We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint cottage, lovely location, fabulous stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Guggle

Enclosed garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed garden
Kitchen Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Enclosed garden
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Shower Room
Lounge
Garden
The Guggle 'Room'
Downstairs double - with ensuite
The Guggle entrance
Lounge Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emer78
Wirral, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage, lovely location, fabulous stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful cottage in a lovely village. Decorated to a good standard and comfortable. Also in a good location to visit the other areas in the Cotswolds. It didn't have off road parking, but we had 3 cars between us and never struggled to park right outside.

A few reasons for not giving 5 stars are, the kitchen table was far too big. We understood that they were trying to cater for the amount of people that can stay at the cottage, but it just took up too much room and made it difficult to get around the kitchen. Secondly, we had to boil water on the hob for tea/coffee. It might sound minor, but when there are so many people and kids involved, it's much quicker and easier to boil a kettle. Finally, as lovely as it was, the fireplace was very dangerous when you've little ones.
Despite these things we would recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhonaB186
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Girls on Tour”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just home from a fabulous long weekend in the Guggle. Fantastic cottage , everything we needed for our girlie retreat !! Lots of walking , eating , drinking and laughing ... Weather was also first class so all in all a great time had by all .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancheste...
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Needs”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were 2 couples, our respective son and daughter and their two children (3 and 4 months). This cottage was perfect for our needs with the younger family on the middle floor and the older couples on the ground and top floor. Lovely kitchen and lounge with the star attraction being the fire. The 3 year old loved it although understood that she was not allowed too near it! The narrow winding stairs could have been an issue but again the 3 year old loved them and was very careful.
Nice village with all you need including the "Wheatsheaf" 200 yards away. We went to Bourton on the Water and the Daylesford for lunch.
Since we wanted to spend time together we didn't want to cook so thought about a takeaway then Emma told us about Bex who will cater for you. Well the two meals we had from her were excellent and very reasonable so don't even think about a takeaway! Her winter salad was so exceptional that I asked her for the recipe.
All in all a lovely birthday weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulube
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Guggle is a beautiful cottage with all the facilities you need for a relaxing break. The garden was very secure for our dogs. Northleach is a very friendly and well located base for exploring the Cotswolds. We would highly recommend a visit to both the Guggle and Northleach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and location of the property
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well appointed and wonderfully quirky property.”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent a wonderful week in The Guggle. The 4 double rooms are all of generous size, 2 of which are en-suite and the other 2 share a well appointed shower room. The kitchen-diner has everything you would need/expect to prepare meals and the table comfortably seats 8 grown adults. The lounge is spacious and has a huge, working open fireplace - perfect for a cosy night in. The cottage itself has a long and varied past and the history of the 'Guggle' room, and its association with the church, is very interesting! A wonderful property in an engaging and historic town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: The thud as our tall boys (6'+) repeatedly bumped their head on the low beams in the lounge... though it was very amusing! LOL.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Liked least: Tiny shower in one of the rooms
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tara8724
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage!”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I rented the cottage for my friends hen do and it couldn't have been more perfect. The house is beautful inside and out, very clean, well equipped, and the perfect size for a big group. The house is full of character and the garden is very well kept - making it a lovely place to chill in the sunshine. Emma was a pleasure to deal with throughout the booking process and even left us chocolates and milk for our arrival. I would highly recommend renting one of her three cottages. As for the cottage's location, it is in walking ditance to a very lovely pub which does beautiful food, and close to a dainty wine bar. Northleach is a really lovely place (very picturesque!) and having a wander around is definitely worth while. Don't be expecting wild nightlife though - it just isn't that kind of place! Thank you to Emma for allowing us use of The Guggle - I would return in a heartbeat and repeat the whole weekend all over again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage's character!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing