We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for just one night two weeks ago and cannot fault anything. I actually booked hotel through an online company and within minutes we were in the hotel and given our room keys - no waiting whatsoever! Staff were all very helpful and friendly when we checked in. Our room was a standard HI Express room so we got what we expected. What sold this hotel though was its location. Just across the road from The Brewery where we found a selection of restaurants and bars where we enjoyed ice cold sangria and then had a meal. The main shopping streets were just around the corner so we don't think we could have been better placed.

Breakfast was again exactly what we expected so no complaints. Check out went smoothly and we were given a ticket for NCP car park to receive a discount. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very pleased to hear that upon arrival you received a warm and friendly welcome and an efficient check-in; I will pass on your kind words to our front desk team as they will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

We believe it is not just the in-house experience which contributes to our guest’s overall stay and very glad to hear that you took advantage of our excellent town centre location and fantastic discounts at the Brewery Complex.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Many Thanks,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 716 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed last Saturday, the place was clean and tidy, the bed was a bed, the shower was a shower, the TV was a TV, no excitement at all, it was like a storage container with a bathroom in the corner, we have stayed at others but this was a basic, bland, mass market hotel, with no atmosphere, the breakfast was poor, half of what was promised was not there, we went and had breakfast elsewhere, it would be better to offer it cheaper without breakfast, or make sure staff were up in time to full fill there duties..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness as we are constantly striving to improve our guest’s experience.

Holiday Inn Express provides a complimentary breakfast buffet for all guests which is not fixed within the room rate. I am very sorry to hear that not all breakfast options were available and will be looking into this matter further as our breakfast team constantly patrols the buffet service to assure that this never happens.

While we understand that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to show you why we were awarded ‘Hotel of the Year’ 2012.

Yours Sincerely,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Modern, very clean and quiet. Staff friendly, polite and helpful. I have used this hotel when staying for business. It is central being near the town and restaurants. What is good is that you know what you are going to get, which is good when travelling on business. Breakfast is included in price and choice of cereals and breads good. The cooked breakfast on offer could be slightly better. There is also an NCP car park across the road. The hotel also has air con which is brilliant at the moment.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay. I am very glad to hear that our excellent location made your overnight business stay partly leisure with our fantastic discounts with local restaurants and bars.

Thank you for reporting back on our comfort cooling, we are very pleased that your stay with us was more than comfortable during this unusual English weather and hopefully you also made the most of our beautifully landscaped courtyard.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards


Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Holiday Inn Express, Cheltenham. Found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful.The breakfast was good with plenty of choice for a 'continental' option. This hotel does what it says on the tin and is ideal for one or two nights stay. We appreciated the air conditioning as we stayed on the hottest day of the year. We took advantage of the discount vouchers at The Brewery for evening meals. The hotel is ideally situated for walking into the town or the Pittville Park. The only problem for us was that in one bedroom on our floor the occupants decided to hold a rather noisy birthday party which meant we couldn't get to sleep. This was reported to reception and was quickly and professionally dealt with - thank you.

Would stay again if wanted a cheap break in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenh462016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel, made the most of our wide-selection of breakfast options and that our staff not only welcomed you to our hotel but resolved the issue you had later regarding other in-house guests, which we sincerely apologise for.

When guests book directly with our hotel we make sure to understand the purpose of their stay in order to allocate their bedrooms where best suited. Our staff regularly patrol the corridors to identify any disturbances so that they are delt with as soon as possible. By reporting the issue to us straight away we managed to make sure the problem did not escalate, and for that we are very thankful.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future for you to take advantage of our excellent location once again with our constantly updated local discounts and great summer deals. Please contact our front desk team on 01242 548200 if we can further assist with your next booking arrangements.

Many Thanks,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean, comfortable and affordable hotel. Well situated just a short walk from the town centre and close to the "Brewery" leisure complex which has cinema, restaurants etc. Some good pubs nearby as well which are worth a look. Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words expressed towards our establishment. We take great pride in our excellent location and room cleanliness. I hope you made the most of our local discounts whilst visiting the Brewery Complex as we go out of our way to assure our guests experience our value for money stays not only in-house but with our local partnerships.

Should you wish to return to us please contact any member of our Front Desk Team who will be more than happy to recommend other local venues worth visiting.

Warmest regards,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As hotel's go, this one is a standard. Clean, so so maintained, friendly staff and good location. Overall nothing to write home about. However, if you need a place to crash in mid-trip, this hotel suits well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPattersonInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of your room and very glad to hear that our location came in use throughout your stay.

Please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We pride ourselves on the extra services we provide to give our guests more than expected, such as our local discounts with recommended restaraunts/bars and dedicated Front Desk team on hand 24 hours to help you with anything you may need.

We hope to get the chance of welcoming you to our hotel again and showing you why we were awarded 'Hotel of the Year' 2012.

Sincerely,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be a great place to stay for all types of guests. However being an express version, it is geared towards the over night businessmans stay scenario, rather than family long weekends stay scenarios.

Good points:
- Location, very close to a plaza of shops, bars and restaurants
- Free usage of the local Fitness First Gym
- Room value
- Overall Cleanliness
- Food available 24 Hours
- Affiliated offers with local businesses

Bad Points:
- Expensive WiFi (No free WiFi)
- Towels malted all over you (left white fluff all over your clothes)
- Does not have its own car park and parking is £12 a day or £25 for the week, although the hotel can give you a 20% discount at the desk.
- Very little little hanger space to hang clothes - aimed at short stays. No rooms which have more storage, meant i couldnt fully unpack

Overall it was fine, just got to remember its an express version.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnato45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent stay with us. I am very glad to hear you took advantage of our excellent location, your free access to Fitness First Gym & Spa, and noticed our flexibilty on our in-house services.
Your feedback is very important to us, and we appreciate how you have simply noted areas you believe our hotel can improve on. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel and knock a few of those off your list by doing the following;
- Join IHG Rewards Club today, the largest hotel loyalty scheme in the world, completely free of charge and start receiving free internet at our hotel.
- Please accept my apologies for the towels, they were malting as they were brand new, and as soon as this issue was reported we informed our suppliers to assure it will not happen again.
- We offer 25% discount with our neighbouring car park and are constantly trying to imrpove our offer.
- We have extra hangers availible at reception upon request.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I truely hope our reply will help you make the most of your future stays with Holiday Inn Express.

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $73 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing