host family is very kind and friendly. We love the whole atmosphere in this hotel during our stay, they also recommend a great Thai restaurant to us for dinner.

The decorations inside is fantastic! Large space, clean bathroom, comfortable king-size bed... I am also a lover of vintage and old furniture, so it feels that every single accessories in the suite tells a story. Also, the breakfast is very delicious, we also love the lady who served us that morning for our breakfast. She's elegant and helpful which makes us feel at home. Very nice view from a table beside the window, we could enjoy the garden view as well.

The gentlemen who talked to me during our stay is very warm and patient when we want to leave our luggage in the hotel after check out, and he left a lovely note on the door for us to come-in when we get back in the late afternoon. Overall, it is a smart for anyone if you want to have a relaxing and great time in Cheltenham.

We would highly recommend here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Willoughby House Hotel was everything we expected and more! A truly beautiful building, with friendly, helpful owners. My mum and I had a great stay, ideal location for the boutique shops of Montpellier and an easy stroll into the centre.

The room was comfortable, and very clean. The breakfast was delicious. We'd deinitely stay again.

We'd originally booked for 2012 but due to a family crisis had had to cancel at the last minute. Terry (the proprietor) was very kind and said that although a refund wasn't possible, we could use the booked stay at another, more convenient time. True to his word, we stayed this past weekend (Feb 2013) and had a wonderful weekend break. We would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Because of the age of the building some of the lounge areas are a little chilly - wrap up warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Perfect. We have stayed here twice and on each occasion this hotel could not be faulted. Will definitely stay here again. The Cheltenham shopping is just around the corner – no need to drive. Good parking out the front. Easy to find. Welcoming host. Just right for a regency city

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Willoughby House. I stayed with my 9 year old daughter for an exeat weekend. The staff are warm, friendly and courteous - went out of the way to accomodate my requests (i.e, for soya milk, arranging taxis, laundry service, etc.). The building itself is very well maintained and the decor is bursting with Brit nostalgic style. We stayed in the 'Lansdown' room which had all of the standard things you'd expect...en-suite bathroom, coffee/tea making facilities, sofa, double bed and TV. Breakfast is to die for - with organic/free-range options, fresh fruit and croissants and made to order full-English. We will be back to stay at Willoughby House Hotel the next time we're in Cheltenham!

Room Tip: My only real 'complaint' is the Wi-Fi. -- There is Wi-Fi at the hotel but you need to head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Pleasant welcome, nice rooms. Although the bath/shower & sink are in the bedroom, the toilet is closed off though. Had problems with the fan in the toilet-room and as this was connected to the light switch meant sitting in the dark while on the throne! The light above the sink did not work either. The shower head was very stiff and when I turned it off it meant that it was dripping & making a loud noise. So that unless I had a wrench handy in my luggage I was not going to have a peaceful night's sleep with the drip, drip, dripping shower head in the room.
The breakfast was fine, although again for the price charged (£170) it didn't quite make value for money. My advice would be to avoid the room named Adelaide - it's also directly above the kitchen. Maybe the other rooms were fine but from our experience definitely not value for money and in response to my complaints stating that it is an old house does not give people the right for charging such prices.

Room Tip: Avoid Adelaide room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donovamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

2nd stay at Willoughby House. Once again could not fault the hotel, service and food.
The hosts really make you feel like family and go out of their way to make your stay special.

The location could not be better for Cheltenham, no need to take the car into town, as you're 2 mins walk from everything.

Rooms are comfortable and couldn't be cleaner and most importantly, beds are proper sized and comfortable.

We won't stay anywhere else in this area!!

Chris G

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#5 of 69 in Cheltenham
627 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
656 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments

Address: 1 Suffolk Square, Cheltenham GL50 2DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sympathetically converted, the unique hotel is star-listed as a building of special architectural and historical interest, so all essential features are maintained and preserved. However, retaining the charm of a bygone age doesn’t mean lack of mod-cons. From £99 per room, per night, Willoughby House offers affordable luxury throughout its individual rooms (including a four-poster suite with Jacuzzi bath) as well as fresh, homemade breakfasts, personal service, free on-site parking and wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Willoughby House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing