We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in room 2 in the attic. The B and B is in a lovely location, it actually couldnt be better for shops, pubs, restaurants and the beautiful centre of the village. The owners were lovely, the accommodation was very quirky, a 300 year old listed building with all sorts of twists and turns. The floor in the bedroom was uneven and slanted so you do have to be careful if getting out of bed in the night. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. There is no ground floor accommodation and parking is available but limited. We would return to this fantastic place and may book to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we spent a couple of nights at Chestnuts, beautiful 300 year old building in the centre of the town of Bourton on the Water. luxurious accommodation, wonderful breakfast and a very cosy couple of nights spent away from home, wonderful breakfast and courteous efficient service throughout. a bargain break! would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: any room on the first floor would be my choice again - near to the communal fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitacrawley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The B and B is in an amazing location,the rooms are quirky, but lovely and comfortable. Sadly due to a family situation we had to leave earlier than expected, but the kindness and understanding of Janet and Bob was outstanding.

We wil definately be back to visit and complete our tour of the area.

Room Tip: we have a teenage son, who slept great in the single bed in our triple family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyhot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our children booked our stay for our anniversary after finding Chestnuts B&B on the internet. It was a little hard to find on arrival as it is tucked away behind a row of shops but a quick phone call to the lovely owner soon had us on the right track. A lovely little B&B with loads of character-our room was up in the attic and had a lovely quirky feel. Everything you needed was provided and the breakfasts were super. The owners were delightful, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble-definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AClark64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely B&B in the centre of Bourton, the location is absolutely perfect, great value for money and it also has free parking which is always helpful. It can be a little tricky to find if you don't come prepared, we put the postcode in our sat nav and assumed we'd locate the accomodation from that once we got to Bourton - we didn't! It is tucked away.

The building is beautiful, there isn't a square wall or level floorboard to be found, exposed wooden beams, sash windows etc, lovely.

Bob and Jane were very welcoming and friendly, the breakfast is excellent (especially the scrambled eggs) and there's ample information provided on local walks, places to eat etc.
We stayed in room 6 which was well sized, included a fire place and overlooked the village green. The guest lounge was very comfortable as well.

Just a few minor tweaks - our tv was an old 12" portable, but, you don't come to Bourton to watch tv! Although the shower worked ok, it's quite old and could do with replacing. Finally, the website does say the "Breakfast is served in our delightful dining room overlooking the river and village green", but, the breakfast room doesn't overlook the river or green.

When we return to Bourten we'll certainly consider staying at Chestnuts again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bob and Janet were very good hosts and the breakfast was good. we booked by phone and were told the room had a nice view of the river which turned out to be a small side window which you had to lean out to see it. The room was an attic room with very steep stairs ( I am 70 ). my wife while carrying her suitcase up, banged her head on a pertruding beam, no apology was given.
The shower room was VERY small and wasn.t very clean,the door was hard to open as the latch didn't lift properly the toilet seat was loose(although it was repaired after we complained). the TV was an old 14in stuck high up on the wall that far away from the bed that you could not read the channels. bed was a moden iron bed of which
the head board was like a railing so when you sat up to watch TV your head would fall through
the gaps. All in all not a very pleasent stay. Suggest the host stay in the room to experience it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

we have just stayed here for 3 nights and we both found it to be a very nice place to stay with very accommodating owners,the breakfasts were superb with a variety of fresh fruit and cereals and of course the full english,i even had soft boiled eggs which you dont get to see much at other b &bs.
also a very nice lounge area with tv,books and board games for those rainy days
set right in the heart of this very picturesque little village 3 great pubs within a stones throw(try the king burger at the kingsbridge).
and the quirky motor museum is well worth a visit too.
all in all a most enjoyable weekend had at the chestnuts.
thank you very much jan & bob hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#4 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts b&b
Chestnuts Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing