We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best cottage weekend ever”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Nethercote House

Nethercote House - A beautiful 6 bedroom detached house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nethercote House - A beautiful 6 bedroom detached house
A traditional Cotswold stone house located only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the village The patio area accessed via the French doors from the Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Nethercote House - A beautiful 6 bedroom detached house
A traditional Cotswold stone house located only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the village
The patio area accessed via the French doors from the Kitchen/Diner
Stylish Kitchen with solid wood cabinets, granite work tops and stone floor
Dining table with seating for 10 and bench at breakfast bar to seat 4
View from the dining area back to the kitchen
View out to the garden whilst sat in the dining area
Sitting room with traditional stone fireplace and log burner
Sitting room has seating for 6 adults, Freeview TV and DVD
View from the Sitting room to the rear garden
Log burning stove for those chilly winter evenings!
The Snug with an L-shape sofa to seat 4 adults, flat screen TV and DVD
The view from the Snug looking out over the stone wall and beyond
Master suite with King size bed, en-suite bathroom and walk in wardrobe
The en-suite bathroom to the Master with a separate walk in shower
Double bedroom with built in wardrobes on the first floor
Twin bedroom on the first floor with built in wardrobes
Generous double bedroom with bay window overlooking the rear garden
Twin bedroom on the ground floor
Character features have been symapthetically integrated within the renovation
Idyllic Bourton on the Water with the River Windrush running through its heart
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephhend...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best cottage weekend ever”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Its in the most idyllic place and is the most beautiful house.
Clean and tidy on arrival with towel for everyone! A welcome basket to greet the guests!
By far the best reunion we have ever had! 14 of us comfortably fit and loved every minute! Thanks Michael!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBro...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb, well equipped family house in excellent location”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Nethercote house for one week in May 2015. We were 4 couples and had 4 kids under the age of 4. The house works really well in that format as all the bedrooms are spacious and there are plenty of bathrooms. The decor is excellent throughout and the house has a stunning kitchen with a large communal table. The lounge is cosy but still comfortably sat all 8 adults. There is also a separate snug for older kids to use with a sofa, TV and DVD player.

The garden is a nice size and there is also a garage with table tennis and table football available with plenty of space to store bikes, etc. We comfortably parked 4 cars on the driveway.

The house is location location as you are a 5 min walk away from the centre of Bourton on the Water. The walk is very scenic as you can follow the river into the town. There are plenty of places to eat and drink. There also lots of things to do in the town (model railway, car museum, wonder around the shops, Birdland) and you're a short drive away from many other scenic towns.

We would highly recommend this house. Our only slight issue was the master bedroom was above the lounge and there is virtually no sound proofing. Surprisingly our son slept through the noise of the adults below but if we went to bed first it was hard to sleep as it felt like you are in the same room.

Everything else is exceptional and the owner had excellent communications with us and was great to deal with. We are highly likely to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, wonderful location”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I planned a surprise 40th birthday weekend here with extended family in lieu of a trip to France and we were not disappointed.
The house is beautiful and perfect for entertaining - a true home from home. I would only add that the attic bedroom might get a bit stuffy and is probably more suited to children or shorter members of the party as it is a pitched roof.
the master bedroom is beautiful and you can tell a lot of thought and effort has been put into the decoration and ensuring people have a great stay. also worth noting the games room - table-tennins kept us entertained well into the night!
The owner was very professional and helpful.
The property is a 5-10 minute walk into the town/village centre. Bourton - on -water is a really pretty place to stay and visit, although got quite busy as we the lucked out with a rare sunny weekend!
I would definitely recommend this property and have already had requests from the family to visit again in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: master bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Beautiful House - just as described. 5 mins walk from village. Perfect for a large group of friends. Well appointed and large kitchen, huge table that fit all 12 of us around it comfortably, comfortable, pretty bedrooms. Welcome pack. Great communication with the owner. We would definitely recommend and definitely visit again. A brilliant place to stay. It Had Everything We Needed!!!!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineLS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful, gem of a house.”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We six 'young ladies' had the most wonderful, memorable stay last week at Nethercote House for a college reunion. Some of us hadn't seen each other for more than 30 years, but it really did seem no time at all since we were at college together, and we were just the same girls inside!! The house was just wonderful, really couldn't have been better, just perfect for our few days of eating, drinking, chatting, laughing as well as a bit of sight seeing and shopping. We all absolutely loved the house, beautifully appointed, extremely clean, and so cosy for evenings chatting over several glasses of wine in front of the log fire. We found the kitchen and dining area so sociable with plenty of room to sit and chat while the cooking was happening, and the three fridges were great, one reserved as solely a wine fridge! The six bedrooms meant we could have one each. We drew lots for the fabulous master suite. The lucky winner was over the moon, saying she never wins anything and was very excited to win a bedroom.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVB1991
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend!”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Nethercote House for a hen do party of 12. Perfect location. Brilliant house, has everything you need and is very comfortable to stay in.
5 mins walk from the picturesque town centre.
Recommend staying here if you're in Bourton on the Water!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect house! Lovel weekend! Couldn't have been any better!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have just come back from a stay at Neathercote House and i wanted to make sure i put a review on here immediately as this property really is amazing. There were 9 adults and 6 children altogether (one was a baby). The property was so clean i was shocked! Not the slighest bit of dust or dirt anywhere and even lovier in the flesh than the pics.

Micheal ensured that the instuctions were clear and the basket of bacon, milk, eggs, tea, coffee etc was so kind and a lovely gesture.

Location was fantastic and a short walk into the Burton on the Water.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing