We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Lake House

The private apartment is on the left of the building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The private apartment is on the left of the building
Sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine while taking in your surroundings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The private apartment is on the left of the building
Sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine while taking in your surroundings
View from lounge window
Beautiful at any time of year
Beautiful Bourton at Christmas - 5 mins walk away
Lovely old buildings in Bourton
Bourton with its restaurants, pubs, cafes & shops along the rive
One of Bourton's many footbridges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay! ”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a 10 day holiday and it was absolutely amazing. The apartment itself is stunning and everything inside of it looks new and has a homely feel to it, which we both really liked. Alison the owner is a fantastic host and a very welcoming person and was always there for us when we needed anything.
The lake the apartment overlooks is genuinely amazing, there was ducks and ducklings there pretty much all day, we also saw a heron and some geese.
The apartment is also located just in the right place, you are approximately a 5 minute walk from the high street, there is also 3 or 4 different attractions before you get to the high street.
If you have any doubts about booking up just forget them and do it! You will love it!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thank you for that wonderful review and it makes me very happy to know you enjoyed your stay so much. Very much hope to see you again. You were great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby562...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend break ”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned home from a lovely weekend away. Apartment is everything we'd hope for and more. Spotlessly clean, modern and well furnished. Only a stones throw from the village, which as an array of cafes, pubs, restaurants and places of interest. Would definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connor P
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you could want for a quiet break away.”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights in March and was pleasantly surprised at this lovely little apartment; the pictures don't do it justice. It is in a great location, only a minute walk away from bird land and another minute to Bourton-on-the-water.

The owners have listed some recommendations that you can find in the coffee table draw, these were very helpful and we visited some lovely tea rooms and restaurants while there.

Would definitely come again. If you can, visit Stow-on-the-wold too.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The lake house Bourton on the Water”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at The Lake House from Sat 27/2 for 2 nights. We was a little early and arrived 15 mins before the 2 o clock check in time and was met by Alison's husband Norm. He explained everything to us ie where to park the car etc. Explained that feel free to to have a walk around the owned beautiful teaming birdlife of lake of which the apartment overlooks with lovely views. I spent most early mornings watching the coots chase each other around the outskirts of the lake. The apartment was clean, tidy and nice and warm on a cold day. Just perfect for my partner who'd only the day before had come back from being away in South Sudan for a month on a humanitarian aid project. So Alison & Norm you made our couple of nights away just perfect. And Bourton on the Water is the prettiest place in the Cotswolds. So anyone who'd like to visit Bourton on the Water look no further this is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonzalo d
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you want”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my wife stayed for two days, the lake house was great for us. The apartment itself was clean, really nicely presented and had everything we needed, including a well stocked kitchen which we used on one of the nights. 5 minute walk in to Bourton, and positioned right on its on lake.

Owners were very friendly, and on hand if we needed anything but we also found it really provite. Would stay again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
107sandra
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

gorgeous, lovely getaway for couples , the lake house was very clean spacious and had everything you would need for a long weekend break, easy to walk into the local town.fishing is also onsite which is a bonus if you love fishing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Lovely place of the world and a lovely little place to stay in with a view of the privately owned lake.

On arrival we found a bottle of bubbly and a birthday card for my wife which was a nice touch

Overall this place in clean and very relaxing would definitely recommend or maybe even visit again

Thank you
Alison

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing