We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don' use the toilet !!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Green and Pleasant

Green and Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clacton on sea
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don' use the toilet !!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a beautiful village, wonderful scenery. Went into the Green and Pleasant for a cream tea, there were 5 of us. One large scone, butter in a foil, jam in a small plastic peal back container, also this was how the clotted cream was presented, really disappointed. After we had finished a toilet visit was needed. Well, if we had visited the toilet before we had eaten, we would have certainly walked out. Totally disgusting, mould on the walls and the curtain, nothing to wash your hands with or dry them with. Toilet filthy, Health and safety would have a field day!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaC118179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    75
    31
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awful food, grubby surroundings”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This cafe has the advantage of being right on the water in a prime spot. Unfortunately the soup took about 20 mins to arrive. The "French" bread was almost frozen in the middle and the fruit scone for afters was a little like one of those sponge stress balls in consistency.

The toilet was miserable with no towels ... but there was a very dirty dish towel on the window sill!

The couple next to us were told that the scones were "made fresh YESTERDAY"!

A very sad place that looked as though it was close to shutting up shop forever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ate here as it had such a lovely position on the river bank. Unfortunately that's where the good news stops. It doesn't know what it is - a furniture shop, an ice-cream shop or a tea room - and it does all three very averagely. The open window for serving the ice-cream mean that it's cold and draughty, the 3 waitresses serving can never hope to cope with the custom and maybe that also makes them somewhat stressed. Just so calling for a proper makeover...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Je_J_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pleasant~but not great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

On entering you are greeted with a restaurant on the left and a kitchen and countertop on the right which is a bit confusing as it looks like 2 seperate cafes.We sat down to look at the menu,and were told to come to the counter when we were ready to order,which was a dampener as waitress service would have been a nice touch.I ordered the egg mayonnaise sandwich and was told there wasn't any so I ordered the leek and potato soup~they didn't have that either! I settled for minestrone soup which was thick and tasty and came with a roll and butter for £4.50.I was served pleasantly enough and my card payment was taken without any problem,its just a shame the choice of food was limited and that the kitchen area was on display.I will probably eat somewhere else next time I'm in the Cotswolds,but overall it wasn't bad~just average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samsouthwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst tea I've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ordered 3 pots of tea and a coffee. After a very long wait, the pot of tea we had only contained 2.5 cups of tea, and they were all cold. Clearly the pot hadn't been warmed and I'm not sure the water had been fully boiled. The staff did replace the pot with another one which had 3 cups in it, but this was only marginally better. £6 for 2.5 cups of cold tea makes this the worst tea I've ever had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green and Pleasant also viewed

Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to Green and Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing