We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Cheltenham
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spent one night at the Hotel as part of a trip to the races. We usually book out several rooms at the Premier Inn each january but fancied something more central. The hotel is just outside the town centre and has an NCP car park next doo,r which offers 25% discount for residents.

The hotel feels much higher spec than budget options like Premier Inn and the dreaded Travel lodge. There is a nice bar area and it feels more spacious than its rivals. The rooms were a decent size and wifi was also available free of charge. I could not fault the room for the 70quid we paid.

I didnt realise you got breakfast, so to be fair it was a bonus. That said it was a bit sad and you had to join a very big queue for the extra value range hot plates.....I would wander around the corner rather than eat here.

Overall a very good place to stay and nearly got 5 stars given the cost. The breakfast just didnt do it for me and some may prefer free parking at the Premier Inn. That said we will be back next January!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_happy_racegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us. I am very glad to hear that your hotel swap was worth the risk and that you will be returning to stay with us next year. Our excellent location, 24 hour bar and friendly team help create the perfect atmosphere throughout the Cheltenham races.

During these high peak events our complimentary breakfast buffet tends to be a bit busier than usual, as expected. Thank you for your feedback on this matter, we have put in additional race week procedures to ensure all breakfast options are easily accessible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in January. Please contact our Front Desk team today on 01242 548200 to make the most of our advance purchase rates.

Kind Regards,

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 716 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend to visit some friends. Check-in was very smooth, lovely lady (cant remember her name) on reception explained discounts for restaurants over the road and breakfast. Room was good, bed was really comfy and the shower is nice and powerful!
No car park so have to use ncp next door, but hotel provides discount which makes it more reasonable. Will probably stay here next time I visit Cheltenham.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Dunalley st/ courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5by5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your kind comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear you received a warm and friendly welcome upon check-in; I will pass on your kind words to our front desk team as they will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated.

I am very glad to hear you took advantage of our town centre location and fantastic discounts at the Brewery Complex as we believe it is not just the in-house experience which contributes to our guest’s overall stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Please contact our Front Desk Team on 01242 548203 to make the most of our advance purchase rates.

Nicole Conn
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Although others are commenting on the fact the facilities are basic, it's a holiday inn express! So yes it is basic but clean, friendly, fair size rooms and some superb deals for a night away. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runmamarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words directed at our establishment. The staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Town Centre are always happy to hear another guest has had an enjoyable experience and we would very happily welcome you back, should you wish to return. Whenever that may be the case, please feel free to contact any member of reception and they will gladly assist you.

Kindest Regards,
Kimberley Hatherall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here with a group of friends, The rooms were clean but basic.
Hotel staff were excellent. 1hr free internet when you buy a drink from the bar.
Breakfast was ok. not a lot to choose from. The hotel location is excellent.
Car parking you have to use the NCP car park next to the hotel, there is a discount voucher you get from the receptionist at the hotel. If your staying for more than a couple of days it's worth getting a weekly car park pass, £25.00 this allows you to take your car in and out as many times as you want.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here sat 15th dec .Overall a very standard hotel. Rooms were ok clean and bright but ours was next to the main road so noisy.Breakfast was very basic i thought i was sat on a passenger ferry in the dinning hall .Staff at reception were great also the bar staff were good but not enough at breakfast many people sat waiting for tables to be cleaned.Cheltenham races were on during our stay so hotel very busy but i liked that as bar was packed and buzzing with happy race goers .Woken up twice by drunken people getting to bed very late but weve all done that along the way im sure!!!!. Town is only a short walk a way and the brewery pubs and restaurants across the road were very good.If your on a bit of a night out and not looking for anything more than a bed shower , bar, breakfast , and close to town then this is ok for you.

Room Tip: take your ear plugs and lock your door !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinners68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here Dec 8th with three other couples on a weekend away at Cheltenham. The rooms, beds and cleanliness of the building were fine but cooked breakfast unfortunately was the worst any of us had experienced. Sausages, very unappealing scrambled egg and beans only on offer. Premier Inn could really show Holiday Inn the way in this area of customer satisfaction.
Writing this review I am still wondering why we didn't complain! - Yes we should have!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesChalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room was comfortable and very good value for two adults & two children, breakfast (included) had everything we wanted.
Due to a mix-up with the reservation we had to wait in reception for a few minutes while they made up the sofa-bed for the children, they even gave us free drinks while we were waiting.
Note that hotel has no parking of its own (£12 per day in the car park next door) and there is also normally an extra charge for wifi. Complementary access to the sports club across the road is a nice feature, although the salt water swimming pool (cheaper to maintain, apparently!) takes a bit of getting used to!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurelHouse103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#1 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham By Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range: $74 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing