We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint Cotswold Cottage in awesome location!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dj3
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint Cotswold Cottage in awesome location!”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I (age 50's-60"s) recently returned from a 16 day trip to England. Our 3 day stay in the Cotswolds at Lavender Cottage and Bourton on the Water were our favorite place and we definitely recommend it. For the Cotswold part of our trip we wanted a true cottage experience with the convenience of modern updates and that's what we found at Lavender Cottage. Built in the late 17th century it has the stone exterior, beautiful garden, and interior architecture true to that time, but also a large modern bathroom (shower only) and beautifully updated kitchen area (with granite and tile) with everything you need plus laundry etc. Not fancy, but very comfortable décor and suitable for adults and children alike. Two medium size comfy couches frame the fireplace equipped with a modern heater. Plenty of room to stretch out and great for the evening when it turned a little cold. We loved the music collection and there were also dvds for evening entertainment. The stairs are fairly narrow and twist, so it was a little challenging getting our 2 large suitcases up to the bedroom, but we managed none the less. Bedroom was pretty much filled up by the bed, but plenty of storage underneath, plus a small closet and small amount of drawer space. Not particularly spacious but again we felt this and the stairs were all part of the charm we were looking for. We did not use the 2nd floor bedroom but did remark our son would have loved it! The pictures we've seen on tirpadvisor area are very accurate. The small garden was beautiful and equipped with a patio seating area. Hilary was a great host, met us at the cottage when we first checked in and was great about checking out tourist sites we expressed interest in. Lots of books, walking guides,brochures etc kept on the book shelves. She provided us with the basics in the frig - including a bottle of wine! Felt very comfortable that she would help us with any issues that should arise in a timely fashion (none did).The Cottage is perfectly located on a village green behind the main street, in a quiet non touristy area. Parking was easy and we never had a problem getting a space right out front. Five minute walk to the middle of town, and to all it's attractiions. We were there in May so their weren't too many tourists, but they were typically gone by 2-3:00 anyway. We enjoyed sitting at the river side restaurants in the evening when we had it to ourselves Lots of good restaurants and interesting attractions within the village that were worthwhile, Dragon Fly maze, Car museum, and the miniature village were our favorites - highly recommend for both adults and families. Many other villages located close by to explore, and we especially enjoyed visiting Snowshill Manor. We wanted a village with with plenty to do and a comfortable cottage to relax in, and Lavender Cottage and Bourton on the water filled that perfectly. Our only regret was we couldn't stay a little longer.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2015
I'm glad you found the perfect place for some relaxation during your UK trip and that you appreciated the quirkiness of an old cottage. Thank you for taking the time to post this comprehensive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the peaceful, yet central, location of Lavender Cottage. We'd love to welcome you again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jross384
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quintessential Cotswolds Cottage”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely cottage, perfect for 4 people, cosy,well equipped and maintained, spotlessly clean and perfectly located. The owners left us a very generous welcome pack and personal gifts as they knew we were celebrating a special anniversary. We wished we could have stayed longer and can't wait to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No off-road parking but easy to park nearby
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration in this beautiful part of the Cotswolds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryRo...
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise in beautiful cotswolds!”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lavender cottage is truly a slice of paradise in the gorgeous village of Bourton on Water, in the quintessially English cotswolds! Alistair and Hillary have been extremely thoughtful and the attention to detail is amazing! Spotlessly clean, just around the corner from the village centre, cosy and serene. The energy here is calm, unrushed and meditative. Much recommended and I definitely hope to be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience of the cottage and the area. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your "family time" here. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you return to England.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage, great location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
Thank you for posting this review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
C J
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enthustastic Recommendation for Lavender Cottage”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lavender Cottage! It is ideally located for exploring the region. Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon, and Blenheim Palace are each about an hour’s drive. All the most beautiful and charming Cotswolds villages and towns are much closer. Bourton-on-the-Water was crowded with daytrippers many days, but by late afternoon the crowds simply disappear. Lavender cottage is 100 yards from the Water, yet each night was silent and peaceful, every morning calm and lovely. The cottage is comfortable and welcoming. Beds, shower, kitchen all first rate – AND Hilary provides coffee, tea, milk, cereal, bread, and jam (plus wine and beer) upon arrival, so if you roll in late, your breakfast groceries are already on hand, so no dash to the market! We’d give this place SIX stars if we could; it’s the best self-catering we’ve ever enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lavender Cottage and Bourton-on-the-Water. I bet you're in need of a holiday after your busy time in the Cotswolds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy, comfortable and right in the middle of town”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the moment that the booking was confirmed the communication from Hilary was absolutely superb and meant that she was able make the little touches that made our stay even better. Things like providing us with a lockable area for our bikes, bike route guides and three bottles of Hobgoblin beer on the counter.

Upon arrival I was amazed to find what was already in the fridge: milk, butter and juice, as well plenty of different teas and coffee in the cupboards. Above and beyond what I was expecting.

The cottage itself is clearly very well maintained and the furnishing just adds to the cosy cottage feel, which was exactly what I was after. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the shower is also very good. In terms of locations you couldn't be much closer to the centre of Bourton on the Water but it is still so peaceful.

Lavender Cottage ticked all the boxes and I therefore cannot find fault with it. Hilary and Alistair quite clearly want everyone who stays there to have the best possible experience and they do so much to ensure that is the case.

I hope to return, this time with my family, in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Things in the fridge and cupboards, just so unexpected
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage and all that it offers. I'm sure the sunshine helped, too! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing