We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful, relaxing place.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Lake House

The private apartment is on the left of the building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The private apartment is on the left of the building
Sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine while taking in your surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The private apartment is on the left of the building
Sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine while taking in your surroundings
View from lounge window
Beautiful at any time of year
Beautiful Bourton at Christmas - 5 mins walk away
Lovely old buildings in Bourton
Bourton with its restaurants, pubs, cafes & shops along the rive
One of Bourton's many footbridges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gavin B
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A peaceful, relaxing place.”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have just had our second visit to Lake House, this time for a full week. We cannot praise the apartment and it's surroundings enough. Alison and Norman are the perfect hosts, always smiling, and friendly .Lake house is perfect for the short walk into Bourton, whilst being far enough away to escape the busy atmosphere that the village attracts. Our week was additionally improved by the fact that we had fantastic weather. One of the pleasures, is walking into the lounge first thing in the morning to see the lake's reflection casting the flickering sunlight through the windows. Lake house is ideally centrally situated for visiting some of the lovely Cotswolds villages and towns, without having to do too much mileage.
We didn't want to leave, we were so relaxed by the end of our week it felt like we had been there for ever. We can certainly recommend Lake House, and we will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay and hope to see you again. Our best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuluDol
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice view of the lake”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at the Lake House for 5 days, we booked after seeing the pictures of the lake which is beautiful and just as shown. We did see the resident heron on multiple occasions each day plus ducks and geese which were interesting to watch. The apartment was quite new with a nice bathroom and kitchen and comfortable lounge suite and was very convenient to walk into Bourton-on-the-Water. The reason I have not given the Lake House a higher rating is because we found the bed firm and creaky (like sleeping on creaky floorboards) and the hot water was barely hot enough for a shower. I would have liked to give it an excellent rating but felt the bed particularly was an issue for us. If you don’t mind a firm bed then this might not be the issue it was for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
So sorry you found the bed uncomfortable. I do understand, as I am very fussy myself when away. However, it's really difficult to suit everyone as a mattress is such a personal thing. We have had guests comment on how comfortable it is and that they had their best sleep ever. We haven't had any other complaints about the shower so not sure why it wasn't hot enough for you, but am investigating as I don't want anyone's holiday spoiled by things we can fix. Thank you for letting me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2018
Thank you both. We loved having you to stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sav C
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The first place we saw on Bourton on the Water and we feel in love with it straight away. love and first sight. Planning on coming back in the summer but staying for a week as only stayed 2 nights this time. Alison was amazing very friendly snd made us feel very welcome. the Lake House is Paradise in Earth . Thank you agaim felt so much at home recommended it to all friends and family to go visit and stay. they loved the photos and videos.

Love Sav

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Thank you very much for your great comments. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac197329...
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pre-Christmas trip”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderfully quiet location. Amazing views over lake and loved watching the birds with a cup of tea from the warmth of lounge.
Friendly owners who made a huge effort to meet us as we were in and out a lot!
A lovely town, interesting shops, footpath walks aplenty.
We would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
It was a pleasure having you stay. Thank you and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewed November 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location - Bourton-on-the-Water is just a couple of minutes stroll and setting is superb”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Very, very spacious and comfortable. Excellent location, so much to see and do in Bourton-on-the-Water - all right on the doorstep - virtually opposite Birdland and less than 5 minutes stroll from Model Village, Motor Museum and town centre.
Weather wasn't kind to us, but none the less plenty to do.
Host very welcoming (chocolates a lovely surprise). Would definitely recommend. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2017
Disappointed to not maintain my 5* reviews, but I do appreciate that our unpredictable British weather can make or break a stay!! Sorry it wasn't good during your time here, but thank you for your kind comments despite that. Hope you have chance to return sometime and have a warmer and dryer experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing