We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we visited Bourton-on-the-Water, and based our decision on the many positive reviews that Chestnuts received on Tripadvisor. We were looking to stay in a place with character and charm...we are definitely not 5-star luxury hotel travelers! This old building suited us just fine; it had such a quaint feel and great location. We were in an attic room which was suitable for our family of three. The room was slightly tight space-wise for all of us, and had a double/queen bed for the adults and a smaller (single?) for our son. The bathroom was extremely tiny, and with us being tall people, there were several incidents of elbow- and head-banging! However, we really only used the room at night for sleeping, so we actually didn't have need for extra space beyond that which was available. Our room faced out into the street and was a bit noisy with people coming out of he pubs across the street late at night. Unfortunately, due to the heat wave present during our visit, we needed our windows open, even at night. Last but not least, the breakfast made and served by our hosts was fantastic. It had all the cooked options you could wish for, not to mention an impressive continental selection. We opted for the full English breakfast each day, and were not disappointed. It was hot, cooked to order, and not greasy. We also loved the smoked salmon option...my son and I ordered that and concluded we were starting our days with a little bit of heaven!

Room Tip: I think a room facing the car park out back might be quieter than ones facing the street if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I booked a room at Chestnuts for 2 nights over New Years after reading the various good reviews on trip advisor and various other accommodation sites. The hotel was fairly easy to find despite arriving in the dark and we were welcomed by the owners who are excellent hosts. Our room was well appointed and had coffee/tea making facilities, a decent sized ensuite bathroom and 4 poster bed.
The B&B is a beautiful old building and has plenty of character plus a lovely public lounge with books and games to entertain during your stay. It is situated in the heart of Bourton-on-the-Water and is a perfect base to explore the cotswolds.
The breakfast is excellent with a choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurts as well as a cooked breakfast. You can pre-order scrambled egg and salmon which is all included or have a fry up.
The hosts were happy to help with the many requests that we had and were brilliant during our stay.
I would say that this hotel is perfect for couples or those looking to explore the Cotswolds with home comforts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherwibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed or stay at Chesnuts and the owners made us feel right at home. We were given a great parking space out front and the rooms were well kept. Free tea and coffee anytime and terrific breakfasts. There are many paper guides available to use and one of our favorite was a walk from the B&B through Bourton to Upper and Lower Slaughter, beautiful! We were also given great recommendations about where the best pubs and restaurants are in Bourton. All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: Make sure to leave time to eat breakfast as it is great and cooked to order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auldtriangle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Friendly and welcoming. Room tidy and plenty of tea/coffee and he yourself to refills! TV not brilliant. Plentiful toiletries, hot water and clean towels. The breakfasts were excellent, a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and an excellent cooked breakfast with choice of eggs and all freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverleylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sadly Janet forgot that she had been promised us a special room for our wedding anniversary. The room we were given (in the attic) was small, on a lean and under whelming. We were offered a discount on our price when checking out but unfortunately our special night had passed.

PROS; Located right in the middle of this delightful village

CONS; Loaction of entry to property in a bit tricky to locate (drive into Dial House driveway)
Zero water pressure in attic room.
If a person was larger than 100kg or taller than 5ft 10inches, I don’t think they’d fit in
the shower cubicle.
Lots of narrow winding stairs – not good if you have sizeable luggage

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrissyGirl-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just spent the weekend in the Cotswolds with my partner, and we had a wonderful time. We stayed at The Chestnuts B & B in Bourton-on-the-Water and were very well looked after by Janet & Bob. Nice place, good hearty breakfast, very clean & very central for visiting the surrounding towns & villages.Would recommend The Chestnuts to anyone who wants to visit The Cotswolds, and we had brilliant weather to top the weekend off, an excellent break..........well worth it!
Susan Homer, Swindon Wilts.

Room Tip: A bit difficult to find........its round the back of The Chestnuts Pharmacy, off the High St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms. Mum in her 70's ended up in attic room up steep flight of stairs. We had room next door, not at all clean, in fact filthy by my standards, shame could have a gem there. However , the hosts were great, friendly and helpful, breakfasts ok too, come on, get the housekeeping sorted!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzyshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Chestnuts b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing