We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Cheltenham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend in Cheltenham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here with a group of friends, The rooms were clean but basic.
Hotel staff were excellent. 1hr free internet when you buy a drink from the bar.
Breakfast was ok. not a lot to choose from. The hotel location is excellent.
Car parking you have to use the NCP car park next to the hotel, there is a discount voucher you get from the receptionist at the hotel. If your staying for more than a couple of days it's worth getting a weekly car park pass, £25.00 this allows you to take your car in and out as many times as you want.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    292
    125
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
209
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here sat 15th dec .Overall a very standard hotel. Rooms were ok clean and bright but ours was next to the main road so noisy.Breakfast was very basic i thought i was sat on a passenger ferry in the dinning hall .Staff at reception were great also the bar staff were good but not enough at breakfast many people sat waiting for tables to be cleaned.Cheltenham races were on during our stay so hotel very busy but i liked that as bar was packed and buzzing with happy race goers .Woken up twice by drunken people getting to bed very late but weve all done that along the way im sure!!!!. Town is only a short walk a way and the brewery pubs and restaurants across the road were very good.If your on a bit of a night out and not looking for anything more than a bed shower , bar, breakfast , and close to town then this is ok for you.

Room Tip: take your ear plugs and lock your door !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brinners68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here Dec 8th with three other couples on a weekend away at Cheltenham. The rooms, beds and cleanliness of the building were fine but cooked breakfast unfortunately was the worst any of us had experienced. Sausages, very unappealing scrambled egg and beans only on offer. Premier Inn could really show Holiday Inn the way in this area of customer satisfaction.
Writing this review I am still wondering why we didn't complain! - Yes we should have!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesChalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Room was comfortable and very good value for two adults & two children, breakfast (included) had everything we wanted.
Due to a mix-up with the reservation we had to wait in reception for a few minutes while they made up the sofa-bed for the children, they even gave us free drinks while we were waiting.
Note that hotel has no parking of its own (£12 per day in the car park next door) and there is also normally an extra charge for wifi. Complementary access to the sports club across the road is a nice feature, although the salt water swimming pool (cheaper to maintain, apparently!) takes a bit of getting used to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurelHouse103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. Bathroom was spotless. Everything was as you would expect - I would have gone 5 stars except for the breakfast. There was English breakfast but bacon not included so sausage and eggs were all you can eat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

stayed for 2 nights 1st to 3rd dec. lovely hotel spotless clean linen and towels clean room clean receptionists very friendly and helpful especially james. breakfast very nice good variety for all free daily newspapers and food in hotel from bar snacks very good. so close to all shops and the brewery for meals and entertainment. would highly recommend and would not hesitate to return. well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My I take the time to kindly thank you for your very positive comments. To have such a happy guest is every Hoteliers dream!

Here at the Holiday Inn Express - Cheltenham Town Centre, we always pride ourselves in having the cleanest environment and most efficient staff, both of which ensure that time spent by guests in our Hotel is an enjoyable and warm experience.

If you wish to return to Cheltenham, please do visit us again as our Reception team would gladly welcome your return.

Kindest regards,
Kimberley Hatherall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been stay this hotel for 3 nights, very nice location, the room was clean and staff was very helpful. and the price including breakfast. this hotel is qite good value. The only thing I could complain about is they don't do free wifi. WIFI serivice is charge in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyHIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting such positive comments about our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are pleased to offer all our guests free WIFI in the lobby and bar areas when you purchase any item from our bar.

If we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future please do contact us directly reservations@hiexcheltenham.com for the best available deals.

Kindest Regards,
Kimberley Hatherall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
Address: 33 Dunalley Street, Cheltenham GL50 4AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD WINNER - 'Hotel of the Year 2012' Award!We welcome you to the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel, opposite The Brewery complex. This exciting hotel is perfectly located in Cheltenham Town Centre, and is a short journey from Cheltenham Racecourse. Cheltenham is a beautiful spa town located in the heart of The Cotswolds, famous for its horse racing, Regency heritage and architecture. Easy access to the hotel via M5, Junction 10, and 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station and 50 miles to Bristol Airport. Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel offers 132 air conditioned en suite bedrooms with modern facilities including high speed internet access and WIFI. All room rates include Complimentary Continental Buffet Breakfast. Guests have free use of health facilities at Fitness First, along with up to 25% off food at well known branded restaurants opposite the hotel. NCP car parking is available adjacent to the hotel. ***Don't forget to book now for this years Summer Festivals in Cheltenham***. Getting out and about, see Cheltenham, the Cotswolds, Cheltenham Racecourse, the Cotswold Wildlife Park, Westonbirt Arboretum, Sudeley Castle, Slimbridge Wild Fowl Trust and the Forest of Dean. So whether you re visiting Cheltenham for meetings, business or pleasure, you will receive a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham Hotel Cheltenham
Holiday Inn Cheltenham
Cheltenham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing