We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab-U-lous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of  Wellington
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourton-on-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duke of Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fab-U-lous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Brilliant... food was great; very friendly... it had turned a tad cold when we arrived, we mentioned this and they turned the Radiators on... so in my book they are stars...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank step324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    50
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
72
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st.neots
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

stayed two nights,hottest week for years and cannot fault the place.room was fine bed was comfortable had two breakfasts and two evening meals and the food was excellant.tea,coffee,bottled water in the room,all the toiletries and more were there which you would expect but was told to take them home if i wanted (we all do but appreciated being told to).the rooms are not the biggest in the world but its a pub so what do you expect and it was big enough for our needs. its not situated along the high street so can be missed but its literally a few yards away .but the biggest plus is the friendliness of the staff which we appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have just stayed for three nights over the Bank holiday. Everyone was very helpful and friendly with a great sense of humour. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. We had dinner bed and breakfast which was very good value. There was bottled water with the tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Also toiletries in the bathroom ,which you dont always get now. Outside there is a very nice decking area overlooking the river.
They say if there is anything that you want just ask.. We will be back.








they state

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed in Bourton over the bank holiday weekend and found this wonderful little Inn in the village. They don't pretend to be a hotel as other reviews suggest. The staff are friendly and helpful which is unique these days. The room are small but exactly what we expected from a village inn. Clean and tidy and great value for money if you have the two course all inclusive deal for £105 per room. So good we booked to come back again. Fabulous carvery on the sunday, credit to the managment team, I have read previous reviews and you can see that these people really care about the customers and guests. Well done and thankyou

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Positives:
Bar staff very friendly, comfortable mattress, convenient location, on-site car park, village very pretty.
Negatives:
Smallest room we've ever stayed in, tiny window overlooking car park and rubbish bins, clanking, thudding pipes when you turn on the shower, tiny bathroom and walls need re-painting or at least cleaning, hallway/stair carpets need a damn good vacuuming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyfromBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed a night at the Duke of Wellington and it is situated right in the heart of Bourton on the Water - it is a pub so there is noise from downstairs but it closed at 11pm and didn't cause us any problem. The room we had was pretty small - just enouth room for the bed and bedside cupboards - but very clean, nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable, in-room tea and coffee was provided. There was an adequate on-suite and complimentary toilletries were provided.
Breakfast was ok - I'm not one the full english so can't comment on that - I usually have cerial/fruit and toast. The range of cereal was not very good - weetabix/cornflakes & rice crispies I think - some alpen or similar would have been a good addition and there was no fruit. I did order some toast and I have to say I was given enough to last me all day!
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was good. With a little more attention to detail with the breakfast this would be difficult to find fault with for a B & B in this price range (for this area which is very pretty and a tourist trap!)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 and it was pretty small with no view at all so try another
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aromagirlCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

we found the hotel to be quite adequate, the staff were friendly and try their very best for you. The breakfast was fine...we are not raving about this hotel because it wasn't BUT if you go with the thought they are trying you will have a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grovevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.1 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#13 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Wellington

Property: Duke of Wellington
Address: Sherborne Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Duke Of Wellington Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing